Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Appoint Brad Arthur as Head Coach (Part Deux)

Chipmunk

As a decent guy as Brad Arthur seems and as good a person he was to have around in the adversity of last season, I'd be staggered beyond belief if he ever won a Premiership at Parramatta.

As we've seen in politics, the greatest Leader of the Opposition doesn't always make the best Prime Minister.

forward pass

I think BA is doing himself no favours by continually picking Mannah - and making him captain has made it even more difficult to make a change there. (I do like Mannah as a bloke, I really do, but we need some grunt).

Also, I think BA needs new assistant coaches. He seems to be surrounded by dinosuars imo. He should have brought in Jason Taylor when he was available but instead the Roosters couldn't wait to get him back.

I suspect BA would have seen him as a threat to his own position.

Meinoz

Mannah chews up meters and gets quick play the balls but he and Matagi are putting in similar efforts and we need something different more early impact ie JWH style
Id swap one with Vave but Im not sure Vave could last more that 10mins at the start of the game.
Alvaro has been the same up until this last game. If he could bring that aggression weekly he may be worth a shot at starting. My only concern is his aggression may have looked better against tired opposition.

I dont think we have any alternatives because the only other aggressive front rower is Peni and hes injured. Id even give Frank a go if he wasnt injured.

Kornstar

I think BA definitely needs to bring in new assistants next year, he needs better tacticians than he currently has.

I'm not sure if the cuts Max has applied to the coaching staff have tied his hands and that is why we have who we have?

Djay

People quickly forget how good we were last year before the drama, I saw enough in those games to suggest we had the mental steel, the defence, the attack, the go forward to pose a real threat come September. Arthur instilled that into the team after years of hard work. His had a hard run harder then any other but I think he has what it takes to get us where we want I mean we were on the way last year, but some
help would be us the world of good in an assistant form.

I do agree re Jason Taylor, as a footy mind his one of the best I reckon and no wonder the Roosters snatched him up straight away, and hence they nearly put 50 on us, he would have been awesome as an assistant for BA.

emjaycee

When people suggest JT as a possible assistant to BA, are they forgetting the history?
JT had the Head Coach job and the support of the majority of our now defunct Board, but laid out a heap of conditions that Sharp found unacceptable so he (Sharp) overruled/convinced the Board to go for BA.

Somehow I don't think JT coming over as BA's assistant was ever an option.

BA should offer Cooper Cronk an assistant coaching role in 2018. That way Cooper could work for Foxtel and help BA which he needs.

forward pass

When people suggest JT as a possible assistant to BA, are they forgetting the history?
JT had the Head Coach job and the support of the majority of our now defunct Board, but laid out a heap of conditions that Sharp found unacceptable so he (Sharp) overruled/convinced the Board to go for BA.

Somehow I don't think JT coming over as BA's assistant was ever an option.

I know the history. But I reckon JT would have been more than happy to work with BA if the other option was Centrelink.

IFR33K

BA should offer Cooper Cronk an assistant coaching role in 2018. That way Cooper could work for Foxtel and help BA which he needs.

What have you seen from Cronk to suggest he'll be a better assistant then any merkin we currently have?

I'm sure it must have, but given how easy it would be for great players to get a start in coaching, f**k all of them go on to actually do anything as coaches.