Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Holden Cup Team and junior reps thread, Part II

Joshuatheeel

Canberra recruit hardly anyone and if they do they are normally rejects but due to their strong juniors they are always possible of making the semis

Maroubra Eel

No it's essential. Which was the last NRL side to win a premiership without having a strong NYC team in the previous couple of years?

And do you think our NYC team missing the finals every year since 2008 had anything to do with our lack of depth and talent from 2010-2013?

Our depth and talent looks good this year. The previous two years in NYC we have finished 15th and 14th.
Results in the lower grade can be misleading.

Our depth and talent are slightly better than last year. The main difference is last year we had heaps of injuries and our best under 20s players were all playing NRL.

Don't forget we had the most players in the under 20s Origin game last year along with Canberra.

Davis will replace Tonga in 18 months time, only saw the
Last 20 mins but this kid is special.

Matterson looked our best from what I saw.

Forty20

I definitely thought Matterson was Parramatta's best on the day, everytime he had the ball it just seemed like something was going to happen. His foot work close to the line is something to behold and if he can show a bit of patience and perhaps put his other skills onto display (he did seem a little bit one trick, but what a trick) he could really become something. Very classy.

I thought Josh Aloiali was very strong for Parra as well. Would usually receive the ball about second or third tackle and would always make these half breaks each time and earn a quick play the ball.

Junior Maulala was strong up-front, seemed very busy and wasn't afraid to take the first or second hit up most sets especially late.

Wish I could tell you more mate but as I said over on the other site, I missed large chunks. Overall, I just thought the Eels played smarter patient footy. It did seem like the Broncos were going to get away with the 24-22 scoreline after Matterson's loose offload because Dockar-Clay just kept putting the ball up on tackle five, but that play down the edge proved lethal.

I queried Big Pete on the Broncos sub-forum on which Eels stood out and this is his well thought out reply.

Manly will be a strong team while they have Foran and DCE. Both are young.
They have a lot of guys coming to the end of there career.And probably need to start replacing some.But they will still get a few more years out of Brett Stewart and Matai.
Lyons will go soon as will Glenn Stewart Ballin and Watmough. There on big $$ so they will have money to throw at some good quality players. Maybe even some of our young stars coming thru.As sad as it is-You cant keep them all.
A guy Like Uelsai or Lassalo might be first graders over there or if they realy rate Tepai they could do what they did with T rex and throw some decent coin at him.
Just cant see Manly being weak with there two great halves. Who have 7+ years in first grade.

For me Melbourne will be the team that crumbles.They will show too much loyalty and rightfully so too slater cronk and SMITH. They will get older and slower and demand big $$ forcing club into a corner.
ne thing Manly did well was they replaced there GF halves with new halves and where still competeive.Realy was a great achievement.

Also with bulk of our first grade being young we realy do need to be carefull what key positions we fill and sign long term.If Matterson looks the good we need to have a spot for him at some point or loose him.Fact is we have Norman who is young.

Forwards there is more spots so its a bit easier to juggle.But if Tepai-Tanginoa-Pauli-jnr Paulo are first graders long term we don't want to risk loosing them by hanging onto older guys.

I actually think the NRL should look at the NFL who bring in a restriction of what a college player can earn for his first 3 yrs. Maybe you cap any guy under 21 for is first 2 nrl seasons at 150k. It would stop a lot of poaching and let the teams who nurtured these guys get some benefit and see if they want to keep them long term.

Look at Canberra who look too loose Milford.And lost Dugan. Two of the best Jnrs ive seen in a wile.As a fan it turns you off footy a little and don't people get more of a kick out of a jnr going well rather than a big signing???

they didn't quite "lose" Dugan - he was a f**kwit and got given the arse for being a complete loser