Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Flanno's New Signings

Slippery Morris

Saints need to keep the momentum going and now bring in Moale from Souths as the big forward to be the last piece of the puzzle. Cookie, Illias, Su'a, Sele and Moale to complete the Ex-Souths connection.

Actually Cookie has not been in Flanno's ear about him so may not be as good as we think. He is off contract so no 10 day cooling off period.

Dragon David

Saints need to keep the momentum going and now bring in Moale from Souths as the big forward to be the last piece of the puzzle. Cookie, Illias, Su'a, Sele and Moale to complete the Ex-Souths connection.

Actually Cookie has not been in Flanno's ear about him so may not be as good as we think. He is off contract so no 10 day cooling off period.
To me it is a pity that we couldn't land big Royce Hunt from the Sharks. He is a goer almost like Andrew Fifita. I'm sure that Flanno could have got Royce firing.

justadragon

Isn’t it funny that right through when negotiations were on we got to hear how much all these players hated leaving their club. And then when they get here they love it and love the boys and love car pooling, the list goes on. Oh wait a minute, gee we might not be all that bad and hey we have a great proud club and wow the gong or surrounds might not be a bad place to live. Ok please please please please let me say it, could we possibly be starting to look like a destination club. Could we actually have some spirit about us. I actually had a thought about our ex marquee man and his complaints that we couldn’t sign anyone,seems like to me that the reason was our ex marquee man and our other flog what was his name sorry can’t recall it.

56to66

Isn’t it funny that right through when negotiations were on we got to hear how much all these players hated leaving their club. And then when they get here they love it and love the boys and love car pooling, the list goes on. Oh wait a minute, gee we might not be all that bad and hey we have a great proud club and wow the gong or surrounds might not be a bad place to live. Ok please please please please let me say it, could we possibly be starting to look like a destination club. Could we actually have some spirit about us. I actually had a thought about our ex marquee man and his complaints that we couldn’t sign anyone,seems like to me that the reason was our ex marquee man and our other flog what was his name sorry can’t recall it.
Yes Yes Yes, scratched record, without Shane Flanagan, we sign complete nuffings, give the man an extension Now please.

dungay dragon

To me it is a pity that we couldn't land big Royce Hunt from the Sharks. He is a goer almost like Andrew Fifita. I'm sure that Flanno could have got Royce firing.
Dave ,
I believe we are still in the"hunt" , woops sorry , play on words , for Matt Lodge ..
Has a pro fight in the coming weeks and have a feeling Flanno will step things up once that is done.
Hes not keen on players taking pro fights aka Lomax
Bunnies are keen , but also going hard for Bateman , depending on how much Tigers will chip in
Probably the pick of whats left

Dave ,
I believe we are still in the"hunt" , woops sorry , play on words , for Matt Lodge ..
Has a pro fight in the coming weeks and have a feeling Flanno will step things up once that is done.
Hes not keen on players taking pro fights aka Lomax
Bunnies are keen , but also going hard for Bateman , depending on how much Tigers will chip in
Probably the pick of whats left
Plus talk of the Roosters trying to off load Brandon Smith to the Rabbits some time in 2025.
If Bateman and Smith both land at South's, there may not be room for Lodge as well.

TheRev

Dave ,
He hasnt got a 2nd fight does he? His debut fight was Nov 24th, but I reckon the delay is just his manager trying to get him a decent contract.. and/or Souths juggling Batemen.. I have some sympathy for Lodge, feel like hes not being judged on his footy ability.. hes entitled to earn some coin for his hard work on the field.....

saintmar

Yes Yes Yes, scratched record, without Shane Flanagan, we sign complete nuffings, give the man an extension Now please.
If he fails to make the 8, which is barely a pass mark, he should be given the extension wrench back to plumbing.
There is NO more excuses.
He has recruited his team,it’s now time for RESULTS
He is the HEAD coach and the buck now stops with him.
We need to support the team but only RESULTS bring extensions.
Don’t see Penrith supporters or Storm supporters or Roosters supporters making excuses every year.Their coaches got results and won the competition after their first year.
It’s time we demand the same success.I’m sick of our supporters on here accepting mediocrity and making excuses that we are getting good results given the circumstances and yarda yarda.That is all BULLSHIT.
Fancy giving someone an extension based on where we landed in 24 or after a few rounds of 25.
‘We wait till the end of the year and see where we land.
If he gets courted by another team and leaves then he obviously doesn’t believe in what he is doing here,so why waste time with him.He needs to set himself the goal of top 4 minimum and go from there.
The ball is now well and truly in Flanos court on the length of tenure he will be coaching us.
Good leaders set the bar high for themselves and he should do the same and we should DEMAND no less.

Auntie.Gerald

In this interview Flano alluded to a couple more signings to come ie sounded more like 2026 signings ie Atkinson

It wasn’t clear but he then went onto say not in a hurry for then last spot in our 30 which made me think the couple more signings are more about 2026

st.phil

If he fails to make the 8, which is barely a pass mark, he should be given the extension wrench back to plumbing.
Don’t see Penrith supporters or Storm supporters or Roosters supporters making excuses every year.Their coaches got results and won the competition after their first year.
It’s time we demand the same success.I’m sick of our supporters on here accepting mediocrity and making excuses that we are getting good results given the circumstances and yarda yarda.That is all BULLSHIT.
Fancy giving someone an extension based on where we landed in 24 or after a few rounds of 25.
If he gets courted by another team and leaves then he obviously doesn’t believe in what he is doing here,so why waste time with him.He needs to set himself the goal of top 4 minimum and go from there.
The ball is now well and truly in Flanos court on the length of tenure he will be coaching us.
Good leaders set the bar high for themselves and he should do the same and we should DEMAND no less.
Huh?

CronullaSaint

I would not call it "recruited his team". He has come closer, that's about it.

KogarahWarrior

2 seasons after we had the worst roster in the NRL and you think he should get sacked if we don't make the 8? He hasn't even got the team he wants yet and has already made huge strides.

saintmar

2 seasons after we had the worst roster in the NRL and you think he should get sacked if we don't make the 8? He hasn't even got the team he wants yet and has already made huge strides.
Not sure what strides you are referring to?
We finished 11th with a pd of minus over 100
The strides will be determined by what results we get on the field this season
Are you suggesting you don’t think we will make the 8?
Remember the 8 is simply saying we are only better than half the comp.
So if we can’t even expect to make the 8 how crap is that and we have to give some one an extension.
Lets get serious,results bring rewards and only results.
As I said the Roosters Panthers and Storm coaches won the comp or made the grand final in their second year.
Thats the type of success we should demand.
Expecting a little bit better and measuring expected success against the previous coaches results is a sad state of our mental scaring that has left us with such low expectations.
I believe Flano himself should consider anything less than a top 6 to get a home semi as a complete failure.
That’s the minimum standards that should be expected or move on.

And yet we extended Mary multiple times despite his gross incompetence in managing a much better squad

Ronnie Dobbs

Sure. Whatever you say.