Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Elimination Final - Roosters vs Rabbitohs: Sunday 11th September 4:05pm @Allianz Stadium

callmack1

Jason Demetriou Coaches Media Elimination Final: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2022/09/10/jason-demetriou-coaches-media-elimination-final/

JD seemed to mention it a lot in that interview, and he is so right, this is the start of a new competition. The past 25 weeks mean little in terms of the result this week. Anything can and will happen! I'm starting to get very nervous but also super pumped!!

Elimination Final Captain's Run Gallery: https://www.rabbitohs.com.au/news/2022/09/10/elimination-final-captains-run-gallery/

Well here we are Game Day is just about upon us it doesn’t get much bigger than this. Finals footy is here it’s a new competition now and no second chances for us as we take on our arch rivals those rotten scummy filthy vermin from Bondi those wankers the Sydney Rorters! A rivalry that is the biggest in the game going back to 1908. I think the hatred and animosity between the 2 clubs and tension is as high as it’s ever been. Hate is not a word we use lightly but we absolutely despise these Rorters! One things for sure and that’s that another chapter will be written in the book of feuds. It’s going to a packed house and a Sunday Arvo game and we would love nothing more than to knock out these guys. I’m also sure we will have more members and fans there than we did last week getting right behind the boys let’s turn it into a South Sydney home game.

Looking at the teams we get Cookie, Murray and Campbell back 3 big boosts. Cookie and Murray will greatly stiffen our middle and Campbell will help out that right edge. They get back Radley, Suaali and Tupou but lose Manu. Looking at how the Rorters have been playing as well they have been playing really well the last 2 months with threats all over the park in Teddy, Suaali, Keary, JWH, Angus, Radley, Lodge, SST etc...... so they have so much strike that we need to be aware off. We must come out and go with them that first 25mins as that’s when they’ve been getting right on top in games with very fast line speed and their forwards charging onto the ball. We will have to rush off our line and defend very well HIT EM HARD SOUTHS AND FORCE THEM INTO ERROR! Our completion rate is so important we can’t make cheap errors we have to complete at 85percant I feel and pin them deep in their half. They are also dangerous off offloads so we will have to stop the second phase play. Teddy is a big one we have to shut down we have to limit his time and space with the ball. Our right edge also has to do better in defence as they will keep coming there. Finals games are all about defence so the boys must work hard for one another and show desperation. In attack we need to be patient and build pressure we need to get some repeat sets. I feel if we match them in the middle that brings Trell right into the game and we can get them on their edges I feel there are some points available there.

Us in the stands as well have a job to do let’s get right behind our boys and show great encouragement. Let’s do everything we can to get our boys an extra penalty or six again. Lets give our boys a standing ovation after a big play. The Rorters were much louder than us last week so let’s get that SOUTH SYDNEY CHANT UP AND GOING EARLY!!!!! Everyone who is going load your voices! I also look forward to the banner the Burrow has made!

EVERY RABBITOHS MEMBER AND SUPPORTER SHOULDER TO SHOULDER AND ON YOUR FEET TOMORROW AT 4:03PM!

AS THE BOYS COME DOWN THE TUNNEL SHOW THE COLOURS CLAP YOUR HANDS STAMP YOUR FEET AND SCREAM YOUR LUNGS OUT HERE THEY COME YOUR SOUTH SYDNEY RABBITOHS!!!!!!

IT IS DO OR DIE LETS URGE THE BOYS HOME LETS SEND THESE WANKERS FROM BONDI PACKING!! LETS LEAVE NOTHING IN THE TANK WE HAVE TO WANT IT MORE!!!

LETS GO RABBITOHS GO YOU GOOD THINGS SSTID!!!

SOUTH SYDNEY CLAP CLAP CLAP

P.S. I am in the front row so I’ll be letting the touchie know when I see a forward pass from them!!!

callmack1

Finals Footy. It's time. Cometh the hour, cometh the man, cometh the Finals. It's time. Time to stand up and be counted. Time to lift. Time for no second chances. Time where it really, really matters. That time is now, Finals Footy is here.

And what a game we have on our hands this afternoon as we take on the arch-rivals in what will be an absolute classic out there at Allianz. it doesn't get much bigger than playing the Roosters in a sudden-death Finals game, something we haven't done since 2018. It's obviously always spicy against our bitter rivals but with Season's on the line, that's bound to go up another level. Once again, the biggest rivalry in Australian sport will be on show as 114 years of genuine hatred, animosity, jealousy and bitterness come to the fore as we get ready to write another chapter in the Book of Feuds. Hate is a very strong word, one that I don't use super often. However, hate is simply not a strong enough word to describe how I feel, how I'm, sure our whole club feels, about these wankers from Bondi. It's hard to put into words but my blood just boils when I think about it. There's certainly no love lost right now, in fact, I don't think the animosity between our two clubs has ever been more intense than it is right now. When you consider everything that's happened between us in the past two years, the animosity has never been greater.

Looks, as much as I hate them, you do have to agree, whether you like it or not, they are a good side and they are coming for us. They've found their groove over the last eight weeks or so to the point where they are one of the form teams of the competition and they'll no doubt come into this one full of confidence and arrogance after they beat us last week, and the Storm the week before that. They'll be crowing in fact, and I would love nothing more than to knock them off today. It's not going to be easy though, we have a massive challenge on our hands. So much strike all across the park in Tedesco, Tupou, Suaalii, Keary, Walker, JWH, Crichton, Radley etc, etc.

They may have plenty of strike, but whatever they have, we are capable of matching it and then some. I'm very confident we have what it takes to progress to Week 2 if we can get things right. And that's what today comes down to, getting things right. At our best, we'll be very hard to stop so it's about making sure we are at our best. Complete your sets, kick well, keep that defence solid and cut out the silly stuff. Whoever blinks the least is going to win this game. I want to see an emotional performance from our boys because it's all on the line but at the same time, we need to hold our nerve and not let those emotions go too far.

This Elimination all comes down to the first 20 minutes I reckon. We need to at the very least match them in that period when they are at their best. Do that, and it will go a long way to winning. From then on, we need to match them in the middle for the rest of the game which is something we weren't able to do last week but the boys will be fired up to make that a different story this time out in the one that really matters.

Oh man, my blood is seriously boiling!!! I'm both extremely pumped and extremely nervous!! Despise these pricks, let's go get em' and end their Season! No doubt another chapter of fury will be written in the Book of Feuds this this afternoon, perhaps one of the biggest so far. Let's goooooooo!!

callmack1

Jason Demetriou and Cameron Murray’s calming influence behind Rabbitohs revival​

Sometimes it takes a special relationship to kickstart momentum. That is why coach Jason Demetriou and captain Cameron Murray have the Rabbitohs making serious headway.

Jason Demetriou is laser-focused on winning a premiership with South Sydney but for the moment, he is happy to take a quick trip down memory lane.

Let’s start with 2015 and working alongside Paul Green, where he played a major role in helping North Queensland secure their maiden premiership.

“It was a huge moment,” Demetriou said.

“I have obviously reflected on it more over the last few weeks. For us at the time and forever now in history there is only one group of men — playing group and staff — that will be involved in the first premiership in history.

“[Can I] lean on what happened in ’15? I think so and in ’21 [with South Sydney]. I think we got our prep bang on for that game and it went right down to the wire, as did the ’15 game.

“Out of those games you learn that the big moments matter in big games. That is the biggest message you can give to players — defend well and make those efforts that win you those extra moments, that will win you the game in the end.”

Demetriou went perilously close to winning a second premiership last season when he worked alongside Wayne Bennett at the Rabbitohs. They were pipped by Penrith and Bennett departed, leaving Demetriou at the helm.

Now, the buck stops with him.

“Green was very process (driven) — making sure we know the things that got us this far and valuing them in the finals,” Demetriou said.

Cameron Murray and Jason Demetriou have build up a rewarding relationship.

“Wayne was pretty similar but he spoke a bit more about moments and owning the big moments in the game.

“They weren’t too dissimilar.”

Having served an apprenticeship under two of the best coaches in the game’s recent history, Demetriou now has the chance to make his mark.

The Rabbitohs started the season slowly but hit their straps with the return of Latrell Mitchell and will head into Sunday’s game at Allianz Stadium feeling good about their chances.

At the heart of their revival has been Demetriou, who has helped Rabbitohs fans quickly move on from Bennett’s departure.

“He has done a great job,” Rabbitohs captain Cameron Murray said.

“I had no doubt at the start of the year that he would because he is a great coach and great mentor, very passionate about what he does.

“Everyone wants to play for him. We always knew it was going to be difficult from the start [of the year] and it was. The good thing was we regrouped and stuck together.”

Jason Demetriou has helped Rabbitohs fans quickly move on from Wayne Bennett’s departure.

Demetriou and Murray have taken to talking on the phone after every game. Their relationship has been crucial to Souths success — when Murray was overthinking things earlier this year, it was Demetriou who helped snap him out of it by sending him away for a couple of days after the State of Origin series.

“I tend to overthink and be someone I am not when I am not playing my best footy,” Murray said.

“When I got to where I felt comfortable, I would suffer a little setback. It is hard to enjoy your footy when you are having these setbacks. I overthink and it is hard to lead a footy team when you are not playing the best yourself.

“That was the hardest point. After Origin, I got away for two weeks — the coach was really good about it and said get away from footy. I turned my phone off and relaxed.

“JD is very passionate, he just loves his footy. When he wants to get a message across, he gets it across.
“He is just a good fella. He has a great mix similar to Wayne, of a really good relationship with players but he is not scared to pull someone up.

“Very emotional, very passionate.”

callmack1

From Zero Tackle,

Graham praises centre-of-attention Demetriou​

There's no shortage of ex-NRL players either plying their trade as a head coach or rising the ranks to get there, however, South Sydney centre Campbell Graham isn't taking Jason Demetriou's knowledge lightly.

There have been over 50 NRL head coaches to play at least 10 first-grade games, yet, very, very few featured predominantly in the centres.

In fact, just three.

Demetriou, who registered over 250 Super League games between Widnes and Wakefield, joins Paul McGregor and Josh Hannay as the only three to transition into the top job after spending their careers in the three-quarter line.

Over 60% of the coaches that played first-grade spent their playing days in the spine, so 23 year-old Graham knows the opportunity to be coached by someone in his position doesn't come around too often.

"(Demetriou) can shed light on his own experience," Graham told AAP.

"There have definitely been little tips along the way, even things like tackle technique and tackle selection in certain positions of the game, which has helped me immensely.

"He's one of the smartest footy heads I've ever come across."

Graham is a defensive specialist when it comes to plying his trade, however, the centre is averaging over 140 metres a game, more try-assists than any other career year, and should consider himself unlucky not to earn one of the two vacant New South Wales centre spots earlier this year.

While Graham praises Demetriou for his specialised knowledge, it appears the feeling are mutual, with the rookie Rabbitoh coach holding a massive opinion over the local junior.

"When we have the ball, he is one of the best yardage carriers in the game and he's one of the best yardage defenders in the game as well," he told the AAP.

"His ability to pick the (opposition) back five up and run them and get our team on the front foot defensively is huge."

"He's made for finals as I've said before, and that Origin type of footy.

"He is that kind of player".

Graham will oppose Drew Hutchison in their elimination final, buoyed after missing last week's stadium opener with delayed concussion symptoms, though is a certain starter for Sunday's clash.