Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Eels v Doggies Match Thread

natheel

Sucks we lost but tbh I honestly think that was a better performance from us than the scoreline suggests. Dogs are just a very good side.

Luke Kelly is a very good player in the making

Na we are terrible hope Kearney learnt something from the master coach as I see a side with no real structure in attack or defence.

The credit I can give to Kearney is we had five regulars out

I don't know if you can give him credit for that. If Hayne were played we could have nabbed another try or two but that would be down to Hayne's freakishness not Kearney's coaching. We deadset have no set plays in attack. I'd like to know what we actually do in training sessions at the moment.

Joshuatheeel

I don't know if you can give him credit for that. If Hayne were played we could have nabbed another try or two but that would be down to Hayne's freakishness not Kearney's coaching. We deadset have no set plays in attack. I'd like to know what we actually do in training sessions at the moment.

Yep we attack like my touch footy side - terrible

Defence is even more concerning four soft tries

- barba 100m
- reynolds though the middle
- morris of the same set play which we should have practiced defending this week

N
No its not champ, we need more like you!

Thanks, mate.

I'm gutted we lost, but I am proud of the effort. We never gave in. That's all I ever ask for - the blokes to have a dig, and IMO they did but were outclassed by a far superior side.

Delboy

Not a good result, someone has to say it, Luke is no longer an NRL standard player, woeful again tonight

The coach needs to go, we get caught on all the same plays and we offer little in attack with no structure. Sometimes a good asst coach can't step up, and we have seen that .

There has to be some action on the coach to get some real enthusiasm or whatever, and how the f**k did Kasiano stay on the field, oh well

Sucks we lost but tbh I honestly think that was a better performance from us than the scoreline suggests. Dogs are just a very good side.

Luke Kelly is a very good player in the making

I agree on both points. We were simply outclassed tonight, by a team that is at the peak of its game.
I know the whinging bitches will still carry on, but kelly did look good, paulo is getting better every game and our rookies are starting to step up. Not happy we lost, but happy with how we contested against a team i reckon that be thereabouts this year.

Eelogical

I thought Paulo & Kelly had a good game in an otherwise typical Eel pulverisation. There are no excuses, the Eels had enough possession in the first half and only came up with a 50/50 pot luck try. For the rest of the match I agree that the guys had a good dig but were simply outclassed on the field and outcoached off it.

Mickyd39

When is this pis*weak board going to show some balls and admit they made a mistake hiring this bloke to coach and get rid of him?

Maroubra Eel

I thought the effort was there. Just a few lapses in defense let us down. Our attack is looking much better than a few months ago. Our kicks are much improved. Kearney is still a f**kwit though.

Joshuatheeel

I agree on both points. We were simply outclassed tonight, by a team that is at the peak of its game.
I know the whinging bitches will still carry on, but kelly did look good, paulo is getting better every game and our rookies are starting to step up. Not happy we lost, but happy with how we contested against a team i reckon that be thereabouts this year.

I am happy with the rookies and Kelly looks good. Also agreed the effort was good but there comes a time when no matter how much effort there is, the side must also win.

Noise

Kearney strokes of genius tonight:

Burt at fullback - why not play sio

Roberts in the side - was he playing hooker? FMD he is a reserve grade player, not to mention a 5/8 and we already had 2 of them (kelly and paulo) on the field

Not practicing or having any idea about that set play where morris scored....twice

Wat have i missed?

Effort was there. We lost our best prop 10 seconds in. Missing our superstar fullback, our starting hooker (he's not a fan favourite, but he rarely makes errors like the ones Roberts made, and his defence is first class), Smith and Mullaney. We are also playing awful football and coming last, whilst the Dogs are on fire. I am not excusing the performance, but at least the team had a dig. They were never going to win this game IMO. But they didn't give up.

Dogs fans were pretty good at the game - lots of commiserations from a lot of them and good sportsmanship shown.

parra pete

Actually I don't think the loss was Kearney's fault. The Eels played strongly tonight..Definitely not a twenty point margin..as the scoreboard indicated.
Why was Poore out?