Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Do we keep Sandow?

Chipmunk

A 741 word article, with 422 words quoted by the player.

I've never seen an article like that with the words spoken by a current player of a team, indicating that he has completely opposite thoughts on the way the coach wants him to play.

This has to be player manager arranged. If it wasn't completely full of the same wording and even sentences being repeated on multiple occasions I'd actually just suggest that is a media release from his player manager that Proszenko has just used verbatim. In the article Sandow has "said", "explained" and even "quipped"...

What a bizarre article.

Surely now he just gets shown the door on some kind of 'contrary club conduct' charge before the weekend?

Forty20

I respect you more than you can imagine my friend. Your contributions here are second to none and I agree with you 100%.

Thanks mate, that means plenty.

I have been told on several occasions that Sandow is a great bloke (and I do not doubt it) and it is quite likely that these answers were coaxed out of someone that is not a great public speaker by the reporters but the sheer stupidity or arrogance or simple lack of awareness to say anything that remotely resembles what he did is mind blowing.

Chris Sandow has never taken a team to the post-season. His style of play relies on your pack dominating EVERY WEEK, not just winning the ruck but completely over running the opposition. As soon as the ruck goes anywhere near even he no longer has a world of time to pick and choose whether to run, pass or kick.

Yes he plays a great brand of footy to watch when he is on but you know what? BA's brand of footy had us up 30-6 over the best team in the competition and we were scoring some remarkable tries. The capitulation was in no way entirely on Sandow but his defensive inadequacies were exploited fully by JT and the overall fragility of our right edge has been a long term issue in his tenure here.

His inability to stick to a game plan must be truly maddening for any coach and I can only imagine the frustration BA must have with him. This is why we ALWAYS go away from what works for us and see shitty little grubbers and chip kicks when the pressure is on in the last 10min - even when we have one of the most potent attacking edges (Ma'u/Takairangi/Radradra) in the NRL.

Sorry if I am ranting but I am willing to go and pack Sandow's bags now. Earlier today he was talking about taking pressure off of BA and now he comes out with the worst example of white anting (again, not maliciously) you will just about see in the modern day.

Chipmunk

Thanks mate, that means plenty.

I have been told on several occasions that Sandow is a great bloke (and I do not doubt it) and it is quite likely that these answers were coaxed out of someone that is not a great public speaker by the reporters but the sheer stupidity or arrogance or simple lack of awareness to say anything that remotely resembles what he did is mind blowing.

Chris Sandow has never taken a team to the post-season. His style of play relies on your pack dominating EVERY WEEK, not just winning the ruck but completely over running the opposition. As soon as the ruck goes anywhere near even he no longer has a world of time to pick and choose whether to run, pass or kick.

Yes he plays a great brand of footy to watch when he is on but you know what? BA's brand of footy had us up 30-6 over the best team in the competition and we were scoring some remarkable tries. The capitulation was in no way entirely on Sandow but his defensive inadequacies were exploited fully by JT and the overall fragility of our right edge has been a long term issue in his tenure here.

His inability to stick to a game plan must be truly maddening for any coach and I can only imagine the frustration BA must have with him. This is why we ALWAYS go away from what works for us and see shitty little grubbers and chip kicks when the pressure is on in the last 10min - even when we have one of the most potent attacking edges (Ma'u/Takairangi/Radradra) in the NRL.

Sorry if I am ranting but I am willing to go and pack Sandow's bags now. Earlier today he was talking about taking pressure off of BA and now he comes out with the worst example of white anting (again, not maliciously) you will just about see in the modern day.

Something has clearly happened at the club today. I'm guessing as we played Monday they had yesterday as some kind of recovery day and today was the first day of training after the match. I'm guessing little or no thought was put into the Team List on the Tuesday and today at the earliest the team would actually get picked.

At 1.53pm today, Steve Zemek of the SMH reported that Sandow said ""Brad's a good coach and we've just got to go out there and do well on the field," Sandow said.

"Brad and the coaching staff work really hard on our game plans.

"We've just got to go out there and complete our sets and we haven't been doing that lately. But that's no disrespect to Brad."

By 8.00pm tonight Proszenko, of the same paper, produces his pearler of an article...

If Sandow had said all this today I dare say Zemek (and every journo at the press conference) would have had this in their articles for today...

Something has happened this afternoon...

PS - Now the Telegraph have an article with plenty of the same quotes... http://www.news.com.au/national/eel...-to-winning-ways/story-e6frfkp9-1227391921978

Those don't seem to be quotes from a guy who'd just got a bollocking for missing tackles, but rather for failing to do something in attack. The trouble is, there wasn't a whole lot wrong with what Sandow did when he had the ball in either of the last two games. It smells a little bit of Arthur scapegoating Chrissy after a devastating loss. Playing with 15 men might be more to blame. It would be interesting to see an alternate universe where John Lang was our coach.

Anyway, this story just makes me sad.

phantom eel

What a stupid thing to publicly say. He knows we can't drop him anyway due to the cap. No chance he'd have said that if promoting Kelly was an option as he'd be sitting in reserves for the rest of the year
This. Chrissie's worked out that if he's fit he has to be picked. So he's suddenly got the power over the coach who (preumably) doesn't want to re-sign him.

Maybe Arthur could do a deal with the cap auditor to give Sandow the Alvaro role - a couple of minutes at the end of the game?

hindmarshisgod

I bag out Arthur a lot, but to his credit he has never wanted Sandow in his team. Kelly was his prefered half.

Sandow has been a nightmare and any club that signs him must be stupider than Kearney.

Johnny88

Ive always thought Sandow is a coach killer but wow I cant believe what he is saying, lucky Kelly cant play. All the best Sandow enjoy your final season at this level. Not sure he will get a farewell cake.

Chipmunk

So, with Mau now out we should be able to replace him with a 2nd tier cap player.

Why can't we not bother playing Alvaro, after all we're not going to put him on the field, and just replace Mau in the 17 with Kelly. Start Kelly at right half and put Sandow on the bench and just not put him on the field. After all, if we're prepared to only play 16 players if Alvaro is in the team, what's the difference with having Sandow in the 17 and just not playing him.

Here's your opportunity BA...take it or leave it.

So, with Mau now out we should be able to replace him with a 2nd tier cap player.

Why can't we not bother playing Alvaro, after all we're not going to put him on the field, and just replace Mau in the 17 with Kelly. Start Kelly at right half and put Sandow on the bench and just not put him on the field. After all, if we're prepared to only play 16 players if Alvaro is in the team, what's the difference with having Sandow in the 17 and just not playing him.

Here's your opportunity BA...take it or leave it.

Coz the NRL usually only allow like-for-like 'concessions' under the 2nd tier cap. I guess we might have a chance as under the selected team, we'll have 4 front-rowers on the bench (assuming Gower moves into starting team). We may be forced to bring Seffa onto the bench again, with Alvaro dropping back to Wenty. Do we have any other backrowers (I guess Nelson is not Top 25)?

Sports story on SkyNews this AM is that Sandow says that he can win more games for the Eels if BA frees him up to do his own thing....

Craig Johnston

he's not saying anything that surprises me, but what nrl club plays unstructured these days? ESL is his best destination

Incorrect

Wow. I actually thought this might be a piss-take article...

Not sure how it could happen, maybe Chris will pull the pin himslef and walk away from the final few onths of his contract, but surely he won't see the season out with us now?

He's collected somewhere in the vicinity of 2.2 million bananas from us and delivered very little... now he comes out with this. I think it's best for all concerned if he cuts ties with us ASAP.

Joshuatheeel

Not sure what Sandow is getting at, with 10 mins to go we still had the chance to level the score. We were attacking their line and Sandow did play his natural game, he kicked for himself and it failed (along with his 40/20 attempt in that disgraceful 12 mins). Along with his defence this play is the reason Arthur would be pissed. It was a selfish low percentage play. It may come on sometimes but the majority of times it doesn't.

Do you think Foran would have done that kick ? No it should have been a kick to the in goals to get another set.

It was stupid!!

what was wrong with the 40/20 attempt? ... it was a good deep kick and coote was then deep in their half .... how was that a bad option?