The Phelan Folly
Yep. sandow has now replaced carige on my all-time-shit-list.
Agree, just disgraceful!
100% my thoughts on this.
Up until Friday night I could forgive him his defensive lapses (mostly) but he has gone beyond forgiveness for me, for ever.
http://www.sportal.com.au/league/nr...y-sandow-must-gonow/l726y342h4p61fm2oc3uwl7qjBulldog's Bite: Why Sandow must go...now!
Dean Ritchie By Dean Ritchie
EACH day Chris Sandow remains at Parramatta, the club's semi-final hopes sink further into oblivion.
Sandow must go - today.
Here are the facts.
* Sandow wants to leave immediately for English club Warrington.
* Eels coach Brad Arthur doesn't want Sandow at the club either.
* Sandow is posting expletive-riddled rants about the club on social media.
* Eels team-mates are over the drama, some even brushing Sandow.
I agree with Arthur.
Sandow wants to leave but be paid out in full. Ridiculous.
That isn't going to happen.
Parramatta still pay part of the wages of four to five players who are now at rival clubs. Nothing irks fans more.
Sandow has collected $550,000 a season at Pirtek Stadium - big cash for a player who some may dispute has delivered value for money.
I like Chris Sandow. He speaks his mind and plays with plenty of freedom.
But Parramatta supported Sandow through several off-field, personal issues. They don't owe Sandow anything.
Sandow should leave now. There has to be a settlement reached where both parties can move forward.
Parramatta are still a chance of playing semi-final footy but the Sandow drama is tearing the club apart.
Sandow should be remembered as a player who was irreverent and fun to watch. Not a player who wanted big money and helped end his side's finals aspirations.
You're a good man, Suity. Nice post mate.
He's definitely a better man than me. I couldn't give two shits about how Sandow is feeling now.
I was prepared to accept his defensive lapses. I was prepared to accept his odd brain explosion. I praised him when he did good. And he did good heaps of times.
In fact, he did good more often than fans were prepared to give him credit for.
Mostly, he only got praise when he did something spectacular - when he stood out as a match winner. He was better than that because he has done a lot of other good stuff as well in games we have lost, and he always came out as a scapegoat in those losses.
I often felt sorry for him, and could see how difficult things could be for him as there was a lot of pressure on him to solve a lot of our deficiencies. A lot of the time - he just wasn't up to it. Poor bugger.
But when I saw what I saw on Friday night, I was disappointed. I was actually angry.
I've had a change of heart tonight though. Please hear me out.
I've had a re-think about what I said before, and what may have caused Chris to be in THAT frame of mind on Friday night.
I worry about Chris.
I cannot take back my words about how disappointed I was in how he represented our jumper on Friday night, but I would also like to express my concern as to why or how someone could come to be feeling that presence of mind.
I hope Chris is alright. I hope he knows that if things don't feel right at the moment, that there are plenty of people who are willing to help. If he is angry at the world atm, the same goes.
We've all gone off to our jobs everyday this week and dealt with our lives as we always do. We haven't had it splashed all over the media. I'm not sure we'd all cope so well under similar conditions. I hope Chris does.
I don't give a f**k how he feels. He has brought this on himself as he always does...
TPA isn't salary... but you know this right?
Do you blokes understand the very simple point that I'm making:
If players agree to play for us based on a certain package, a certain proportion of which is made up of third party arrangements, and those third parties don't come about, our club will suffer
It won't help to say:
(A) that was the old board, it's not our problem; or
(b) it's not counted as salary so it's not our problem.
Players and managers will view us as a place where you can't get top dollar, or the deal that you sign up for.
The point I was making by comparison to salary is that the current board can't just turn their noses up at player complaints because the previous board was in place when the deal was put together.
We have a responsibility to do the right thing by players. Not just for the individual concerned, but to have better relatiinships with managers, and as an example to other players.
We can't refuse to pay a player a salary agreed to by the previous board.
In my view the honouring of TPA's should be treated just as seriously and the club should be doing whatever it can behind the scenes to have them honoured.