Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

FO Kearney

JJ

Well we've given it a fairly decent crack this year, so I think we'd be favourites - we seem to have the wood on the Titans when we play them, but their pack is better than ours, Taylor is a star, and well Hayne is under pressure to prove he's not past it or too much trouble

We've had a cushy draw this year, and yet with the Titans we are clearly the worst side in the NRL at present - hard for use to get the spoon given the Origin period, but the current regime and squad seem very focused

vvvrulz

Man ur all a bunch of h8rz!

Only us tru fans c hw hard the bois are goin an hw much theyre hurtin. I hurt with them, not kick em, Let's see you go out there and play footy lolz. Don't need yous fake fans...

#warriorsforlife #truefan

Rich102

I've had a gutsful.

"Keep the faith", "stick to the process" and "we're trying really hard" - they're just catch phrases to keep Warriors fans blindly walking through the gates in the hope that one day they'll taste success.

No fan wants to give up on their side but like many others, I'm close to the point of no return.

Having been a season ticket holder for nine years and a mad follower of the club since the late 90s I've experienced the highs of a 2011 Grand Final and the lows of missing the top eight for the past six seasons..

It's not the losing that has me pulling my hair out - it's the excuses that come with pitiful performances year after year.

Warriors players often come out saying they're training hard but it's "just not clicking".

Time to cut the crap, Warriors. You look across the ditch to the Melbourne Storm's regime and read through their intense training methods which involves jiu-jitsu and MMA sessions, "shark-bait" techniques and player rating systems which demand discipline and accountability.

Storm players are thrown into the octagon and made to survive gruelling contact drills where you can have up to four players charging at you. The goal - to put all four down to the ground before the next wave of players comes charging at you.

It was also revealed that Storm players are only allowed to return from the off-season no more than 1.5kg heavier than when they left at the end of the year.

And then there's their red and green light rating system. Score 5 or less and you face a confronting barrage of critique and abuse - those players don't tend to last at the Storm. And there is no doubt the majority of the Warriors squad would be out the door.

In startling contrast the Warriors have some players returning out of shape, out on the drink and an everlasting list of excuses.

The simple fact is the players aren't prepared to put the hard yards in. We see that game after game when the middle defence falls apart in the 60th minute. Line speed drops, communication disappears and the will to bleed for the jersey and for the bloke beside you is non-existent. When you mix an inability to be mentally tough, an inept coach and a negative philosophy the final product is a failing club culture.

Former Warriors utility Tui Lolohea's recent alcohol admissions are a prime example of what is wrong with the club.

He revealed he was "overweight, unhappy" and "drank his sorrows" away while at the club, having since turned his fortunes around after making the move to the Wests Tigers.

In recent seasons we've seen the likes of Konrad Hurrell flourish elsewhere and players such as Sam Tomkins and Ben Matulino wanting early releases from their contract. Leaders like Albert Vete, Manu Vatuvei, Sam Lisone, Bodene Thompson, and Matulino were caught up in the energy drink and prescription drug scandal while the Warriors continue to miss the playoffs year after year.

The decline of Roger Tuivasa-Sheck, Issac Luke and Kieran Foran's form is a sad sight for all league fans and the front row stocks for 2018 look abysmal.

Is there any light at the end of the tunnel? It appears not.

As a season ticket holder, I have one question for the club - Why should myself and thousands of fans renew our season passes to support a club in limbo?

If All Blacks fans can demand accountability and success, then Warriors fans can too.

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/league/news/article.cfm?c_id=79&objectid=11914558

Penrose Warrior

Fan rants are generally pretty lame but that one is nigh spot on. Well written.

It hits the nail on the head with the lack of accountability at this hell hole of a club. The Storm perform because if you don't, you're gone. Your standards drop, you're gone. Over here, you're allowed to drop your standards as long as you front the media and pretend like you care, say you're going to be fired up going forward, play a couple of decent games then go back to being half-assed again.

Anyone tell I was speaking directly about Issac Luke in that last part? But it applies to a few others. If people have to live up to standards, the strong ones remain and the weak ones are organically filtered out.

Skinner

Man ur all a bunch of h8rz!

Only us tru fans c hw hard the bois are goin an hw much theyre hurtin. I hurt with them, not kick em, Let's see you go out there and play footy lolz. Don't need yous fake fans...

#warriorsforlife #truefan

Mate, sorry, but that is an idiotic post.....they don't hurt when they pick up the pay check that they don't deserve.

TheDMC

Mate, sorry, but that is an idiotic post.....they don't hurt when they pick up the pay check that they don't deserve.

I think he was copy pasting from the comments section of warriors Facebook page ...taking the piss

vvvrulz

I think he was copy pasting from the comments section of warriors Facebook page ...taking the piss

It was original piss taking, but yes.

Skinz nicely summed up the attitude when scrolling through FB fan posts.

Penrose Warrior

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sport/news/article.cfm?c_id=4&objectid=11915019

I like Budgey, he's never afraid to call it how he sees it - was very critical of the Warriors throughout the season so he can't be accused of being sycophantic (and he's also not a Warriors 'fan' in terms of he supports the Raiders). He's on the sideline at every home game and knows the sport.

Some of that I agree with (having to coach FGers basic skills is a joke, and unfortunately it's reality) but he's on the best of drugs if he thinks the best coaches wouldn't have us in the 8 or 'competitive'. Also uses the example of the Broncos game as one we played enterprising. Against an Origin depleted side, any surprise? That doesn't count. And somehow a pack with Harris/Pulu is going to be better than this year's one, when you remove Ben, Hoffman and Lillyman? Doubt it.

There seems to be some sort of weird belief in some quarters that the coach can't at all be at fault because we've fired 3 in a row. If another shit coach comes along after 3 others, they're still shit. Yes the players and management take blame, but a certain part of our results are our below-par coach. He should never have been appointed and therefore will be sacked unless results get better - and most of us think they won't.

The key thing for me is I think we completed nigh-on the most sets this season, and made the 2nd most errors to Manly, but were bottom 5 in points for. So if he's got us doing those sort of basics, we aren't signing any attacking talent, but we expect to get better? How? Is that going to appear after 12 months?

McGuire is available.

Reckon he would be a good fit, does not take shyte.

He is not a kiwi but, the current owners seem to want to buy the farm back.

Got to be like Brisbane, keep the real good ones (Mannering, Johnson) them top it up with non juniors. Hell Brisbane did not win until they got the NSWelshman, Lazurus. Get a f**king Fijian too.

JJ

Madge would be good I reckon, proven coach as opposed to a turnip