Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Former Panthers in the NRL

Luke Bowden

When he sooked and played like shit all 2017 for the Sharks. In fact his best game for them in 2 years was this years semi

He didn’t play like shit the entire 2017 season, that is a massive reach. He only started playing like poorly after he couldn’t work with Flanno any longer.

Wookies&Cream

I think we are weaker as a squad than last year but if the top 17 stays on the field who knows.

For them if anyone but Moylan is fullback they will struggle. Holmes did everything.
100%
They're heaps weaker, even with depth they're fried. What are you going to do with 3 halves and no fullback? Square peg into a round hole? Seems as though they've spent the money for the sake of spending it instead of trying to nab a fullback. Then burnt their bridge with Holmes by talking shit about him. For a professional organisation they are f**king clueless

mxlegend99

100%
They're heaps weaker, even with depth they're fried. What are you going to do with 3 halves and no fullback? Square peg into a round hole? Seems as though they've spent the money for the sake of spending it instead of trying to nab a fullback. Then burnt their bridge with Holmes by talking shit about him. For a professional organisation they are f**king clueless
They're just trying to emulate us.

Buy all our players. Copy how Gus acts.

They have 2 decent fullback options between Dugan and Moylan. Neither is going to be as good as Holmes. But a spine with Dugan/Moylan, Johnson, Townsend and Brailey isn't too shabby.

Honestly their bigger issue is if Paul Gallen stays fit and keeps killing attacking momentum. They have not been as weakened as we have. But at full strength we're both better pff then we were for most of 2018 anyway.

Wookies&Cream

They have 2 decent fullback options between Dugan and Moylan. Neither is going to be as good as Holmes. But a spine with Dugan/Moylan, Johnson, Townsend and Brailey isn't too shabby.

Honestly their bigger issue is if Paul Gallen stays fit and keeps killing attacking momentum. They have not been as weakened as we have. But at full strength we're both better pff then we were for most of 2018 anyway.

I can't wait for Gallen to "win" the biggest loser title this year.
SJ and Moylan are both unstoppable when they're on, but getting them both firing consistently will be the make or break of the Sharks season. For mine, it's not achievable. The difference between the best and worst for both is too large. You can win a premiership with one inconsistent spine player, but IMO not two (assuming Moylan goes to FB)

franklin2323

We look too far forward.. They look too short term

Crashtest

From the article in the Daily Telegraph, looks like Cartwright might be finally turning his life and attitude around. Came back a couple of weeks early for training, now the 2nd fittest player at the club. And Phil Gould cops a lot of crap, but this is the sort of good stuff he does that goes unnoticed.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/cb7180c1ebd967a6e93256d7836efc57

The Titans couldn’t be happier with Cartwright’s attitude since returning from his off-season break.

“Obviously it’s his performances on the field that everyone wants to see, but he’s fair dinkum flying at the moment,” said coach Garth Brennan.

“It’s the best I’ve seen him since his breakout year at Penrith in 2015.

“He came back two weeks early to train and he’s now the second fittest player in the club behind Nathan Peats.”

The time he spent with Gould back in Sydney has been hugely beneficial.
We spoke on Tuesday to the Panthers general manager about the boom young forward he nurtured through the ranks at the Panthers before his career went horribly off the rails.

“I’ve known the Cartwright family over 40 years and they are very important to me,” Gould said.

“I didn’t like seeing Bryce struggle with his football this year and I didn’t want him feeling he was alone. We sat down and put a plan in place.

“I asked him to keep a diary and I go through it with him once a month. I think it’s great what the Titans are doing in finding him a job during the day.

It gives his life some balance and perspective. It’s easy for someone like me to give advice. Bryce is the one who has to take ownership and make it happen.”

OldPanther

He didn’t play like shit the entire 2017 season, that is a massive reach. He only started playing like poorly after he couldn’t work with Flanno any longer.

He wanted more money. You're putting more spin then Warnie on it by saying he couldn't work with Flanno.

From the article in the Daily Telegraph, looks like Cartwright might be finally turning his life and attitude around. Came back a couple of weeks early for training, now the 2nd fittest player at the club. And Phil Gould cops a lot of crap, but this is the sort of good stuff he does that goes unnoticed.

https://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/s...s/news-story/cb7180c1ebd967a6e93256d7836efc57

The Titans couldn’t be happier with Cartwright’s attitude since returning from his off-season break.

“Obviously it’s his performances on the field that everyone wants to see, but he’s fair dinkum flying at the moment,” said coach Garth Brennan.

“He came back two weeks early to train and he’s now the second fittest player in the club behind Nathan Peats.”

We spoke on Tuesday to the Panthers general manager about the boom young forward he nurtured through the ranks at the Panthers before his career went horribly off the rails.

“I’ve known the Cartwright family over 40 years and they are very important to me,” Gould said.

“I didn’t like seeing Bryce struggle with his football this year and I didn’t want him feeling he was alone. We sat down and put a plan in place.

“I asked him to keep a diary and I go through it with him once a month. I think it’s great what the Titans are doing in finding him a job during the day.

It gives his life some balance and perspective. It’s easy for someone like me to give advice. Bryce is the one who has to take ownership and make it happen.”

That was a nice story.

betcats

If he gets it together Gus will have him at Penrith or the rorts soon enough.

franklin2323

While that article is good.. It begs the question why couldn't he of stayed and Gus worked with him here?

A year off footy or playing lower grades with mates would of done him the world of good

Fangs

While that article is good.. It begs the question why couldn't he of stayed and Gus worked with him here?

A year off footy or playing lower grades with mates would of done him the world of good

I believe it had something to do with a former member of our esteemed staff. One A.Griffin.

No wait, that is too obvious...Anthony G.

Crashtest

Thats a good question, especially considering he ended up in reserve grade anyway at the Titans.

Maybe the rumours of threats and harrasment were more than just rumours and he did need to move out of the area.

Luke Bowden

He wanted more money. You're putting more spin then Warnie on it by saying he couldn't work with Flanno.

He had multiple blow ups with Flanno, Including one which ended with him saying “I can’t work like this any longer”.

That’s pretty clear dude.

Crashtest

It's a very nice thing for Gus to do but he shouldn't be helping opposition players

He has said previously that some things are more important than football, so he probably feels this is one of those occasions. He is quoted in the article that he has known the Cartwright family for 40 years, so would of known Bryce since he was born. So it’s understandable why he would want to help him if Bryce reached out to him.

franklin2323

I believe it had something to do with a former member of our esteemed staff. One A.Griffin.

No wait, that is too obvious...Anthony G.

Who Gus has stated he was seeing him through issues. So if you effectively have a coach on probition why would you take his side over someone you clearly think highly of. As Gus does with Bryce?

franklin2323

Thats a good question, especially considering he ended up in reserve grade anyway at the Titans.

Maybe the rumours of threats and harrasment were more than just rumours and he did need to move out of the area.

Maybe so but GC is only an hour flight. Not that hard to find him up there. The whole thing was handled poorly