Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Expansion - YOUR THOUGHTS!!!

Bulldog Force

I was all for expanding the game to an 18 team comp by 2012 before Wall Street shat itself. I got to thinking that the game probably can't handle that many teams at this stage. However, listening to Gus yesterday on the footy show had some food for thought. Gus said that having 18 teams would be sustainable to the NRL. By the time 2012 comes round, the 'recession' (depending on how you look at it), would most likely have come and gone and people would be more free with their money, IE; more season ticket holders and more people attending games on a casual basis.

• But what actual good does an extra 2 teams have for the comp?
Well as Gus pointed out (and I agree) 2 more teams with a top 25 system would mean an extra 50 players in our game and an extra $10,000,000 [or there abouts] for those clubs to spend on players and keep them in our game. It won't completely stop players moving to Rugby or England, but it will reduce it. This is an awesome step for our game to take and I say, for the survival of our game in the long term, it's a must.

• Who will be the 2 extra teams?
Well it's almost a given that the Central Coast/North Sydney Bears will be one as they've launched there campaign and have approached the Gold Coast Titans for a business plan and support to be included in the comp. Greg Florimo has also stated that The Central Coast and Northern System regions combined make up a total population or about 1,000,000 residents who (he believes) will flock to the games and fill up blue tongue stadium every weekend.

As for the other team... well it will be a cat fight. Suggestions of expansion into New Zealand will again be on the cards but my money would be on The WA Reds as they've entered the Jim Beam Cup (in 2008), and are looking to enter the NRL as soon as 2011, however we are sure that 1 more year would most likely be a better time for them as they should enter with another team (Bears). Apart from that, the NRL will be looking at expanding the game to make it NATIONAL, instead of just East Coast.

Will times might be tough now, the prospect of expanding our game as well as it's future is looking healthy and positive.

dimitri

I agree with your thoughts

2012 is stilla long way away and both CC and WA have done a lot of work in getting ready for it!

Has to be those 2 teams!

Id like to see WA play one season in QLD cup before and NRL to do A LOT more work in WA promoting the game, membership for the REDS etc.

Bulldog Force

I agree with your thoughts

2012 is stilla long way away and both CC and WA have done a lot of work in getting ready for it!

Has to be those 2 teams!

Id like to see WA play one season in QLD cup before and NRL to do A LOT more work in WA promoting the game, membership for the REDS etc.
1 year in the QLD cup will do very well for their team. That also gives them the possibility of having a feeder team from QLD. That will no doubt help them. If they can get a mixture of players from both NSW and QLD and they work well together and become a success, we may see the WA Reds overtake the Force in terms of popularity on WA.

franklin2323

I am all for an 18 team comp in 2012. We have so many players Overseas that are their because of no opportunities. Yes players will still go for other reasons. Buderus, Menzies etc had no trouble getting a start.

Economic reason's shouldn't be a factor. We only have a few privately owned teams. It can be overcome with smart thinking. eg rather than trying a $1m sponsorship get 10 sponsor of $100k instead.

As for Teams CC and WA are the clear choice. CC speaks for itself. Great Staduim, Fan base with the Bears and a League Heartland.

WA ME isn't a bad staduim for a team to play out of. More subsribition numbers for FOX. Also another timezone. Just think 7.30 start Perth Time is a 9.30 Eastern. 3 live games Sat night excellent. Bring 3pm Sat arvo for the extra game. Sounds great to me

dimitri

That wouldn't be as much of an issue.

Overtaking the popularity of Freemantle and West Coast would be the main chaollenge.

That's still a bit of a pipe dream at the moment.

The first goal would be to get close to the force!

It can be done!

Bulldog Force

I am all for an 18 team comp in 2012. We have so many players Overseas that are their because of no opportunities. Yes players will still go for other reasons. Buderus, Menzies etc had no trouble getting a start.

Economic reason's shouldn't be a factor. We only have a few privately owned teams. It can be overcome with smart thinking. eg rather than trying a $1m sponsorship get 10 sponsor of $100k instead.

As for Teams CC and WA are the clear choice. CC speaks for itself. Great Staduim, Fan base with the Bears and a League Heartland.

WA ME isn't a bad staduim for a team to play out of. More subsribition numbers for FOX. Also another timezone. Just think 7.30 start Perth Time is a 9.30 Eastern. 3 live games Sat night excellent. Bring 3pm Sat arvo for the extra game. Sounds great to me
Mate a 3pm Saturday afternoon game is something I've been all for in the past. I don't see the point of 2 Friday night games - not many people CBF sitting there watching 2 games straight after each other on a Friday - especially if 1 is delayed - so move that one over to Saturday afternoon and move keep the Friday night game live - and make it a blockbuster everytime. Also, move Monday night footy to Sunday afternoon! MNF does not work here that well.

dimitri

Mate a 3pm Saturday afternoon game is something I've been all for in the past. I don't see the point of 2 Friday night games - not many people CBF sitting there watching 2 games straight after each other on a Friday - especially if 1 is delayed - so move that one over to Saturday afternoon and move keep the Friday night game live - and make it a blockbuster everytime. Also, move Monday night footy to Sunday afternoon! MNF does not work here that well.

The point of 2 FRI Night games is you can have a NSW game and QLD game at 730 and then swithc them for 930.

I like two games!

Add the extra game on Sat arvo when the 2 teams are added!

Didgi

I don't think two Friday night games is going anywhere.

Have three games on Saturday and Sunday and no MNF, Bulldog Force is right in saying it doesn't work that well. Also have a sunday night game instead of two or three afternoon games.

dimitri

Another QLD team before WA surely?

Why?

Where would they play?

Why would we want to take support away from the current 3 who are building successfully!

4 teams failed in 1995! The Crushers and the Chargers. The GC are back only now!

Sunshine Coast should get a team only when they are ready and only when they have a stadium.

At the moment WA and CC are doing all the right things to get a team.

morley101

CC Bears and PNG..

Not before the next television contract is negotiated.
PNG needs a ground to be built before allowed in.

Angry_eel

We need CC defo. I like the idea of expanding the game outwards BUT we have to have our own state in our own hands before we go out.

St. Brett

I'm actually working on a letter right now about this. (sort of) (ít's already sent too.)

I made an error in my piece too.
I went over it a few times and it wasn't until I sent it did I spot the damn error blast it all!

Repeat after me, there's no room for error this day 'n age!

With politics playing its part in Rugby League there's still the lingering debate hanging around about ''some'' Sydney teams in dire financial strife and on the brink of extinction.

What if it's a deliberate ploy by the NRL to out-price us from attending games, at the grounds, so as ''some'' of these Sydney metro teams fall by the wayside and this paves the way for teams awaiting in the lurches like The Bears and Western Reds?

Remember that slogan, 'Making the big game bigger?'
Well, this might be part of their Super League expantion project continuation.

Just look at the V8 super car racing; they get no more than 1400 in attendence each time and it doesn't generate amass amounts of money so how can that sport stay afloat and continue to run circuits without fear if collapse?
Why are the panic buttons not pushed in that sport?
Can we put this to rest and bury it once and for all?

I don't care about behind-closed-doors dealings in the NRL! I only care about the onfield performances, that's all the fan wants to see and hear!
It's incompetence on behalf of the suits in the league's clubs if they're faultering! So it shouldn't affect the players.

Maybe Rugby League wasn't meant to be marketed with high expectations to begin with! There's a thought.
Get knotted!

P.S. you're all knitwits for getting your hopes up about bloody Perth in our comp! What has the state of WA contributed to our game - one player who plays for Newcastle is it? Yer, WA is steeped in RL tradition!
Will an introduced Western Reds team be made up of SYD and QLD players?
How can a human being from Perth cheer a team made up of interstate players?
It'll be another manufactured team.

dimitri

I'm actually working on a letter right now about this. (sort of) (ít's already sent too.)

I made an error in my piece too.
I went over it a few times and it wasn't until I sent it did I spot the damn error blast it all!

Repeat after me, there's no room for error this day 'n age!

With politics playing its part in Rugby League there's still the lingering debate hanging around about ''some'' Sydney teams in dire financial strife and on the brink of extinction.

What if it's a deliberate ploy by the NRL to out-price us from attending games, at the grounds, so as ''some'' of these Sydney metro teams fall by the wayside and this paves the way for teams awaiting in the lurches like The Bears and Western Reds?

Remember that slogan, 'Making the big game bigger?'
Well, this might be part of their Super League expantion project continuation.

Just look at the V8 super car racing; they get no more than 1400 in attendence each time and it doesn't generate amass amounts of money so how can that sport stay afloat and continue to run circuits without fear if collapse?
Why are the panic buttons not pushed in that sport?
Can we put this to rest and bury it once and for all?

I don't care about behind-closed-doors dealings in the NRL! I only care about the onfield performances, that's all the fan wants to see and hear!
It's incompetence on behalf of the suits in the league's clubs if they're faultering! So it shouldn't affect the players.

Maybe Rugby League wasn't meant to be marketed with high expectations to begin with! There's a thought.
Get knotted!

P.S. you're all knitwits for getting your hopes up about bloody Perth in our comp! What has the state of WA contributed to our game - one player who plays for Newcastle is it? Yer, WA is steeped in RL tradition!
Will an introduced Western Reds team be made up of SYD and QLD players?
How can a human being from Perth cheer a team made up of interstate players?
It'll be another manufactured team.

Daniel Holdsworth
Lee Ta Maari
Corey Patterson
Goodwin brothers
and plenty of others too!

Heaps of Juniors have come through WA system which is why they are the number 3 state behind NSW and QLD

Prodigiousman

Central Coast Bears and either the WA Reds, Adelaide Rams or Southern Orcas (the 2nd NZ Team).

Personally I'd love to see there be some sort of partnership between Perth and Adelaide in any new side with say a 9 home games in Perth, 3 games in Adelaide split. You can argue Perth & Adelaide aren't that close and it'd be unfair for the players to only play '9 home games' and 15 away but the game can't go back to Perth and abandon Adelaide completely. The name may have to go back to the Western Reds but I think it may be somewhat viable at least in the opening seasons of their time in the league - if the Adelaide fans don't embrace them then move exclusively back to Perth after giving it a few seasons to work.

St. Brett

Dimitri Quote ''and many of other players too!'' end quote.

In the words of Maggy Thatcher; NAME THEM! Tell me who they are.

You've listed 5 players so far.
They're mainly forwards.
Wingers.

Your team doesn't even consist of reserves let alone halves and whatnot.
WA and rugby League = .1%.

What a wasted avenue.

Here, I've got an idea....why don't BRS, NZ, MLB, Cowboys, Reds, ADL, Crushers, Gold Coast and the second NZ team f*ck off and start its own comp!
Get this....it's NRL...NSW rugby league! We started this sh*t and you other cums high jacked it! F*ck the lot of you!

dimitri

Central Coast Bears and either the WA Reds, Adelaide Rams or Southern Orcas (the 2nd NZ Team).

Personally I'd love to see there be some sort of partnership between Perth and Adelaide in any new side with say a 9 home games in Perth, 3 games in Adelaide split. You can argue Perth & Adelaide aren't that close and it'd be unfair for the players to only play '9 home games' and 15 away but the game can't go back to Perth and abandon Adelaide completely. The name may have to go back to the Western Reds but I think it may be somewhat viable at least in the opening seasons of their time in the league - if the Adelaide fans don't embrace them then move exclusively back to Perth after giving it a few seasons to work.

The first incarnation of the reds also had years of planning. Whilst the Rams was just a Super League afterthought because they couldnt get Melbourne.

We must have a proper effort for Perth in RL's 3rd biggest state