Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels open door for disgraced Sharks boss

its true - you can't just believe everything the media says - but they surely have input on pretty much ALL our beliefs cos otherwise our sphere of knowledge is pretty local

mickdo

If Grant Mayer was interested in the Tiges job then he will probably throw his hat into the ring for us. Fingers crossed.

SDM

Forget John Brogden, lets get Mark Latham, his first duty can be to punch Brian Waldron in the face.

ShaunC

how in the world can the Sharks League/Football Club be considered "independent"? .... FMD they have an interest in the outcome! :crazy:

The first thing you do before commissioning an independent inquiry is to be sure of the outcome.

It was an interesting article. John Brogden? I was all set to vote for him until he stood down. Charismatic and very switched on. But what are his business credentials?

Personally, I don't care whether Zappia has been proven innocent or guilty. I don't care how good an operator he is. What he has bee accused of is going to stick, and it will cause dramas. I just think we should try and avoid drama.

He is currently CEO of Manchester Unity. Reasonable I would guess.

born an eel

zappia should have payed for her taxi home afterwards and all would have been alright.

Twizzle in every workplace there is a code of conduct and showing pornography and asking a staff member to spank you will get you fired but will not mean you will be charged with anything.

He should have attended the seminars with the toyota cup players to learn what conduct is appropriate in the work place.

maybe brogden's reasons for losing the leadership are questionable like zappia's recent history

TheRam

has he been charged with anything ?

it happened about a year ago

It is irrelevant in regards to Parra and him being mentioned as a candidate as one of our CEO's. I could not give a toss about his guilt or innocence to tell you the truth, even though it would seem that he has at the very least behaved like a Neanderthal in his capacity as man of power and position over staff members.

But more to the point I have said many a time, "Even if you are a saintly nun, if people think you are a whore, then you are a total dunny banging whore."

He is TOXIC!!! There is no way that he can have any real credibility as a rugby league administrator in the eyes of a large part of the community, no matter what some people may think or say. He will only bring criticism and disgrace to the 1st club that had the stupidity to even open a door to allow him to apply for the position in the first place. As is already the case.

Really for the people who are defending him or Spag's statements how hard is it to see this folly? :crazy:

staff that break the law by illegally taping phone conversation and breaching a written agreement ?

A written agreement that also included $20000 of hush money. :?
Fair dinkum, what has he got to hide? Resigning after he was cleared?
If it wasn't so serious, it'd be funny.
If he's so innocent, why did he just resign? All that did was throw more doubt over his guilt.

I sincerely don't want him near our joint.

Ram, I can see where you are coming from totally.

I believed Tony would be in line for the CEO job once 3P won, As soon as 3P announced their Leagues Club ticket, Why? Because I was told it would happen from one of their candidates. I had no real problem with that, Indeed I have know Tony for a number of years and spoken to him at length on many club issues that I have then been asked to bring to this forum.

I remember sitting with Tony before a Saturday night game about 2 or so years ago when the Past Players function was on at the Leagues Club, that was the year the player numbers were instituted, many of our past players came and sat with Tony and myself and had a chat, one of them is a board member at the LC and FC now but wasn't at the time. Tony has great contacts through the club and for his efforts at Parramatta I thank and praise him.

However, if Tony were to become CEO of the Football club now, I think you would find that the amount of stitch we have received today would be nothing compared to the Holly sh*t storm that would be rained down on us for weeks on end. I agree that while the Chairman's comments may indeed have been sticking up for a mate and offering an olive branch, I think doing so publicly is a faux par.

I agree with Colonel, get a Head Hunting Company involved and get them to get the candidates then get the Board to Interview them.

Dymock

On the one hand Zappia has had a trial by media which is unfair. He doesn't seem to be a bad person. His judgment might have been off on a few occasions.

But on the other hand the Eels just don't need negative publicity. And, if, as MITS seems to be suggesting, there is more that might come out, then its not worth the risk.

born an eel

if Zappia was to come on board I think we would be able to get sponsorship from Lonsdale and the huuuge signing may be Mundine.

hasman

Let it Being Know that Andrew Hill Had nothing to Do with Singing players it was all Roy Spagnolo he did all the work.

As for Tony Zappia when he was at Parramatta Heaps of Players wanted to come and Not many wanted to leave.

As Soon he went to Sharks, How many players have left the club. How many players have signed outside the club.

Why don't you ask the SMH who sent information about Zappia. It wasn't the lady. It all happened after 3P was elected.