Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Fergo

Madsharkie

Wouldn't it all hinge on the court case still, in that if he's charged will he be allowed to work in nz? I don't think you need a visa to work there do you, so maybe he'd be ok in nz?

I would think that because the NRL own/run the comp, and sign off on all contracts, they have final say. All teams come under their umbrella so one rule for all is what I'd suspect.
Edit: see cb4's post above

I would think that because the NRL own/run the comp, and sign off on all contracts, they have final say. All teams come under their umbrella so one rule for all is what I'd suspect.
Edit: see cb4's post above

I will hazard a guess as to why that is not the case. Todd Carney is actually banned from Goulbourn by the police. Not sure how that works, or if it is still in force, but was very much the case. So lets say Goulbourn had a NRL team & put a contract in front of the NRL. Wouldnt be ratified.
Now lets say, Fergo gets off his charge, & some kind of order is put in place as to not approach the woman or family or something along the lines of that? Obviously the NRL are going to view a contract with the Sharks as a potential threat, but not so the Warriors.
Anyway, I have been told that Fergo will be sitting out the first half of the season unless he goes to Warriors. i.e.. only in Sydney for 12 weeks of the comp.

I will hazard a guess as to why that is not the case. Todd Carney is actually banned from Goulbourn by the police. Not sure how that works, or if it is still in force, but was very much the case. So lets say Goulbourn had a NRL team & put a contract in front of the NRL. Wouldnt be ratified.
Now lets say, Fergo gets off his charge, & some kind of order is put in place as to not approach the woman or family or something along the lines of that? Obviously the NRL are going to view a contract with the Sharks as a potential threat, but not so the Warriors.
Anyway, I have been told that Fergo will be sitting out the first half of the season unless he goes to Warriors. i.e.. only in Sydney for 12 weeks of the comp.

Todd Carney is a very different case to Fergo's. Its Goulbourn, not Sydney, being the main part
"Lets say", "some kind", "along the lines of that", all make it sound possible, but this is the new NRL.
I hazard a guess that if he gets done, in any form, they will sit him out of all clubs for a while.

Snoop Shark

Just watched the highlights of Fergo. I reckon he did alright. Obviously not boxing fit or ANYTHING fit for that matter. But he went ok I thought.

Credit to Fergo for stepping in the ring.

Technically he was rubbish. He stepped into the ring like someone defending their belt. For the reach he is gifted he certainly doesn't know how to use it to his advantage.

webShark

Credit to Fergo for stepping in the ring.

Technically he was rubbish. He stepped into the ring like someone defending their belt. For the reach he is gifted he certainly doesn't know how to use it to his advantage.

Technically and in reality he is rubbish. The footage of him sparring was laughable. Typical Reefy to come out with some off the planet analysis. The excavator wasn't much better either. Fergo surprised me how bad he was. He has reach and size advantage, nothing to do but train at a decent boxing gym. Put him in with Meninga or Geyer and he wouldn't last a minute. He is also 20 years plus younger.

Made SBW look like Lennox Lewis and he is crap. Watch Jarrod Mcracken v Carlos Spencer if you want to see footy players fight. McCracken was a crack up! Specialised in illegal blows.

Snoop Shark

Technically and in reality he is rubbish. The footage of him sparring was laughable. Typical Reefy to come out with some off the planet analysis. The excavator wasn't much better either. Fergo surprised me how bad he was. He has reach and size advantage, nothing to do but train at a decent boxing gym. Put him in with Meninga or Geyer and he wouldn't last a minute. He is also 20 years plus younger.

Made SBW look like Lennox Lewis and he is crap. Watch Jarrod Mcracken v Carlos Spencer if you want to see footy players fight. McCracken was a crack up! Specialised in illegal blows.

The excavator guy was a brawler not a boxer and he still won so that really says it all. About the sparring you are bang on. Not sure if you seen the footage of Fergo warming up with tony mundine but he was as slow as I've ever seen. At the end of the day he sure is a freak footballer but he can't throw them. This is why pro boxers are sick and tired of all these league/union blokes thinking they can fight. Boxing is a skill.

shaggs

I completely agree with everything snoop had said about fergo and boxing.

My mate was asked to be a sparring partner for fergo. He watched a clip of fergo's pad work with his trainer and they sent a message back saying, they didn't want to spar him they wanted to fight him. Said they would take the fight on a few days notice. They didn't hear back.

Card Shark

On the radio news this morning they were saying that Fergo has received no offers for next year & it's not looking good for his immediate future. Think it was an NRL spokesman that said this.

Yeh right. :lol:

stevie013

On the radio news this morning they were saying that Fergo has received no offers for next year & it's not looking good for his immediate future. Think it was an NRL spokesman that said this.

Yeh right. :lol:

fergo probably hasnt, but i bet his manager has been busy....