Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK II

How many pages in 24 hrs

• 1-15

Votes: 5 38.5%
  • 16-30

Votes: 2 15.4%
  • 31-45

• 45+

Votes: 6 46.2%

An audit can determine if any clubs have manipulated or arranged tpa's for players.

How exactly?

If a club has directly arranged a TPA, do you think they will write that down? If they did, will they show it to the auditor?

What exactly do you think the auditor will detect, if the club wants to keep lying?

The cases where an auditor might help are ones where it is really the club paying the player, but channeling through a TP. The auditor might detect ridiculous over payments by the club to an associate of the TP, or maybe the fact that the TP is indirectly connected to an entity that has a commercial relationship with the club (like the Scorecube thing). But I'm not that these are the cases that are causing the broader problem. Teams like the Chooks don't need to channel funds to their TPs. The TPs are happy enough to pay. And as long as they are not 'associates', and as long as there is no paper trail showing that the club organised a deal, there's zero chance of finding anything.

Kornstar

Why do so many people think we will not lose points? For some reason i reckon this season is going to be wiped out. I am not sure why and hope i'm wrong

Considering the NRL have not come out once and denounced all the media speculation I am sure it is all true and we are losing our season.

Seems people at the NRL can't keep their mouths shut leaking punishments to the media.

IFR33K

Why do so many people think we will not lose points? For some reason i reckon this season is going to be wiped out. I am not sure why and hope i'm wrong

No doubt we will lose points. Not sure the season will be wiped out. The NRL needs the eels to have a strong season. TV ratings will no doubt be playing a big part in all this.

It was reported on the Sunday footy show earlier that Greenberg will announce the punishment next week. Apparently grant is supposed to inform him of the findings. Interestingly enough the punishment was meant to be announced last week but got delayed. Maybe we are negotiating the penalty if board members stand down.

Does anyone think if watmough retires and his payout is approved, it can have a positive impact on our punishment??? I also find it strange that there is no outcome yet on the watmough saga.

Fanbase

we are losing anywhere between 4 and all our points is what is being said. terrible we finally have a good year after years of crap. how did we ever breach the cap with a bleeding crap team. shows just how bad the administration and leadership has been for a long time. now we have a good team and they and the fans will suffer for the crap of the past.

IFR33K

No way we will lose all our points. By all accounts we organised tpa's, that's nothing in comparison to dogs and storm. Storm players signed multiple contracts. Dogs players were paid by an outside source. By all accounts our players have done no wrong doing and are not aware of any breaches and rorts. This is something the NRL needs to consider.

Considering the NRL have not come out once and denounced all the media speculation I am sure it is all true and we are losing our season.

Seems people at the NRL can't keep their mouths shut leaking punishments to the media.

I dont really expect the nrl to respond to the media shit ... i expect them to be talking to our club alot but the media shouldnt dictate what the nrl does.

The thing that concerned me most is our statement where we basically called out the nrl on their integrity ... it makes me think our club thinks the nrl is leaking or they have leaked in the past .... so i end up thinking our club believes some of the media stuff to be accurate (ie leaked)

Joshuatheeel

We lose 4 maybe 6 points, I wouldn't be surprised if we won the comp - it would build that seige mentality that would suit BA style.

Lose any more and we are gone.

Wouldn't surprise me if we lost more than 4, legal action might be taken. Sides have lost points in a particular year if they were still cheating / over the cap. We are good for 2016 according to reports.

Johnny88

So Paul Kent is saying on triple m the recommendation report will be given to Todd Greenburg this weekend and our fate is in his hands. He may agree with the recommendation or disagree and make his own decision. Kent says don't listen to anyone who says they will lose a certain amount of points as its all on Greenburgs shoulders. Kent is strange last week he was speculating on how many points we lose his tune changes everyday. Tallis said he would rather play against the eels rather than a team convicted of substance abuse (Cronulla) which is way worse and they got a minor suspension.

parramaniac2516

I like in how that segment girdler and tallis gave us an onfield rating for how our year has gone but Kent didn't and just went on about the salary cap.

Kornstar

I dont really expect the nrl to respond to the media shit ... i expect them to be talking to our club alot but the media shouldnt dictate what the nrl does.

The thing that concerned me most is our statement where we basically called out the nrl on their integrity ... it makes me think our club thinks the nrl is leaking or they have leaked in the past .... so i end up thinking our club believes some of the media stuff to be accurate (ie leaked)

I don't expect them to respond to every article but not once have they defended themselves against the leaks and it would seem that some, if not all are from them so them coming out and putting pressure on the media would be a good sign. I have seen nothing of the sort.......seems they are happy for the media to say whatever they like to damage their brand.

Our club should call them out, it is disgraceful if the governing body is leaking like a sieve, embarrassing as well! Shows they don't know how to run the competition and more than we know how to run a club........

Johnny88

I like I'm how that segment girdler and tallies gave us an infield rating for how our year has gone but Kent didn't and just went on about the salary cap.

Yeah they gave us a good report. Kent seemed a bit reserved today. It's funny when Gordie asked him is this as bad as Bulldogs and storm he says uh uh no not on that level.

Chipmunk

Paul Kent has obviously decided to do his own research on the matter and worked out that there isnt really much in it.

News ltd are worried that the info they got from the leaker is not the full story and they didn't check into it and could be made look very silly if we get a fine or very small point penalty, so now they are saying its all on Greenberg so if the penalty isn't as harsh as they have reported for the last few weeks they will just say Greenberg is soft and didn't come down hard enough.

phantom eel

Kent says don't listen to anyone who says they will lose a certain amount of points as its all on Greenburgs shoulders. Kent is strange last week he was speculating on how many points we lose his tune changes everyday.
Kent's been making stuff up, and trying to make a name for himself.

But has spread himself so thin he'll look like a fool no matter what the final decision (and penalty, if there is one) might now be.