Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons - an obituary part 2

Well you thought last week was a rant @Babyface O'reilly, strap yourself in because this is probably best described as a mild meltdown...

What an insipid performance that was. We had a few missing but we had enough talent on the field to win that game by 20+. I'm sure we all felt an air of inevitability once Hook was sacked which is a sad indictment on this current team as previous iterations of the roosters would have still rolled over the dragons.

The first half was absolutely diabolical and the worst I have seen the side since 2016. The attack was slow, meandering and predictable and didn't look like getting close to cracking the dragons defence. Our defence was ok like it has been all year but as I said last week they are now defending with no confidence in their attack so their defence will inevitably fail.

Let's go through some of the "highlights" of the game.

We started well in terms of yardage and ball control but as mentioned looked no real threat of actually scoring. Then we put up kick number 750 to the corner for the year and Suli runs away for a length of the field try. Apparently Robbo said at halftime that was unlucky, I hope he doesn't actually believe that because this wasn't a case of a contest in the air where the ball hit the ground and there was an unlucky bounce scooped up by the opposition, what actually happened was rugby Joe proved that not even his height is useful anymore completely failing to force a contest meaning the ball fell in Suli's lap and he and Paulo just watched him run away. From there the errors set in and we spent most of the rest of the half camped on our own line. If it was most other teams we probably are down 20+ at the half but it was the dragons so only 14-0. Oh and let's not forget Radley having a brain explosion and headbutting someone for absolutely no reason. He can thank his coach pressuring the officials for not being binned but I reckon Robbo would preferred him to be binned and save the good grace for a time he didn't deserve it.

The first 25 minutes of the 2nd half was actually pretty good, Keary and Teddy remembered that they could play footy and started producing some decent plays and we found ourselves 16-14 up with 15 minutes to go and the dragons looked like they were ready to go home... but of course the derp set in form there... Rugby Joe, probably embarrassed about his lack of effort the last few weeks though an offload to Keary who wasn't even looking was appropriate on his own 25m line which gave dragons the momentum back. From there it was a mistakeathon again ending with that feeble defence on the left hand side for a crash play that Stevie Wonder could see coming.

Still, Teddy decided to take things in to his own hands and came up with some brilliance to see us take a 4 point lead with 5 minutes to go. Surely the team could close it out from here right? Well let's go through that last play with a fine tooth comb.... 30 seconds to go and the dragons are 40m out and on a mild roll, Victor Radley decides to just stay down and not get back to marker allowing Hunt to run 10m forward. Do whatever you have to do to slow the play down there, give away 6 again, get binned if you have to, don't juist let them run out of dummy half with momentum. Hunt puts up an average kick and who do we have contesting it ***checks notes*** Lindsay Collins!!! Billy Smith was at least in the frame, I have no idea where Corey Allen was. The winger has to be there to contest the ball, bat it out, knock it on, anything is better than not contesting. From there the dragons re-gather and somehow have a 4 on 1 overlap, what the f**k is the defensive line doing there? Paulo is near the goal post which I assume is a reaction to everyone inside him moving over. Paulo at least tried his best to get back, meanwhile Rugby joe was jogging and for some unknown reason was in the dragons attacking line. It would be comedic if it wasn't so tragic.

Now, there were actually some things that went against us in this game, Hutch must have been damn close to the line on the awkward one where he was sliding and spun around, stays a try if called that way on the field. I'm not convinced the dragons player doesn't lose the ball on that crash play and the most egregious one was Su'a being offside on the Hunt kick and being within 10 of the contest. That one isn't being spoken about at all but you can bet your bottom dollar it would be if it was reversed. But at the end of the day you leave yourself susceptible to these things when you play like shit for 55 minutes and we didn't deserve to win anything based on that first half.

Ok, so now we have a team packed with talent sitting in 12th spot on the ladder which is nowhere close to good enough. There is no doubt we are the worst performed team in regards to talent to results ratio and I would say there is a good argument for us being the worst team full stop. Let me share the following... we have the 3rd worst F/A and we are the ONLY team to not score 30 or more points in a game so far this season... let that sink in.

The thing we do have in our favour is the tightness of the comp which I expect to continue the whole season. I actually do think we will turn things around in the context of where we are at now and probably still make the 8 but it is very difficult to see us turning things around to the point of competing with the likes of Penrith which is where this team should be so something drastic needs to change sooner than later.

Walker obviously needs to come back and will do so with manu injured. We need to get rid of rugby Joe, the bloke is done. I know we are a bit thin with Manu, Tupou and Momo all out but once they return I'm more than happy with a Teddy, Tupou, Manu, Smith, Paulo backline although I could cop Sualli being given a chance on the wing.

Bulldogs is a an absolute must win otherwise we truly are at rock bottom. The bye will help with injuries and the titans probably did us a favour capitulating against them yesterday

3 Teddy
2 Keary
1 No one

@Valheru, I have not much to add lol. The luck against us you speak of I’m not bothered by as we score two tries of forward passes and of course Radley‘s non binning, so evens out imo. Those glimpses of the old Keary we saw needs to show up from the opening minute - not the second half but I’ll take what we can get atm. That last try of theirs sums us up. There was only one f**king chaser FFS! There is a deep rooted problem at the club and I fear Robbo doesn’t have an answer. If there’s one positive, I guess we kinda had a second half in us for a change with the exception of the last 30 seconds lol.

Going forward, Robbo needs to man up an accept he’s made a couple of positional mistakes. He won’t of course. Suaalii is not a centre. Back to the wing with you, don’t like it, f**k off to rugby. Manu back to centre to combine with Suaalii again. When Toops is back, we’ll return to our high ball advantage in both corners. It’s a shame Cheese is injured cos he could’ve covered Radley at lock which leaves us with a conundrum. With no regular hooker or lock, I’m thinking Robbo will probably put Hutch at hooker as I think he’s covered there before but can’t think of who he’ll share that role with as he won’t last 80mins. Watson can’t return soon enough. I’m sure Robbo at Penrith presser said Joey should be right to play after the bye. I won’t be surprised if Robbo selects Manu at lock if he comes back which will mean putting up with Suaalii at centre again.

Radley. We all agree he’s been reffed out of this current iteration of rules currently governing our game and is down in confidence as a result which is frustrating him, hence the poor behaviour. When he comes back from his holiday, he needs to do a decent stint in reggies away from the spotlight to get his mojo back. He dropped Walker for less.

Don’t give a shit where we finish the year anymore. Just want to see the slide arrested, improved form and confidence restored to a level that is demanded of such a roster or it’s 2016 again.

Same points awards for me. Can’t think of a third either.

@Valheru, I have not much to add lol. The luck against us you speak of I’m not bothered by as we score two tries of forward passes and of course Radley‘s non binning, so evens out imo. Those glimpses of the old Keary we saw needs to show up from the opening minute - not the second half but I’ll take what we can get atm. That last try of theirs sums us up. There was only one f**king chaser FFS! There is a deep rooted problem at the club and I fear Robbo doesn’t have an answer. If there’s one positive, I guess we kinda had a second half in us for a change with the exception of the last 30 seconds lol.

Going forward, Robbo needs to man up an accept he’s made a couple of positional mistakes. He won’t of course. Suaalii is not a centre. Back to the wing with you, don’t like it, f**k off to rugby. Manu back to centre to combine with Suaalii again. When Toops is back, we’ll return to our high ball advantage in both corners. It’s a shame Cheese is injured cos he could’ve covered Radley at lock which leaves us with a conundrum. With no regular hooker or lock, I’m thinking Robbo will probably put Hutch at hooker as I think he’s covered there before but can’t think of who he’ll share that role with as he won’t last 80mins. Watson can’t return soon enough. I’m sure Robbo at Penrith presser said Joey should be right to play after the bye. I won’t be surprised if Robbo selects Manu at lock if he comes back which will mean putting up with Suaalii at centre again.

Radley. We all agree he’s been reffed out of this current iteration of rules currently governing our game and is down in confidence as a result which is frustrating him, hence the poor behaviour. When he comes back from his holiday, he needs to do a decent stint in reggies away from the spotlight to get his mojo back. He dropped Walker for less.

Don’t give a shit where we finish the year anymore. Just want to see the slide arrested, improved form and confidence restored to a level that is demanded of such a roster or it’s 2016 again.

Same points awards for me. Can’t think of a third either.

Well said

I thought Manu was out longer so good that he will be back but we are going to find out pretty quickly how on the outer Walker really is. If he isn't selected against the dogs (and is fit) then I doubt he plays for us again.

Re: Cheese - I said last week I felt sorry for him and this injury exacerbates it. He has copped a lot in the media unfairly IMO and will ultimately be a very good signing once we get our shit together. In the meantime I reckon Turpin should share the hooker duty with Hutch, I think he has shown enough to get a chance at the position. In regards to lock I would start Nathan Brown, I thought he looked pretty good and showed some enthusiasm when he was on the field and in fact probably deserves the 1 point in the 3 2 1s. The Butchers can chip in if he isn't an 80 minute prospect.

Completely agree regarding Robbo, he needs to give up on Sualli either all together or at least at centre. Not doing so is the quickest way he is going to lose good will among the fans. I think we all agree Robbo has credits int he bank to survive this year and deserves every chance to turn things around either this year or next but for the first time ever I am keeping an eagle eye on him. I forgot to mention in my post... any thoughts on why Crighton only got 20 minutes or whatever it was, he looked an absolute beast when he was on? Maybe it is just a fitness thing. The other head scratcher was Lodge not coming on at the back end of the game, I thought he had his best effort for 2023 in the first half and should have been out there. I haven't heard of any injury for him.

Well said

I thought Manu was out longer so good that he will be back but we are going to find out pretty quickly how on the outer Walker really is. If he isn't selected against the dogs (and is fit) then I doubt he plays for us again.

Re: Cheese - I said last week I felt sorry for him and this injury exacerbates it. He has copped a lot in the media unfairly IMO and will ultimately be a very good signing once we get our shit together. In the meantime I reckon Turpin should share the hooker duty with Hutch, I think he has shown enough to get a chance at the position. In regards to lock I would start Nathan Brown, I thought he looked pretty good and showed some enthusiasm when he was on the field and in fact probably deserves the 1 point in the 3 2 1s. The Butchers can chip in if he isn't an 80 minute prospect.

Completely agree regarding Robbo, he needs to give up on Sualli either all together or at least at centre. Not doing so is the quickest way he is going to lose good will among the fans. I think we all agree Robbo has credits int he bank to survive this year and deserves every chance to turn things around either this year or next but for the first time ever I am keeping an eagle eye on him. I forgot to mention in my post... any thoughts on why Crighton only got 20 minutes or whatever it was, he looked an absolute beast when he was on? Maybe it is just a fitness thing. The other head scratcher was Lodge not coming on at the back end of the game, I thought he had his best effort for 2023 in the first half and should have been out there. I haven't heard of any injury for him.
Don’t quote me re Manu, that’s my memory of the presser, could’ve mis heard. I think both Angus and Sitilli aren’t 100% fit yet.
Robbo’s bench usage is mystifying. Hutch was on the bench against Penrith and he had zero minutes which makes zero sense considering how gassed we were. That’s Ricky Stuart level coaching

Sitilli will still be tentative because he's coming back from an ACL. Most players who come back after an ACL take a while to really hit their straps. Not necessarily because of any physical issues with the knee, but it takes them a while to mentally get over it and be confident the knee won't get reinjured. JWH was somewhat tentative after he came back from his ACL.

Round 14 should see JWH, Manu, Tupou and Walker all available for selection.

Connor Watson won't be available until Round 20 at the earliest, whilst Momorovski won't be back until Round 22.

Source: https://www.nrl.com/casualty-ward/?competition=111&team=500001

I would not rule out Turpin being the starting hooker with Smith out. He's a specialist dummy half.

In relation to Suaalii, I don't think he ever demanded to play in the centres. It was more that Robbo wanted to get him closer to the ball. It was part of his initial plan to move him in closer to the ball to groom him to succeed Teddy at fullback when he retired (but that's gone now with him off to Union). I think his confidence is down, like many of them, which is why mistakes are happening.

Angus and JWH are the "do the hard work" players the pack is missing. Say what you like but in the past guys like Luke Ricketson, Craig Fitzgibbon, Boyd Cordner and Jake Friend were those "do the dirty work" type players. They would pick up the slack, especially in defence. With JWH and Crichton having been out, and Smith carrying injuries, no one else has filled that void, which is why our kick chase (for example) has looked so poor. I mean how many times in the last 2 years or so has it been that JWH would often lead the kick chase?