Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

For SBW

[furrycat]

no you don't - the coach can relegate you to park footy just cos he doesn't like you. you as a player can't even get out of the contract and play first grade for someone else if the club doesn't let you. don't tell me it hasn't happened a few times cos it has.

the clubs have all the power and the player has none - unless he ups and leaves for another code.

You're forgetting one thing Mik. If folkes put SBW in park footy during his deal, SBW is still getting paid $400,000 a year regardless... its in his contract. He can be injured, suspended, sleeping or playing park footy, he is still getting paid.

And its a contract- why should the club let you go at the drop of a pin? You sign it and you agree to the terms.

sass

no you don't - the coach can relegate you to park footy just cos he doesn't like you. you as a player can't even get out of the contract and play first grade for someone else if the club doesn't let you. don't tell me it hasn't happened a few times cos it has.

the clubs have all the power and the player has none - unless he ups and leaves for another code.

you don't get it at all do you?

sbw knew what he was getting into.

if you think that whole structure is inherently unfair, then tell me exactly what has sbw now done to fix it?? apart from create a media storm and cost the nrl more money. if his actions 'fix' the nrl and make all the problems he had go away then I shall eat my hat.

his actions only serve one person - and that's him.

[furrycat]

I'm not even talking about loyalty to his club as some special rugby league mojo that has to be observed.

I'm talking about sbw the same way I would talk about any other person who ran out like he did - of any obligations.

his dash is worse though for the fact the he has teammates that he also shafted. that's just tacky.

I agree. as I said I begrudge him for leaving as I have a lot of respect for him, but I do have a big problem with him walking out of a 5 year contract with a club where he was committed too. For the NRL's sake, I hope tomorrow an injunction is imposed or else there will be problems

no name

That is where you sit down with the management of the club and try to work out an arrangement and/or seek a release.

You don't just up and leave and refuse to talk to anyone except that ranga journo.

sass

They don't have to take it to the courts. And shouldn't. The money would be far better spent on junior rugby league, promoting matches and paying players.

what about the money the dogs haave already lost through sponsorship?? whichever course of action the nrl chooses, they lose, and club footy loses.

If any other person wanted to quit their job they have a notice period. RL players don't have any standard way out of their contracts, which they should be entitled to. Maybe that is a failure of the contract that every club uses (created by the NRL) or something. But it is a failure on the NRL players association part for not doing anything in this area.

As far as I'm concerned, the club didn't treat SBW well. If he was playing sh*t and didn't turn up to training, they'd be entitled to rip up his contract. However it is seemingly not okay for him to rip up the contract if the club don't treat him well?

well I can't answer this question without seeing his contract but the short answer is no.

he can leave if they breach the contract he knowingly signed. like if they don't pay him. he can't leave because he has the sh*ts just like he can't leave because he doesn't like folkesy's hair or the new uniforms.

But the player's who get cut don't turn up to training to find out the club has moved and no one told them.

The problem most people have with what he did was the way he went about it.

Did you watch the same interview as i did, he clearly did tell certain players, but asked Danny not to take it further as he did not want to give them up.

mik01

to further proce my point - what about Carney???
he gets sacked by his club, and the nrl also deregister him for good!

where on earth do you get sacked by your company, and then you get barred from the whole industry you specialise in, when there is no legal reason (ie - charges dropped so no guilt can be associated to him)??

if Gallop keeps this crap up attacking players, the nrl are in for more and more defections and possibly stronger action by the players...

the difference is knowing what you're getting into: you go into a contract with your eyes open. you know the number of years, when they can drop you, when you can leave.

sbw signed a contract knowing all that - not for three years, as they offered, but for five years because he requested it - and then decided he Just Didn't Like It.

he will cost the bulldogs and the nrl (and by extension all the other players in the club and the nrl) a fortune in the courts, and screw them for at least the medium term until the case is resolved, because he didn't like what he signed.

I know he's not the sharpest crayon in the box, but are you telling me he doesn't have to follow the same laws as everyone else?

good post.

if the club only offered him 3 years and he wanted 5 yrs then thats another problem for him in court.

thats if he even defends the case

They don't have to take it to the courts. And shouldn't. The money would be far better spent on junior rugby league, promoting matches and paying players.
No, they should take it to court, go after SBW and his associates for costs and damages, and then use the greater sum of money at the end to spend on junior league etc.

Will be the best contribution SBW has made to league in his career.

sass

where on earth do you get sacked by your company, and then you get barred from the whole industry you specialise in, when there is no legal reason (ie - charges dropped so no guilt can be associated to him)??

... because it's in your contract.

do these players not have lawyers or managers?? srsly. pick up your game boys.

[furrycat]

if Gallop keeps this crap up attacking players, the nrl are in for more and more defections and possibly stronger action by the players...

Mate- have you ever worked a job in your life?

YOu sign a contract and there are plenty of businesses who have a "code of conduct", just like the NRL clubs do. Your contract stipulates that you may have your contract terminated if it is deemed you breach this code.

Carney has been charged by the law before. He broke the code of conduct of the club on more than one occasion. You seriously cannot be defending him and saying the club screwed him over by sacking him. He had his chance...

Its in their contracts (just like busineses) that if you dont adhere to business codes and policies, you will be sacked.

there are clauses in your contract about unacceptable behaviour.

what the raiders are doing is legal.

what SBW did was not, and hell suffer in court for that

eastsrule

what about the money the dogs haave already lost through sponsorship?? whichever course of action the nrl chooses, they lose, and club footy loses.

It is the Bulldogs fault that he walked out. Simple. I'm not talking about money either.

If they treated SBW better and took him more seriously, he wouldn't have been unhappy there and wouldn't have left. He is not a piece of meat to be used for sponsorship etc.

he can leave if they breach the contract he knowingly signed. like if they don't pay him. he can't leave because he has the sh*ts just like he can't leave because he doesn't like folkesy's hair or the new uniforms.

Of course he'd be in a better position if the Bulldogs breached the contract.

But he felt that the contract was not good enough for him. Maybe it was the wrong thing to do. But I believe that he will get away with this and I doubt that this kind of thing wasn't looked into by lawyers etc before it happened. Good on him for playing the system I guess.

As I said. The only people that should feel hard done by are his teammates who deserved foreknowledge.

no name

Did you watch the same interview as i did, he clearly did tell certain players, but asked Danny not to take it further as he did not want to give them up.

I'm talking about the management of the club.
When a player gets cut the management sit the player down and tell them.

mik01

That is where you sit down with the management of the club and try to work out an arrangement and/or seek a release.

You don't just up and leave and refuse to talk to anyone except that ranga journo.

what do you reckon he did mate?

he wanted out ages ago - and he told them.
or he wanted better conditions

what do you reckon they told him?

eastsrule

Exactly. I was going to bring up the Carney example.

I believe there is other things that could have been done to fix up Carney's act than to kick him out of the club and de-register him.

It is situations like this that create SBW-like scenarios.