Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels in the media

While I agree that Brown isn't irreplaceable, I think we should remember that he is an Origin player - if he goes, and we replace him, we will probably lose a little bit, unless he is replaced with an Origin-calibre forward.

I really like Papali'i (despite the fact I was a tad worried about his size in the off-season; he's proved me wrong), and Niukore, and both are excellent players - but to be fair, neither are on Brown's level.

They may get there one day - they are younger than Brown -, but at this point in time, the gap in quality is sizeable imo.

Lemon Squash

I’ve always had a gut feeling BA intends to mould Ray Stone into a Nathan Brown style player.

Similar builds, both can pass (Stone arguably better) both bring the merkin and can belt blokes.

I don’t know if he can do it at the same level or if his motor is as big as NRowns but with one wanting 600k plus and the other worth less than half of that it might be the way the club goes.

Joshuatheeel

While I agree that Brown isn't irreplaceable, I think we should remember that he is an Origin player - if he goes, and we replace him, we will probably lose a little bit, unless he is replaced with an Origin-calibre forward.

I really like Papali'i (despite the fact I was a tad worried about his size in the off-season; he's proved me wrong), and Niukore, and both are excellent players - but to be fair, neither are on Brown's level.

They may get there one day - they are younger than Brown -, but at this point in time, the gap in quality is sizeable imo.

got to remember Marata is only 25 this. Just 1 year older then when Nrown joined the eels. Nrown was hardly an origin player at first and has slowly developed into one.

Marata is developing nicely. And in a year or so could be better. He probably is more “powerful” and faster then Nrown. And can be fairly aggressive. But Nrown has better ball skills. But do we need them if we have Paulo / Papa.

definitely want to keep Nrown but can see the club’s reasons for not offering more then 2 years or stupid money.

Nrown also needs to realise if he goes to a lessor club he will be in a shitter pack and probably expected to be more of a “battering ram” for close to 80 mins each week, which is more likely to shorten his career.

yy_cheng

Oregon has occasionally shown some aggression and ran super hard. He doesn't do it every game but I've seen it.

He could take that brown hit up role.

And let hollis come on the bench

I'll let nbrown go tbh.

Use the money elsewhere

Marata or pappa should cover him

And hope cartright comes good to give some feleti of the bench

got to remember Marata is only 25 this. Just 1 year older then when Nrown joined the eels. Nrown was hardly an origin player at first and has slowly developed into one.

Marata is developing nicely. And in a year or so could be better. He probably is more “powerful” and faster then Nrown. And can be fairly aggressive. But Nrown has better ball skills. But do we need them if we have Paulo / Papa.

definitely want to keep Nrown but can see the club’s reasons for not offering more then 2 years or stupid money.

Nrown also needs to realise if he goes to a lessor club he will be in a shitter pack and probably expected to be more of a “battering ram” for close to 80 mins each week, which is more likely to shorten his career.

Fair points, mate.

And I don't want to be disparaging towards Marata - he is an excellent player.

Gazzamatta

Oregon has occasionally shown some aggression and ran super hard. He doesn't do it every game but I've seen it.

He could take that brown hit up role.

And let hollis come on the bench

I'll let nbrown go tbh.

Use the money elsewhere

Marata or pappa should cover him

And hope cartright comes good to give some feleti of the bench
If Cartwright plays a few good games he will want Nrowns 600k.

Happy MEel

Nrown also has to realise he’s a fringe origin player and if he goes to a shit club that lose plenty more games than they win, there’s a pretty good chance he misses out. That’s a decent chunk of change he’d be missing out on.

lingard

I reckon our starting middle forwards would all be in our top 7 or 8 paid players. I'm not sure we should expect too much quality on our bench.

Lower your expectations ffs. We don't deserve too good a team.

Interesting comment. Don't deserve in what sense? (Not saying you're wrong; just interested in your thinking.)

NRL 2021: Eels official blasts Prime Minister Scott Morrison in dressing room social media post
Parramatta has made a call on an Eels official who publicly took aim at Prime Minister Scott Morrison over the March for Justice.

Dean Ritchie
less than 2 min read
March 28, 2021 - 5:28PM
134 comments

FOXSPORTS1:54
Injury-hit Sharks go down to Eels

NRL: The Parramatta Eels super start to the season continues as the Cronulla Sharks lost both the match and a number of key players at Bankwest Stadium.

A Parramatta Eels official who publicly took aim at Prime Minister Scott Morrison over the March for Justice after his appearance in Bankwest Stadium’s dressing rooms has avoided sanction by the club.

While the NRL club claimed her stance was “personal”, the Eels have refused to declare whether they support the controversial social media comments of sports scientist Tahleya Eggers.

Watch The 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership Live & On-Demand with No Ad-Breaks During Play. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

1bca84d9ad553e81daa4875c1e4341ed

Eels sports scientist Tahleya Eggers glares at Prime Minister Scott Morrison after he addressed the Parramatta players in the sheds on Saturday night.
Morrison was at Bankwest Stadium on Saturday night to watch his beloved Sharks but ended up congratulating players in the winning Eels dressing room.

A screen grab was taken of Eggers — with arms folded — staring down Morrison, who did not attend a March 4 Justice rally outside Parliament House in Canberra.

The image went viral on Twitter.

Parramatta posted a photo of Morrison in the dressing rooms, claiming: “He’s ours now”.

Once aware the screen grab had been posted, Eggers charged onto social to post: “Proud to claim this one!”

047cdaf6e4488a3c7314eb31e4ec1d32

Miss Eggers’ follow up post after the image went viral.
“I will not respect a man who has the time to shake hands of men who have won a football match but is ‘too busy’ to attend the March for Justice.”

An Eels spokesman said: “Tahleya was responding to a social meme that was not of her making.

“The club is comfortable with her clarifying her personal position and we consider the matter now closed.”

More Coverage
How Eels signed a future star for loose changeNRL stars like you’ve never seen them before
Former Parramatta player Brad Takairangi joined the conversation by declaring: “Gettem Tahleya”.

Parramatta won the match 28-4.

chiefy1

NRL 2021: Eels official blasts Prime Minister Scott Morrison in dressing room social media post
Parramatta has made a call on an Eels official who publicly took aim at Prime Minister Scott Morrison over the March for Justice.

Dean Ritchie
less than 2 min read
March 28, 2021 - 5:28PM
134 comments

FOXSPORTS1:54
Injury-hit Sharks go down to Eels

NRL: The Parramatta Eels super start to the season continues as the Cronulla Sharks lost both the match and a number of key players at Bankwest Stadium.

A Parramatta Eels official who publicly took aim at Prime Minister Scott Morrison over the March for Justice after his appearance in Bankwest Stadium’s dressing rooms has avoided sanction by the club.

While the NRL club claimed her stance was “personal”, the Eels have refused to declare whether they support the controversial social media comments of sports scientist Tahleya Eggers.

Watch The 2021 NRL Telstra Premiership Live & On-Demand with No Ad-Breaks During Play. New to Kayo? Try 14-Days Free Now >

1bca84d9ad553e81daa4875c1e4341ed

Eels sports scientist Tahleya Eggers glares at Prime Minister Scott Morrison after he addressed the Parramatta players in the sheds on Saturday night.
Morrison was at Bankwest Stadium on Saturday night to watch his beloved Sharks but ended up congratulating players in the winning Eels dressing room.

A screen grab was taken of Eggers — with arms folded — staring down Morrison, who did not attend a March 4 Justice rally outside Parliament House in Canberra.

The image went viral on Twitter.

Parramatta posted a photo of Morrison in the dressing rooms, claiming: “He’s ours now”.

Once aware the screen grab had been posted, Eggers charged onto social to post: “Proud to claim this one!”

047cdaf6e4488a3c7314eb31e4ec1d32

Miss Eggers’ follow up post after the image went viral.
“I will not respect a man who has the time to shake hands of men who have won a football match but is ‘too busy’ to attend the March for Justice.”

An Eels spokesman said: “Tahleya was responding to a social meme that was not of her making.

“The club is comfortable with her clarifying her personal position and we consider the matter now closed.”

More Coverage
How Eels signed a future star for loose changeNRL stars like you’ve never seen them before
Former Parramatta player Brad Takairangi joined the conversation by declaring: “Gettem Tahleya”.

Parramatta won the match 28-4.

Give her a promotion

Angry_eel

Although I like a PM who supports the NRL, I think Tahleya is right. As a leader of the nation, you can't hide form issues by claiming a lack of time then be at the footy.

Sorry to mix politics with Football, I hope Tahleya doesn't get fired over the supposed "Freedom of Speech".