Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels Salary Cap MK IV

Yeah fancy the board who cheated being blamed and held accountable for cheating. f**king lunacy :lol:

If you want to argue the point maybe you should get your missus to log on and defend you like she used to before you get out of your depth again...

My point is why do you stop at the board when it was everybody benefiting from cheating? The players got their money and you got a strong, competitive squad. Don't turn around and blame the board for giving you what you wanted. And don't ignore the greed of the players and their managers.

We don't know anything about that TPA. As far as we know it could be a registered TPA the club secured as part of their marquee allowance, counted into their salary cap.

Otherwise, the club wouldn't be on the hook for the TPA money.

Except Zorba publically said there's no record of it so it's not Manly's problem.

Yeah fancy the board who cheated being blamed and held accountable for cheating. f**king lunacy :lol:

If you want to argue the point maybe you should get your missus to log on and defend you like she used to before you get out of your depth again...

lol

If it's a BA decision then that's fine...but based on the board's behaviour so far it's equally as likely they're just hiding.

Mate I found on Tuesday night that it was all a BA decision and the playing group were very comfortable with it...

he didn't really figure in BA's plans next year..

84 Baby

I can't see how we could be obligated to pay given he was not under contract for 2017.
Because he has a new contract. Part of out buyout for this year may, hopefully not, included a payment for next year.

Here's an interesting scenario, what happens next year if Tits are over cap and look to offload Peats?

Mate I found on Tuesday night that it was all a BA decision and the playing group were very comfortable with it...

I was aiming more at the board/CEO/representative not fronting the players....but that's good news in a way about Peats. As much as I hate losing him, if he wasn't in BAs plans then so be it. Interesting to see what his plan for the 9 is going forward

yy_cheng

Not even for $300k a year?

I would've though it all depends on what he was asking for.

It will be interesting to find out what are BA's plans for our hooking position next year.

yy_cheng

I reckon Pritchard signing a 2 year extension, may show where BA's plans are.

Wouldn't surprise if Issac stays for another year

I didnt think Pritchard was ready next year to take on the Primary Hooker role.

But now Peats is gone, Pritchard will be the benchy and this experience will show if he can be our primary hooker week in week out.

I think he will sign De Gois for another year too but if he can hold off the signings and Pritchard proves himself, he could go for

9. Pritchard
14. King

However, Wallace is off contract at the end of this year too. He would make a good 9 as he can also kick and also cover a halves spot.

Joshuatheeel

But now Peats is gone, Pritchard will be the benchy and this experience will show if he can be our primary hooker week in week out.

I think he will sign De Gois for another year too but if he can hold off the signings and Pritchard proves himself, he could go for

9. Pritchard
14. King

However, Wallace is off contract at the end of this year too. He would make a good 9 as he can also kick and also cover a halves spot.

Pritchard just needs to play footy and remain injury free. A Issac / Pritchard combo for the next 18 months is probably good enough to get us to the finals.

Pritchard is potentially a better hooker then peats / Issac but is injury prone.

Everyone is mentioning King, but has his form in NSW cup been any good? I haven't seen any to comment.

Chipmunk

9. Pritchard
14. King

We'd be better of re-signing De Gois for another year than signing Wallace.

yy_cheng

How many teams run two hookers in the 17?

Cowboys do.

It depends on your team balance.

We have cheapish hookers so we carry 2.

Our backrowers can play long minutes which limits the interchange.

I actually prefer the 2 hooker rotation as the new one can spark things.

Unless you can find a 80min hooker that can play at a high tempo for the 80 (and wont be cheap), I think it is better having 2.

For some reason (e.g. leading the defensive line), our hookers do alot of defensive work, therefore, there energy levels to attack are reduced.

Pritchard is too small to be a first string hooker in the modern game. His durability issues show that. Don't get me wrong, I like the kid, he certainly plays above his weight but that's part of the problem. You just can't have a 75kg hooker in the modern game IMO.

Joshuatheeel

How many teams run two hookers in the 17?

Just had a quick check, pretty much only storm / sharks / dogs / roosters aren't carrying a player on their bench this week that can play hooker. A couple carry a utility that can cover hooker.

yy_cheng

Pritchard is too small to be a first string hooker in the modern game. His durability issues show that. Don't get me wrong, I like the kid, he certainly plays above his weight but that's part of the problem. You just can't have a 75kg hooker in the modern game IMO.

According to the Parra site

Date of Birth:05-05-1994
Height:175 cm
Weight:90 kg
Position:Hooker
Rep. Honours:Under 20s NSW Blues (2014)
Junior Clubs:Cabramatta
FG Debut:parramatta Eels v North Queensland Cowboys - 4 May 2013
Club Debut:parramatta Eels v North Queensland Cowboys - 4 May 2013

Jake Granville is smaller

Date of Birth:07-02-1989
Height:172
Weight:85
Position:Hooker

ash411

Cowboys do.

It depends on your team balance.

We have cheapish hookers so we carry 2.

Our backrowers can play long minutes which limits the interchange.

I actually prefer the 2 hooker rotation as the new one can spark things.

Unless you can find a 80min hooker that can play at a high tempo for the 80 (and wont be cheap), I think it is better having 2.

For some reason (e.g. leading the defensive line), our hookers do alot of defensive work, therefore, there energy levels to attack are reduced.

That makes sense. bringing on a fresh hooker can help us up the pace mid game as well, forcing the other team to up their pace to keep up, which can lead to an attacking advantage..

I've always felt before that having 2 hookers was a waste of a bench space, but I guess it has its merits..

Joshuatheeel

No offence, but he is 88kg. Which is about average for an NRL hooker. A few are smaller, a few are bigger but not by much.