Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Dykes- Another person not to enjoy his footy under Brian

Next it will be JTS for PM, relax guys if I ever Moderated this forum it would be a Brothel with foul language, Norks everywhere, women - naked!!, threesomes, No Burts, No trannys sorry I mean No Vellas...........Nah The Colonel and crew are doing just fine.

Jake the snake said:
Next it will be JTS for PM, relax guys if I ever Moderated this forum it would be a Brothel with foul language, Norks everywhere, women - naked!!, threesomes, No Burts, No trannys sorry I mean No Vellas...........Nah The Colonel and crew are doing just fine.

And the disadvantages would lie where?

True EEL

True EEL said:
Structure is good within the club but I believe the only reason why Sharp has been signed is because he can talk to the players and come down to their levels. Some players like the fact that they have a structured plan such as Hindy and Cayless and some dont like Tonga and Ryan. But I would have Hindy over both those. Smiths coaching style is something we all have to accept.

what an ill-informed and stupid assessment of the situation....if BS can't talk to his players, why should he be the coach???

does he need an interpreter???? what a joke of a post :roll:

Thats my opinion and let it be. Dont blow smoke up my a** because you have some hatred for Brian Smith, sure I dont accept everything he does but I dont know how he coaches as I havent been coached by him, unless you have of course :roll: . Mate you continually generalise about Smith etc etc and its jsut become plain boring.

its just that you and others here seem to over-generalise to easily in the opposite direction for BS - and i have no hatred for him, just sticking by my point as i have re-inforced before

and i have also said, if he turns the team around and makes us top 4 again, well i will admit that he wasn't past his prime and had something left to offer and that i judged him wrongly - but until such time, i will continue to defend my position and opinion

i simply found your comment hard to take and a big generalisation in his favour - that we just accept his coaching and what his happening to the club?????

True EEL

The Colonel said:
True EEL said:
The Colonel said:
True EEL said:
Structure is good within the club but I believe the only reason why Sharp has been signed is because he can talk to the players and come down to their levels. Some players like the fact that they have a structured plan such as Hindy and Cayless and some dont like Tonga and Ryan. But I would have Hindy over both those. Smiths coaching style is something we all have to accept.

what an ill-informed and stupid assessment of the situation....if BS can't talk to his players, why should he be the coach???

does he need an interpreter???? what a joke of a post :roll:

And you are informed? Next time one of your posts is ridiculed can you refrain from playing victim....

He may not necessarily need an interpreter but some of these precocious brats that he has the pleasure of coaching might... :roll:

thats fine with me.....and i don't play victim, i simply back up what i say and stand up for what i believe

You also point out when someone else's negative posts aren't hacked upon like yours are.

and i'm so glad you saw fit to defend UTE immediately, when i am usually hung out to dry when everyone does attack my posts.....but its cool

You do well enough to defend yourself as do others. I just saw fit to highlight the ironic nature of your post.....

i said it was ill-informed simply on the basis that if someone thinks a coach who has been proven to have consistent problems and can't talk to players should be given a green light to continue coaching his way or the highway for ever unquestioned and just accept it????

Its not necessarily a proven fact though there is a great deal of evidence to support the theory. Much of that evidence is sourced from players who have left the club in sometimes none to pleasant circumstances. Not to say he doesn't have a problem but we also hear of circumstances where he does get along well with players. A case can be made both for and against. But, just maybe the players themselves can share some blame for ill-communication as it takes two to communicate.

sure a case can be made for both sides and i'm simply sticking to the case i have made for one side......and it justs eems to be taking the low road or the easier route to put the onus on the players (instead of BS) and call them "precocious little brats".....when you consider that......

under that logic, the Parramatta club must have signed a consistent plethora of precocious little brats over that last 8 years, many of whom have been reported to have had poor relationships with BS and left under "clouded circumstances"?????

don't you see that perhaps, the players are not the problem, i could understand a few players in the one year or something like that, but the trend has gone on too long to just put it all on the players??????????

True EEL said:
sure a case can be made for both sides and i'm simply sticking to the case i have made for one side......and it justs eems to be taking the low road or the easier route to put the onus on the players (instead of BS) and call them "precocious little brats".....when you consider that......

under that logic, the Parramatta club must have signed a consistent plethora of precocious little brats over that last 8 years, many of whom have been reported to have had poor relationships with BS and left under "clouded circumstances"?????

don't you see that perhaps, the players are not the problem, i could understand a few players in the one year or something like that, but the trend has gone on too long to just put it all on the players??????????

Your placing the onus solely on the shoulders of Brian. Are you not taking the easy road? Every club has a precocious brat somewhere within their ranks some have more than others. Some players feel it is their right to play first grade because they did last year and may not necessarily agree with the coaches assessment and some have been told yes for so long by managers and officiials that the moment someone says no they can't handle it.

If there are 130 players at the Eels club - give or take - it is inevitable that a certain percentage will not see eye to eye with Brian. This could be because of him or because the player/s may have difficulties with authority or the professional approach. Not every one in this world plays happy families and likes everybody - doesn't happen and never will happen. Some people deal with it well and others don't. Its a fact of life. The players may not necessarily be the problem but that doesn't necessarily mean that Brian is the sole problem either.

We have had a lot of players leave over the years. But we rarely hear about the problems that they have had with Brian until after they have left. Some of these could be and no doubt are quite legitimate. In the case of Dykes IMO its sour grapes.

True EEL

well in a word yes.....i am staking my claim against Brian Smith and putting most of the responsibility and blame on his shoulders, rather than the players

of course not everyone gets along and players are going to be unhappy about what position they are playing, being on the bench insead of starting, being in PL instead of NRL, how much game time they get, their role in the team, unhappy with other players - and some are going to have bigger ego's than others.....i'm not ignorant enough to think otherwise - and by the way i have played Rugby League and seen most of that go on first hand

however, ultimately - Brian Smith is paid reportedly close to $400 - 450 k per year to manage all of this in his position as head coach of the club.....he doesn't just pick them team every week you know?????

BS is ultimately in charge of player recruitment and retention, coaching and player management and i'm sorry to say it,m but our club has had the most acromonious player/coach fallouts of any club in the NRL over the past 8 years - otherwise known as BS's tenure at the club

i am simply calling it like i see it ok.........simple as that......sorry if i say it in such a way sometimes that others take it as me saying i'm right and everyone else can go and get stuffed (hey maybe i'm Reg Reagan) - but that's not it.......i just feel very strongly about and am not afraid to show it

True EEL

and in terms of only hearing about it all when the players leave?????

let's explor this scenario........Player X, Round 4: First Grade Starter

"Umm...BS is a terrible coach and i hate him because of his structured schoolyard/teacher approach to coaching and communicating with players"

the very next week...............Player X, Round 5: PL bench

thats why players are not willing to publicly air their grievences and don't tell me it wouldn't happen, and not just with BS, any coach would do and probably with some degree of right to do it

and add to that, the spoilt and precocious little brats probably also realise that saying such things publicly hurts the team as a whiole and not just themselves or the coach and probably think better of it??????

even Jamie perhaps???

But if there is enough with the same problem then why don't they do something about it? Coaches have been overturned before plenty of times through player power.....

True eel,

I personally can't think of any players who have aired their grievence against a coach in public while they've been contracted or atleast playing for that club under that coach.

True EEL

The Colonel said:
But if there is enough with the same problem then why don't they do something about it? Coaches have been overturned before plenty of times through player power.....

i don't know???? except that BS seems to be king at Parra, or at least Duke to DF's king??? and they seemingly have all the power and seem untouchable, which is a worry

True EEL

eelavation said:
True eel,

I personally can't think of any players who have aired their grievence against a coach in public while they've been contracted or atleast playing for that club under that coach.

eelevation,

i think you only have to read Colonel's post above "about player power overturning coaches" to realise you may be very wrong about that

so did Nathan Brown just slap Trent Barrett and everyone just lived happily ever after?????

so did the Souths players say nothing against Paul Langmack and the same with the Warriors players about Daniel Anderson and the Cronulla players about Chris Anderson?????

and thats just naming a few examples from recent years....

True EEL said:
The Colonel said:

i don't know???? except that BS seems to be king at Parra, or at least Duke to DF's king??? and they seemingly have all the power and seem untouchable, which is a worry

It wouldn't be unthinkable though that the players that have a problem are in minority as opposed to the majority? Just a thought..... ;-)

True Eel,

The Players I have heard that have Left under Dubious Circumstances are as Follows

Jamie Lyon,
Aaron Rapier
Eric Grothe Jnr

All others were offered a deal to stay but got Better (more money or better conditions (Starting Position of Guaranteed 1st Grade)) Deals Elsewhere these include
Jason Moodie
Brett Hodgson
Pat Richards
Jason Cayless
Chad Robinson
Michael Hodgson
Brad Drew
Ian Hindmarsh
Andrew Ryan
Willie Tonga
Michael Witt
Adam Dykes

True EEL

The Colonel said:
True EEL said:
The Colonel said:

It wouldn't be unthinkable though that the players that have a problem are in minority as opposed to the majority? Just a thought..... ;-)

it's a thought and a quite vaild thought, just not sure if thats the case

True EEL

MarkInTheStands said:
True Eel,

The Players I have heard that have Left under Dubious Circumstances are as Follows

Jamie Lyon,
Aaron Rapier
Eric Grothe Jnr

All others were offered a deal to stay but got Better (more money or better conditions (Starting Position of Guaranteed 1st Grade)) Deals Elsewhere these include
Jason Moodie
Brett Hodgson
Pat Richards
Jason Cayless
Chad Robinson
Michael Hodgson
Brad Drew
Ian Hindmarsh
Andrew Ryan
Willie Tonga
Michael Witt
Adam Dykes

fair enough Mark, if thats your opinion or inside info......

but i think you could juggle (at least) Dykes, Witt and Hodgson back into the dubious circumstances category

and what of players like Stuart Kelly, Clinton Schifcofske, John Simon????

I know for a fact that Hodgson left because of the Coach, he told my brother directly. Not that I wanted him to stay anyway.

True EEL

Jake the snake said:
I know for a fact that Hodgson left because of the Coach, he told my brother directly. Not that I wanted him to stay anyway.

well there you go......and i bet that stems from the Round 5-10 game aginst the Roosters in 2003 when Hodgson got injured (in the ribs i think) and wouldn't or couldn't go back on and BS reportedly wanted him to and reportedly got the shirts with him because he wouldn't....???

and funnily enough after that, Brett Hodgson, one of BS's favourites (no doubt, cause he dumped Shifcofske for him) was suddenly wallowing in Pl and in and out of NRL and PL and then gone from the club?????

but hey, it was probably all just coincidence....... ;-)

Hodgson, according to Tim Sheens in a after match press conference, has been in contact with Brian throughout the year for advice on form etc. Apparently they talk every week.

Stuart Kelly was keen to go back to Queensland. He was club captain but had signed with Brisbane early in 2000 on a much better deal. Ironically enough he played for and against Brisbane and both times missed out on the GF.

Schifcofske was unhappy about playing wing and wanted to play fullback.

John Simon was more upset with the players around him then the coach as both Dyumock and Jason Smith wanted Moran to play ahead of him.

Stuart Kelly > I want to win a Premiership and I can do that at Brisbane(2000) we knock them out in the 2001 run to the Grand Final, Guaranteed Starting Spot

Clinton Schifcofske > Guaranteed Starting Spot

John Simon > having problems at home with new child and was allowed by the club to focus on that, hence his football suffered.

Brett Hodgson > was no were near his best all of 2003, has never been as good as he was before the rib breaking incident. Coach wanted him to get to the same point as 2000, Brett couldn't provide. This is also were the 2003 buying policy came in and was most probably offered a different contact to his 2000 signing contract.

Most of this stuff is talking to the players or Media Release.