Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dykes- Another person not to enjoy his footy under Brian

My Brow asked him why did you leave?? Was it the Coach? He said "Yes."

Also Parra didn't offer him as much as the Tigers did from memory.

He apparently wanted 240k per season and Parammatta were prepared to pay 150k. The Tigers were prepared to pay closer to what he wanted.

walker smith

as much as i try to see the point of view of the "league for the defence of brian smith", i always return to the fact that we are entering the ninthe season of his stewardship with not a premiership in sight.....and we are facing our fourth (perhaps more?) major overhaul of playing personnel and similarly, there is nota premiership in sight!

these are just facts....and a similar performance record at any other elite sporting organisation would see the dismissal of the coach and the introduction of fresh ideas!

thats why i think he should go....regardless of whether he is loved or hated by the players....i dont care if they all were to have played deviant drinking games on the team bus together, it makes no difference....there is no longer serving coach in the NRL with a worse record premiership-wise!

An each year since 2001 to date we drift further and further from serious premiership reckoning.....let me guess, should we finish out of serious contention next year, there will be a massive change of personnel and a call that brian deserves a shot with "the new batch which he bought after all!"

by the way, where u finish on the table does not necessarily indicate serious contention....serious contention indicates a realistic claim for the premiership! Examples....Brisbane finished third but were not there when the whips were cracking....the cowboys finished 7th but had a serious claim at the business end!

of course, if we dont make the eight (possible), he MUST go...regardless of whom he purchases for 2006!

Personally, i want him gone now...and have wanted him gone for two years!

Lets see what Smith does net year as we can't do anything about getting rid of him now. But I swear If he plays someone such as Wagon out of position and theres a talented youngster waiting such as mateo, I'll do damage.

Players who leave cos they are not offered as much money as they would like to be offered (eg hodgson), will probably say they have a problem with Smith.

because Smith is the one deciding what he thinks players are worth - its his decision that they don't get offered more and ultimately leave....so they obviously have an issue with him.

Does that make Smithy bad?....I don't think so - he's doing what he thinks is right at the time....sometimes it comes back to bite, sometimes not.

Utey

Ill give Smith the chance one more time to do what he has not been able to do yet. I think he will see out the entirety of his contract though so theres no point in really protesting him. If he won us a premierhsip I wouldnt resign him until the end of the next year. I wouldnt want a reoccuarance of 02

True EEL said:
eelavation said:
True eel,

I personally can't think of any players who have aired their grievence against a coach in public while they've been contracted or atleast playing for that club under that coach.

eelevation,

i think you only have to read Colonel's post above "about player power overturning coaches" to realise you may be very wrong about that

so did Nathan Brown just slap Trent Barrett and everyone just lived happily ever after?????

so did the Souths players say nothing against Paul Langmack and the same with the Warriors players about Daniel Anderson and the Cronulla players about Chris Anderson?????

and thats just naming a few examples from recent years....

I don't believe any of these examples were PUBLICLY aired....yes everything eventually becomes public knowledge, but I think it is VERY rare that players ever go public on issues with their coach.

in the case with Hodgson!

I was told back in 2001 that he wanted to finish his career at Wests Tigers, FFS he even put Campbelltown as his favourite holiday destination on one of his profiles.

walker smith said:
as much as i try to see the point of view of the "league for the defence of brian smith", i always return to the fact that we are entering the ninthe season of his stewardship with not a premiership in sight.....and we are facing our fourth (perhaps more?) major overhaul of playing personnel and similarly, there is nota premiership in sight!

these are just facts....and a similar performance record at any other elite sporting organisation would see the dismissal of the coach and the introduction of fresh ideas!

thats why i think he should go....regardless of whether he is loved or hated by the players....i dont care if they all were to have played deviant drinking games on the team bus together, it makes no difference....there is no longer serving coach in the NRL with a worse record premiership-wise!

An each year since 2001 to date we drift further and further from serious premiership reckoning.....let me guess, should we finish out of serious contention next year, there will be a massive change of personnel and a call that brian deserves a shot with "the new batch which he bought after all!"

by the way, where u finish on the table does not necessarily indicate serious contention....serious contention indicates a realistic claim for the premiership! Examples....Brisbane finished third but were not there when the whips were cracking....the cowboys finished 7th but had a serious claim at the business end!

of course, if we dont make the eight (possible), he MUST go...regardless of whom he purchases for 2006!

Personally, i want him gone now...and have wanted him gone for two years!

Sorry Mate, I can see where you are coming from but I have one point, I think that the premiership of 2005 is much closer right now than the Premiership of 2004 ever was to us.

I am off the firm belief that next year, that our great club will be in the final 4, meaning the Grand Final Qualifier, 2002 - 2004 were bad, I grant you that, but from what I have seen a great deal of change has happned after the 2002 season and that will start to reap its reward next year, and most certainly the year after that. That is the club plan, 1 Premiership in the NRL before 2007, if that Mean 05 or 06, then so be it but if it means both, all the sweeter.

I like the confidence Mark - but there is a longggg road to travel before we are in hte final 4: new players to gel, injuries to cope with, lack of confidence to overcome.....I reckon a solid top 8 birth would be good - then go on for something better the following year.

yeah! I'm with the stride on this one.

it's super critical that we make the top 8 any result outside that is not acceptable and heads should roll.

Utey

Looking at it now, I just think we need better injury management. We were going average at the beginning of this year before we had all them injuries to key players and just bad luck. After round 10 I thought we might make the 8. But next year a top 6 spot would be ideal.

The top eight for mine would be where we should be aiming. New players wuill take time to gel. The media will have an absolute field day if we aren't in the top 2 with the players we have bought but as supporters I think next year we have to look at the big picture rather than the start of our season...... ;-)

Looking at it now, I just think we need better injury management. We were going average at the beginning of this year before we had all them injuries to key players and just bad luck. After round 10 I thought we might make the 8. But next year a top 6 spot would be ideal.

mate, you can only do so much.

we apparently have the best program for back injurys as well as one of best knee surgion in the land in Dr Johnson.

fish eel

I believe we are a final four side.

Whether it all gels soon enough to give us a top four spot and home semi, I don't know.

But by the time the finals come round, we certainly should be expecting at least the make the GF qualifiers

Utey

2005 at least gives us something to look forward to, 2004 was such a letdown.

as well as one of best knee surgion in the land in Dr Johnson

Good Old Dr Death :D

Look guys making the Top 8 is a Prerequiset for the Final 4, but I definetly want to see us going around at the least 1 week before the grand final.

walker smith

I respect ur optimism mark and i dont pretend to have suffered any more distress than you at the hands of our underperforming team...but unfortunately i am not as resilient as some i suppose and have reached the stage where i am resigned to the fact that NO player will play to his potential under brian - hindmarsh included! (just as a sidebar, i happen to think that as great as he has been these past two years, nathan would have an even more explosive impact under another coach and in a different team structure).

However, nothing will change in coaching staff, so roll on 2005 i guess with whatever it shall bring....

The only request i make is that if 2005 is another failure, the parra fans present a united front in seeking changes (meaningful ones) within our club!

Gregory Drake

Everyone please raise your glasses. I'd like to make a toast

....."To Adam Dykes!..... and may his cruciate ligament snap ever so cleanly in round 1 2005!"

:twisted:

Utey

walker smith said:
I respect ur optimism mark and i dont pretend to have suffered any more distress than you at the hands of our underperforming team...but unfortunately i am not as resilient as some i suppose and have reached the stage where i am resigned to the fact that NO player will play to his potential under brian - hindmarsh included! (just as a sidebar, i happen to think that as great as he has been these past two years, nathan would have an even more explosive impact under another coach and in a different team structure).

However, nothing will change in coaching staff, so roll on 2005 i guess with whatever it shall bring....

The only request i make is that if 2005 is another failure, the parra fans present a united front in seeking changes (meaningful ones) within our club!

Hindy is playing to his full potential under Smith. He is playing under Bennett atm and he is no better or worse he simply gives his all. Look at Mckinnon, Souths reject and at times the form fullback of the competition. Like it or not Smith has done some good things which shouldnt warrant any negativity about. If a player doesnt want to play as Dykes did it doesnt matter if Jack Gibson were the coach they would continue to play Sh*it.