Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

PARRAMATTA EELS
2020 finish: 3rd and week two finals exit

The season had so much promise, and many experts who tipped them to win the premiership before the season were looking like they might be right early on.

Parramatta flew out of the blocks and were the only team to defeat the Penrith Panthers, all the way back in round five. They hung onto their top four spot despite a late-season slump, but fell out in straight sets after losses to Melbourne and South Sydney.

Mitchell Moses has come under fire for failing in big games, and it is hard to argue with that. He was in great form early in the year, but did have some disruptions with injuries that hurt his momentum.

Their forward pack was a real strong point, with the likes of Reagan Campbell-Gillard and Junior Paulo finding career-best form.

There are however some question marks over their outside backs. Michael Jennings is staring down the barrel of a four-year doping ban, Waqa Blake has been criticised for his defence, and Blake Ferguson had a lean year by his standards.

It is quite difficult to figure out exactly where things went south for the Eels, but they aren't far off being a title contender as it stands and there is no reason they can't push again in 2021.

VERDICT: Top eight finish.

https://www.nospam47.com/au/league/...ders-panthers-storm/k79lmelm2xgj1ffsf8xh7phob

TheRam

I hope Bennett is more effective than Trump.

What a dumb arse statement to say about the most effective President in living memory. His Presidency made even more impressive due to him being wrongly maligned and constantly attacked by all of the MSM and then the follow through of the general public that just parrot that message.

Here is a list of his accomplishments mate if you care to know them straight from the WhiteHouse itself since MSM don't like to mention them or refute that any of them even really happened or still praise Obama as being the true architect behind them. Just like you will too no doubt.

• Almost 4 million jobs created since election.
  • More Americans are now employed than ever recorded before in our history.
  • We have created more than 400,000 manufacturing jobs since my election.
  • Manufacturing jobs growing at the fastest rate in more than THREE DECADES.
  • Economic growth last quarter hit 4.2 percent.
  • New unemployment claims recently hit a 49-year low.
  • Median household income has hit highest level ever recorded.
  • African-American unemployment has recently achieved the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Hispanic-American unemployment is at the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Asian-American unemployment recently achieved the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Women’s unemployment recently reached the lowest rate in 65 years.
  • Youth unemployment has recently hit the lowest rate in nearly half a century.
  • Lowest unemployment rate ever recorded for Americans without a high school diploma.
  • Under my Administration, veterans’ unemployment recently reached its lowest rate in nearly 20 years.
  • Almost 3.9 million Americans have been lifted off food stamps since the election.
  • The Pledge to America’s Workers has resulted in employers committing to train more than 4 million Americans. We are committed to VOCATIONAL education.
  • 95 percent of U.S. manufacturers are optimistic about the future—the highest ever.
  • Retail sales surged last month, up another 6 percent over last year.
  • Signed the biggest package of tax cuts and reforms in history. After tax cuts, over $300 billion poured back in to the U.S. in the first quarter alone.
  • As a result of our tax bill, small businesses will have the lowest top marginal tax rate in more than 80 years.
  • Helped win U.S. bid for the 2028 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles.
  • Helped win U.S.-Mexico-Canada’s united bid for 2026 World Cup.
  • Opened ANWR and approved Keystone XL and Dakota Access Pipelines.
  • Record number of regulations eliminated.
  • Enacted regulatory relief for community banks and credit unions.
  • Obamacare individual mandate penalty GONE.
  • My Administration is providing more affordable healthcare options for Americans through association health plans and short-term duration plans.
  • Last month, the FDA approved more affordable generic drugs than ever before in history. And thanks to our efforts, many drug companies are freezing or reversing planned price increases.
  • We reformed the Medicare program to stop hospitals from overcharging low-income seniors on their drugs—saving seniors hundreds of millions of dollars this year alone.
  • Signed Right-To-Try legislation.
  • Secured $6 billion in NEW funding to fight the opioid epidemic.
  • We have reduced high-dose opioid prescriptions by 16 percent during my first year in office.
  • Signed VA Choice Act and VA Accountability Act, expanded VA telehealth services, walk-in-clinics, and same-day urgent primary and mental health care.
  • Increased our coal exports by 60 percent; U.S. oil production recently reached all-time high.
  • United States is a net natural gas exporter for the first time since 1957.
  • Withdrew the United States from the job-killing Paris Climate Accord.
  • Cancelled the illegal, anti-coal, so-called Clean Power Plan.
  • Secured record $700 billion in military funding; $716 billion next year.
  • NATO allies are spending $69 billion more on defense since 2016.
  • Process has begun to make the Space Force the 6th branch of the Armed Forces.
  • Confirmed more circuit court judges than any other new administration.
  • Confirmed Supreme Court Justice Neil Gorsuch and nominated Judge Brett Kavanaugh.
  • Withdrew from the horrible, one-sided Iran Deal.
  • Moved U.S. Embassy to Jerusalem.
  • Protecting Americans from terrorists with the Travel Ban, upheld by Supreme Court.
  • Issued Executive Order to keep open Guantanamo Bay.
  • Concluded a historic U.S.-Mexico Trade Deal to replace NAFTA. And negotiations with Canada are underway as we speak.
  • Reached a breakthrough agreement with the E.U. to increase U.S. exports.
  • Imposed tariffs on foreign steel and aluminum to protect our national security.
  • Imposed tariffs on China in response to China’s forced technology transfer, intellectual property theft, and their chronically abusive trade practices.
  • Net exports are on track to increase by $59 billion this year.
  • Improved vetting and screening for refugees, and switched focus to overseas resettlement.
  • We have begun BUILDING THE WALL. Republicans want STRONG BORDERS and NO CRIME. Democrats want OPEN BORDERS which equals MASSIVE CRIME.
WhiteHouse.gov

What a dumb arse statement to say about the most effective President in living memory. His Presidency made even more impressive due to him being wrongly maligned and constantly attacked by all of the MSM and then the follow through of the general public that just parrot that message.

Here is a list of his accomplishments mate if you care to know them straight from the WhiteHouse itself since MSM don't like to mention them or refute that any of them even really happened or still praise Obama as being the true architect behind them. Just like you will too no doubt.

• Almost 4 million jobs created since election.
  • More Americans are now employed than ever recorded before in our history.
  • We have created more than 400,000 manufacturing jobs since my election.
  • Manufacturing jobs growing at the fastest rate in more than THREE DECADES.
  • Economic growth last quarter hit 4.2 percent.
  • New unemployment claims recently hit a 49-year low.
  • Median household income has hit highest level ever recorded.
  • African-American unemployment has recently achieved the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Hispanic-American unemployment is at the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Asian-American unemployment recently achieved the lowest rate ever recorded.
  • Women’s unemployment recently reached the lowest rate in 65 years.
  • Youth unemployment has recently hit the lowest rate in nearly half a century.
  • Lowest unemployment rate ever recorded for Americans without a high school diploma.
  • Under my Administration, veterans’ unemployment recently reached its lowest rate in nearly 20 years.
  • Almost 3.9 million Americans have been lifted off food stamps since the election.
  • The Pledge to America’s Workers has resulted in employers committing to train more than 4 million Americans. We are committed to VOCATIONAL education.
  • 95 percent of U.S. manufacturers are optimistic about the future—the highest ever.
  • Retail sales surged last month, up another 6 percent over last year.
  • Signed the biggest package of tax cuts and reforms in history. After tax cuts, over $300 billion poured back in to the U.S. in the first quarter alone.
  • As a result of our tax bill, small businesses will have the lowest top marginal tax rate in more than 80 years.
  • Helped win U.S. bid for the 2028 Summer Olympics in Los Angeles.
  • Helped win U.S.-Mexico-Canada’s united bid for 2026 World Cup.
  • Opened ANWR and approved Keystone XL and Dakota Access Pipelines.
  • Record number of regulations eliminated.
  • Enacted regulatory relief for community banks and credit unions.
  • Obamacare individual mandate penalty GONE.
  • My Administration is providing more affordable healthcare options for Americans through association health plans and short-term duration plans.
  • Last month, the FDA approved more affordable generic drugs than ever before in history. And thanks to our efforts, many drug companies are freezing or reversing planned price increases.
  • We reformed the Medicare program to stop hospitals from overcharging low-income seniors on their drugs—saving seniors hundreds of millions of dollars this year alone.
  • Signed Right-To-Try legislation.
  • Secured $6 billion in NEW funding to fight the opioid epidemic.
  • We have reduced high-dose opioid prescriptions by 16 percent during my first year in office.
  • Signed VA Choice Act and VA Accountability Act, expanded VA telehealth services, walk-in-clinics, and same-day urgent primary and mental health care.
  • Increased our coal exports by 60 percent; U.S. oil production recently reached all-time high.
  • United States is a net natural gas exporter for the first time since 1957.
  • Withdrew the United States from the job-killing Paris Climate Accord.
  • Cancelled the illegal, anti-coal, so-called Clean Power Plan.
  • Secured record $700 billion in military funding; $716 billion next year.
  • NATO allies are spending $69 billion more on defense since 2016.
  • Process has begun to make the Space Force the 6th branch of the Armed Forces.
  • Confirmed more circuit court judges than any other new administration.
  • Confirmed Supreme Court Justice Neil Gorsuch and nominated Judge Brett Kavanaugh.
  • Withdrew from the horrible, one-sided Iran Deal.
  • Moved U.S. Embassy to Jerusalem.
  • Protecting Americans from terrorists with the Travel Ban, upheld by Supreme Court.
  • Issued Executive Order to keep open Guantanamo Bay.
  • Concluded a historic U.S.-Mexico Trade Deal to replace NAFTA. And negotiations with Canada are underway as we speak.
  • Reached a breakthrough agreement with the E.U. to increase U.S. exports.
  • Imposed tariffs on foreign steel and aluminum to protect our national security.
  • Imposed tariffs on China in response to China’s forced technology transfer, intellectual property theft, and their chronically abusive trade practices.
  • Net exports are on track to increase by $59 billion this year.
  • Improved vetting and screening for refugees, and switched focus to overseas resettlement.
  • We have begun BUILDING THE WALL. Republicans want STRONG BORDERS and NO CRIME. Democrats want OPEN BORDERS which equals MASSIVE CRIME.
WhiteHouse.gov
The White House? I don’t trust anything coming from those criminals.

He’s a lying fat f**ken merkin and Biden is a piece of shit as well.

TheRam

It must be very hard to follow sports when you have an all or nothing mindset. Surely you enjoyed the season ?

Mate get over yourself, it has been 34+ seasons. People are entitled to be frustrated, disappointed and angry. How hard is it for whingers like you to understand this? The Eels are our sporting passion!!!

And then we have whingers like you or Pou or whoever that just attack us for caring enough and for being upset about our never ending failure to Premiership glory.

What a wanker! It's sport mate. If you don't like passion then go do something else, maybe a hobby like ant farming might be more your speed? But leave us the Hell alone to express our misery in whichever way we please ffs!

Mate get over yourself, it has been 34+ seasons. People are entitled to be frustrated, disappointed and angry. How hard is it for whingers like you to understand this? The Eels are our sporting passion!!!

And then we have whingers like you or Pou or whoever that just attack us for caring enough and for being upset about our never ending failure to Premiership glory.

What a wanker! It's sport mate. If you don't like passion then go do something else, maybe a hobby like ant farming might be more your speed? But leave us the Hell alone to express our misery in whichever way we please ffs!
Its a free forum mate. Everyone is entitled to their opinion.

TheRam

Cronk in the post game show on Foxtel and Laurie Daley on the radio this morning both talking about a crossroads for Parramatta and a decision needs to be made about the coach and/or the halfback.

Daley saying it was easier to sack the coach. I disagree. I reckon it would be much easier to offload Moses.

Maybe cos even Daley knows it is much harder to find a quality half compared to a quality coach.

You do know that I have way too much class to bother replying to your hillbilly rants ?

Haynzy

You do know that I have way too much class to bother replying to your hillbilly rants ?

Great book that everyone should read.

images

TheRam

EELS SNARE TV RATINGS TITLE

The Parramatta Eels have won the title as the season’s most watched NRL club on Fox Sports and Kayo.

The Eels had an average audience of 378,000 — more viewers than any of their NRL or AFL rivals thanks to their fanatical blue and gold army in Sydney’s west — up 10 per cent on last year. OzTAM ratings also reveal Parramatta as the most watched football team in any code on pay TV and free-to-air TV.

“Having an average of 378,000 viewers on Fox and Kayo each week is a phenomenal result and a testament to our members and fans who support our club with pride,” Eels chief executive Jim Sarantinos said. “It’s also a terrific outcome for our sponsors. We are by no means done and plan to build in 2021.”

Melbourne Storm came in second on 360,000, with Sunday’s opponents Penrith eighth with 330,000. The Gold Coast Titans and the New Zealand Warriors finished equal-last with an average of 271,000 viewers.

The round-six Roosters v Eels game was the most watched pay TV game, with an average audience of 507,000. The second-highest was Sonny Bill Williams’ comeback for the Roosters against the Raiders on a Saturday night in round 17.

LINK

And yet we still seem to have average sponsors. Lets remember we had the highest ratings including all AFL teams. So basically the number one watched team of any sport in the country. So why haven't we got a Hyundai, Toyota, Fiat, Jaguar, NAB, Zurich, Fujitsu, Emirates, Optus, Samsung or any other major mega company on our jersey and a whole slue of others lining up behind the major sponsor to be part of our number one ranked success story?

And yes I know we currently have sponsors in place, but Parramatta is hardly an over night phenomenon. We have consistently been one of the top rating teams in the country for decades. Even in our terrible years we still rate well so we are great value to any company over all.

We need to start to take advantage of and maximising our full value. We are the power of the league. A giant that doesn't know how to stand up yet. I would be looking at these following types of high end sponsors for our next major sponsor. I would start inquiring with Google as my first option and go from there. Maybe Amazon, IBM, Microsoft. Puma, Red Bull, and G E.

Anyway these are just suggestions of mega names that we never seem to be able to get. Also our minor sponsors are so low profile and no doubt cheaper then if we had major names wanting to jump on. We need to address this. Anyone know what our ALAND deal is worth?