Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Doust on 2sm sport talk

gorilla

As proud fans, there is only one thing left for us to do to Mr. Doust...

An assassination is defined generally as: "to murder (a usually prominent person) by a sudden and/or secret attack, often for political reasons." Alternatively, assassination may be defined as "the act of deliberately killing someone, especially a public figure, usually for hire or for political reasons."

Crossing the sports/politics divide, i see ?

Perhaps to amalgamate the sports/politics/religion divide, you'd like to self-immolate ?

TruSaint

Im sorry but i will call it the way i see it. As the first merged club in history, i believe under his leadership, we have achieved one premiership, a few minors, and the appoitment of Bennett. The merger was in essence supposed to create a new super power only inhibited by the cap. Yes its an issue, the cap. But lets be honest, Doust has ensured his salary, at real sacrifice. We have sacked coaches from Waite to Farrah, Brownie, etc, but the CEO has kept his possy. We can look for all the excuses in the world, but Doust has done a great job at diflecting blame. Given the geographical advantage we have, we should be the most feared team in the comp. Yet our only success came in 2010. Under very awkward circimstances, i.e the Melbourne rort.
Good luck Peter... its a great job.

Saintsified

I agree totally, superclub my big fat ass, we went backwards, we played 4 grand finals in the 90s as a standalone club. DOUST HAS TO GO

mmap dragons

I didn't catch the interview yet judging by the comments in this thread it appears Captain Cliche Doust is up to his old tricks. Doust was quoted in the papers today that players (referring to Luke Lewis) are constantly linked to the Dragons and he is of the opinion that it would not be wise to comment on speculation (words to that effect anyway). On the other hand, Other CEO's have been publically quoted expressing interest in Lewis. To me, This sums up the arrogance of the bloke and is proof in the pudding that the club has has a problem with attracting marque players and are experiencing financial issues. FFS, if a jock on the radio can't get Doust to articulate the position of the club in terms of recruitment etc, What hope would a player manager have? It's time for this bloke to step aside. In the days if Brown, The oust Doust campaign was alive. The Bennett factor took the heat off Doust for three seasons, He doesn't have that luxury now and the heat switch is on ten.

Fire

you'd like to self-immolate ?

If you want me to, let me know.

TruSaint and Thebearman05 raise some good points.

Slipperykinchela, I'm not being a smart-arse but not all clubs spend the same amount. The NRL, along with the salary cap, had to introduce a salary "floor" a few years ago. Some clubs were/are in such bad shape financially that they were spending hardly any money. So the NRL made it a rule that clubs must spend a certain amount of money in the cap (I think $2,000,000). Anyways, I doubt it the Dragons are in that position, I just hope Doust isn't being a tight-arse.

Breathingfire

I wish we would get rid of Doust and bring in Mark Coyne. Then scrap the Steelers part of the merger and let us play all our games at Kogarah and f**k the Steelers club (its not my club).

Melbourne are proof that you do not need locals juniors to be successful anyway. Lets just buy a heap of young talent from QLD. All the local juniors from the Steelers play on past their use-by-dates anyway.

And someone at the club please ring David Waite for f**ks sake.

Lovemedragons

Agree 100% Elias. I've said it before, I'll give Price his two years. But yes, it has frustrated me a little that youngsters haven't got a shot much this year (especially King after returning from injury). I was very disappointed that Kyle didn't get a go at 5/8 against Penrith too.

X2

This is the second time I've posted this ... So read the Fa#kin thing
http://stgeorgeleagues.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/SGLCFullFinancials2012.pdf

So Asset rich, cash flow not good. Trading loss well over a mil in 2011 in addition to ( and the real point) decreasing revenue into the football club from the leagues club).

Ongoing fears about pokies tax would also be an issue for the Directors.

To me this is why Doust is saying no outlay for top line players. Income streams are a worry for the footy club and they don not wish to commit until they have clarity on their ongoing cash flow streams.

Good guess?

Fire

So Asset rich, cash flow not good.

I'm not an accountant, but I think you've hit the nail on the head there Miller. The thing is this is only half of the joint venture, I have no idea what is going on down at Steelers Leagues. Also have to take the 18,000 odd Red V memberships into consideration...I really don't know what Doust is thinking. Personally, I think he might have a bit of Jew in him :lol:

Thanks for that Father Ted. I took the time to read it and also saved the .pdf file this time.

I'm not an accountant, but I think you've hit the nail on the head there Miller. The thing is this is only half of the joint venture, I have no idea what is going on down at Steelers Leagues. Also have to take the 18,000 odd Red V memberships into consideration...I really don't know what Doust is thinking. Personally, I think he might have a bit of Jew in him :lol:

Thanks for that Father Ted. I took the time to read it and also saved the .pdf file this time.

I am only guessing, however it may be that the terms of the JV sees the leagues club providing matching revenue to the footy club. If that's the case double the reduced revenue from 2010 to 2011. Fairly large reduction for the footy club.

Anyway, just speculating, but all might explain the position Doust is taking.

RedVee

I am only guessing, however it may be that the terms of the JV sees the leagues club providing matching revenue to the footy club. If that's the case double the reduced revenue from 2010 to 2011. Fairly large reduction for the footy club.

Anyway, just speculating, but all might explain the position Doust is taking.

No, the Steelers Club has provided just more than bugger all to the Football Club in $ terms, just juniors. St G Leagues has provided the bulk of trad Leagues Club support. Now, the St G Leagues has hit a hard spot for the last few years and funding has reduced.
why do you think the separate lower grades got scrapped in 2000? Because the Steelers couldn't fund a reserve grade/NSW Cup team.

Before anyone comments on bias etc, I am a member of both Leagues Clubs, the Footy Club and a RedVee.

No, the Steelers Club has provided just more than bugger all to the Football Club in $ terms, just juniors. St G Leagues has provided the bulk of trad Leagues Club support. Now, the St G Leagues has hit a hard spot for the last few years and funding has reduced.
why do you think the separate lower grades got scrapped in 2000? Because the Steelers couldn't fund a reserve grade/NSW Cup team.

Before anyone comments on bias etc, I am a member of both Leagues Clubs, the Footy Club and a RedVee.

Ahhh cheers RedVee. As I said no idea what the JV arrangement was. So the reduced Leagues Club contribution still hurts.

We know hat that's like. At least you don't have the debt we have to sort out.

Fire

Cheers Miller, it's all Greek to me. 26 July is the big day for you guys.

Cheers too RedVee. I don't know much about these things. May I ask if you know why St. George Leagues has hit a hard spot for the past few years. I thought the success bought in money with ticket sales, merchandise, meals before games, etc. I don't get it???

Father Ted

So Asset rich, cash flow not good. Trading loss well over a mil in 2011 in addition to ( and the real point) decreasing revenue into the football club from the leagues club).

Ongoing fears about pokies tax would also be an issue for the Directors.

Good guess?

Great guess .. Lost over a Million in trading and of course the poker machine tax debate hurt every club.. Proof I surpose that you can't depend on pokies alone. The problem with this club is symbiotic , The management is never under any threat even if they underperform because not enough of our supporters get of their collective rear ends to force them. End of Rant

Father Ted

Cheers Miller, it's all Greek to me. 26 July is the big day for you guys.

Cheers too RedVee. I don't know much about these things. May I ask if you know why St. George Leagues has hit a hard spot for the past few years. I thought the success bought in money with ticket sales, merchandise, meals before games, etc. I don't get it???

Danny Robinson said words to the effect to me that the Leagues club is very badly designed . Back in the day we used to host live bands, shows etc which they no longer do because a large part of the club upstairs is considered unsafe..

So The club redesigned itself into a small local casino and of course with the anti gambling agenda that is current in society have found itself losing money .. Not all the clubs fault the Pokies tax debate hit hard and the world wide recession we missed has people being very careful with their money ..

Having said all that whenever I go on to the club web site to buy a Polo or whatever it's either not available in my size or just plain not available ..

IMO we just arn't cutting it and are looking at quick fixes like the six club alliance when I believe that fresh blood in the front office is the only way to go..