Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dragons Coach For 2014

jenninga

Below is the 2nd half of an article off the NRL.COM website...

The first half had nothing in it worth posting here..

http://www.nrl.com/storm-dont-fear-anyone-in-nrl-widdop/tabid/10874/newsid/71853/default.aspx

It's understood the money offered from the Dragons was too good for the 24-year-old father of two to refuse.

Widdop said he also wanted to take on more of a leadership role; something blocked at the Storm by the likes of Test regulars Cameron Smith, Cooper Cronk and Billy Slater.

"The Dragons are a great club and have got a lot of history and they offered me a really good deal that I was really happy with," he said.

"It's a bit of an opportunity to go and maybe take on more of a leadership role within the club."

The England international said he'd had no guarantees about who would be coaching at the Dragons next year, with the future of off-contract Steve Price still unclear.

"They're happy with Price and the way things are going and that's how it was left
really," he said.

Hmmmmm, So he signed knowing the coaching situation has not been resolved.....

Or he knows and is keeping his mouth shut...

His last comment of saying they are happy with Price is interesting...
I like the leadership topic

BennyV

If Saints did not retain Soward because they think his performance is not up to scratch then why would they retain Price? I woud be spewing if I was Soward if Price is resigned and he wasn't. It's as if they are blaming Soward for the poor performances for the team which is a bit harsh. If Saints are consistent with there approach then Price should also be shafted.

There are plenty of reasons to let go of players, it has nothing to do with blaming them for poor performances. Salary cap pressures, age, long-term lpans all contribute to the choice of players for the future. Put simply, the club saw a better future with Widdop than they did with Soward, so Widdop became part of the plans for next year. Who knows whether or not Price is part of those plans too. I just pray that Sheen is not.

Regardless, Soward has no reason to be pissed if Price is retained.

bottle

Soward wasn't shafted. Wasn't even told his services weren't wanted. He chose to accept a deal that takes effect after his current contract ends because he wasn't getting a quick enough response from Saints. It's unlikely Saints would have offered him four years for starters. He made the right move for himself and his future.

There is no valid comparison between the Soward and Price situations. Using one to try and justify a view on the other makes no sense at all.

Widdop chose to move on from Melbourne. Should Bellamy now be sacked? Should Widdop be pissed if Melbourne retain Bellamy. Nonsensical.

BennyV

Ok, what about Sheens as Football Manager and Price and others TBA as coaches.

Is this having a bet each way?! I'm not sure what the role of a 'Football Manager' is - if it's recruitment, then this may not be the best idea. If it's consultation and mentoring to Price (or whoever our coach is) then it's possibly not a bad idea. Could be a bit of a 'those who can't do, teach' situation for Mr Sheens!

Cagey Mac

When you consider the disharmony at the Tigpies under Sheens then footy manager is possible one role that you would not want him for.

Twenty10

Soward wasn't shafted. Wasn't even told his services weren't wanted. He chose to accept a deal that takes effect after his current contract ends because he wasn't getting a quick enough response from Saints. It's unlikely Saints would have offered him four years for starters. He made the right move for himself and his future.

There is no valid comparison between the Soward and Price situations. Using one to try and justify a view on the other makes no sense at all.

Widdop chose to move on from Melbourne. Should Bellamy now be sacked? Should Widdop be pissed if Melbourne retain Bellamy. Nonsensical.

Hahah mate you are dreaming. Dragons never wanted to retain him. Take those rosé coloured glasses off.

100% shafted.

bottle

Hahah mate you are dreaming. Dragons never wanted to retain him. Take those rosé coloured glasses off.

100% shafted.
Did I say anywhere in that post that Saints wanted to retain him?
I'm surprised you could even read that many characters.
Stick to what you do best, that is, pretend to be a Saints fan, troll, and post negative comments about everything Saints at every opportunity.

Efresh

100% shafted.

So you say we should have topped Penrith's offer? I think we would have made him an offer but it would have been nowhere near what Penrith gave him. It would have been irresponsible for the club to make him a serious offer before they knew whether Widdop was going to sign.

Shafted would be if we made him an offer and then took it off the table after 3 days because we knew Widdop was signing.

bottle

No offer was made. He got sick of waiting. Chose to pursue another option.

He said so himself.

Dragons4lyf95

Tony smith will be our coach 2014 no sources of ANYThing just common sense, the soon to be halves are the halves of England rangi and widdop, which tony smith chose to be the pairing halves in the england team, and now another pom signing Mike cooper from the same club where tony coaches now, my gut feeling is it's 100% tony smith ! I have no idea when it will be announced tho

Bennett got the best out of Soward because he understood his strengths and limiations and designed game plans accordingly.

Since Bennett has moved on we have only seen glimses of his best.

I am a big supporter of Soward and reckon he is a game changer/winner if things are designed to suit his strenghts.

I think it was a good move by Soward and could be a good move for Penrith. Gould has always spoken highly of Soward.