Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

taipan

NRL has been crystal clear, no expansion as the current clubs are such basket cases. Yours would be up among the top of that list with on and off field dramas and multi million $ annual losses since forever. Your development still hasn't got you break even yet and if it wasn't for a pizza guy, a director and the NRL giving out money like confetti you'd be back in hock to the banks big time. If your accounts this year don't show break even with the development cash, the NRL advance and a GF win then there is little hope for you.

But anyway back to future stadiums lol

1402146848993.jpg

Brilliant.You are only confirming my comments as to why we haven't expanded wow.
Do any major developments break even straight away FFS?
You obviously have zero idea about additional development plans at the site, now before the Dept of Planning and Environment. Let's put it this way, currently the club relies less on poker machine revenue than do other Sydney clubs,
A few years down the line, the club will leave most for dead ,refurbished leagues club, retail complex with large rental income,130% of salary cap in grants,own ground no rent only maintenance, recycled water used thus minimising costs.Already all sponsors boxes are sold.
Keep up your assumptions about the future.I'd be more concerned about your state economy and unemployment, before bagging Sydney clubs.
I could't care if it was the local SP bookie who paid the debt.The interest bill is far less than prior.Any money the NRL has provided the club re legals etc ,has to be, and is being repaid.Just like the $6.5m Dragons loan and the Tigers.The NRL giving out money like confetti,I thought you didn't have a clue, now you've convinced me.

Well I doubt you will break even ,judging by your crowds to date, bearing in mind the NRL would be paying your flights every 2nd week and you pay rent.

And if it wasn't for you guys joining SL,you may still have a team, same hypothetical.Check your own backyard champ.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I am admittedly ignorant to the Sydney landscape but does anyone that knows, think that a redeveloped ANZ and Parra stadium will really help boost crowds in Sydney? It would be nice to have Brisbane size crowds at least once a week in Sydney for a big match

One of the big benefits i see in having centralised stadiums is that, with 4 teams sharing a ground, it will become easier for fans to get to away games and more common for fans to turn up to games as neutrals...

At the moment, its dodgy as f*ck to try to get to a stadium you have never been to. If, on the other hand, you have weekly games at the same ground it is easier to get people into a routine and fans dont need to worry about figuring out the labyrinth of Sydney traffic every other saturday.

Reciprocal membership agreement opportunities
Better experience and atmosphere (at the WS stadium anyway)
Fixed ticket pricing at a reasonable level (NRL needs to be lobbying this)

are other potential pluses

King hit

I think it would be good if there was a redevelopment of Belmore and the Bulldogs got to play the majority of their games there. I hear that Brookvale needs some redevelopment as well.

Raiderdave

people insisting that the new WS stadium will take traffic off ANZ are way off

if the Govt is spending 800 mill on a rectangle facility at homebush
it will need content
& it will get it
Souths , Bulldogs will play a majority of their games there
Parra , Tigers , Dragons ... some .. games like good Friday for the eels & tigpies

the spend has to be justified
this notion we need to go elsewhere ..... aint gunna happen

titoelcolombiano

you aren't going to get Brisbane sized crowds as they are 1 team in a city that's population is 2.31 million people

I think the Broncos crowds are not as big as they should be. Let's be honest, the only team in a RL city should be averaging between 40 and 50K every game with many sell-outs during the season. Most of the city is not behind the broncos but do follow other teams in the NRL. Having said that, they average enough for it to look really good on TV and have a great atmosphere at the ground.

I was hoping that's what would happen in Sydney with the new stadia (even if just for one big match a week, any combo of Eels/Dogs/Tigers/Souths/Dragons). A big match of the round that looks good on TV, Has great atmosphere and we start to generate 'must attend' events in Sydney each week for the casual sports fan.

titoelcolombiano

If new Parramatta stadium looks as good as pictures, and Anz gets closed for 2 years while being re-purposed

I'd expect Dogs and Tigers and eels to all use it for home games

With a modern all seat 30k stadium having maybe up to 36 games in a season .. I reckon dogs and tigers will struggle to move away from it .. even when anz is done

Nice! I hope they go close to filling it every week no matter which combo of teams are playing. They don't need to average what the Broncos do just start to create some atmosphere both at the ground and on TV so that NRL games become more appealing to attend for the casual sports fans.

I think the Broncos crowds are not as big as they should be. Let's be honest, the only team in a RL city should be averaging between 40 and 50K every game with many sell-outs during the season. Most of the city is not behind the broncos but do follow other teams in the NRL. Having said that, they average enough for it to look really good on TV and have a great atmosphere at the ground.

I was hoping that's what would happen in Sydney with the new stadia (even if just for one big match a week, any combo of Eels/Dogs/Tigers/Souths/Dragons). A big match of the round that looks good on TV, Has great atmosphere and we start to generate 'must attend' events in Sydney each week for the casual sports fan.

There's a bit of a malaise on RL at the moment.

Sydney teams getting 5000-10000 is not on. But you consider that they are down in numbers, so is Brisbane, so what at the NRL doing about it?

people insisting that the new WS stadium will take traffic off ANZ are way off

if the Govt is spending 800 mill on a rectangle facility at homebush
it will need content
& it will get it
Souths , Bulldogs will play a majority of their games there
Parra , Tigers , Dragons ... some .. games like good Friday for the eels & tigpies

the spend has to be justified
this notion we need to go elsewhere ..... aint gunna happen

We should be doing what's best for NRL fans and clubs, not what's best for the NSW Govt. Their choice to waste loads of money on a stadium that is already fine for big events, why they would build two stadiums near each other where one is great for club footy and one is (likely to be) sht for club footy, then expect lots of club footy at it is beyond most. In this sense Allianz redevelopment would have at least given two good club footy grounds in different parts of the city.

Much better response would have been to have one big Sunday derby game at ANZ every week as the NRL's commitment and then clubs playing at Allianz and WSS. But of course the clubs didn't want to be dictated to by the NRL of where they should play so we will end up with the usual poor outcomes for fans.

Raiderdave

We should be doing what's best for NRL fans and clubs, not what's best for the NSW Govt. Their choice to waste loads of money on a stadium that is already fine for big events, why they would build two stadiums near each other where one is great for club footy and one is (likely to be) sht for club footy, then expect lots of club footy at it is beyond most. In this sense Allianz redevelopment would have at least given two good club footy grounds in different parts of the city.

Much better response would have been to have one big Sunday derby game at ANZ every week as the NRL's commitment and then clubs playing at Allianz and WSS. But of course the clubs didn't want to be dictated to by the NRL of where they should play so we will end up with the usual poor outcomes for fans.

yeah well

that aint what we're doing
so get used to the idea.....

ANZ II is going to see a lot of club football
end of

taipan

and it'll still be sht, probably, and do little to address the crowd issue.

Well perhaps we give it time, with a new upgraded ANZ with decent cover and rectangular mode, and better scheduling control.
Whining about what may or may not happen, is
whining for the sake of whining.

We continually complain about the ANZ stadium as being the pits, fair enough.That is being rectified, let's give it a go.I believe it will bring in better crowds with better scheduling.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

I think it would be good if there was a redevelopment of Belmore and the Bulldogs got to play the majority of their games there. I hear that Brookvale needs some redevelopment as well.

Why dont we ask for the government to build trains running from every backyard in sydney to Brooky and Belmore so everyone can get to the game...

Seems about as likely.

Well perhaps we give it time, with a new upgraded ANZ with decent cover and rectangular mode, and better scheduling control.
Whining about what may or may not happen, is
whining for the sake of whining.

We continually complain about the ANZ stadium as being the pits, fair enough.That is being rectified, let's give it a go.I believe it will bring in better crowds with better scheduling.

My poor experiences of anz had nothing to do with the rake of the seats. It was so empty I could sit as close as I liked. Be very interested to see if the curtaining idea actually creates a more intimate stadium with a better atmosphere, if it doesn't then it will still feel a desolate spot that will not be appealing to fans to attend.

Scheduling won't make much difference unless they give the plum time spots to the tenant clubs and I can see the uproar from other clubs if that happens.

Why dont we ask for the government to build trains running from every backyard in sydney to Brooky and Belmore so everyone can get to the game...

Seems about as likely.

When WA govt decided to upgrade nib they bought a long term lease from the council who owned it. Not inconceivable that could happen in Sydney but it is hghly unlikely the nsw govt is going to spend hundreds of millions on suburban groundswith one tenant.

Raiderdave

My poor experiences of anz had nothing to do with the rake of the seats. It was so empty I could sit as close as I liked. Be very interested to see if the curtaining idea actually creates a more intimate stadium with a better atmosphere, if it doesn't then it will still feel a desolate spot that will not be appealing to fans to attend.

Scheduling won't make much difference unless they give the plum time spots to the tenant clubs and I can see the uproar from other clubs if that happens.

you can sit a couple of rows from the fence behind the goal posts & still be 30 metres from the deadball line plus too low to see any play unfold
so yeah , the rake & position of the stands is a problem.

the NRL will control the schedule from 2018
you won't see Parramatta V the Bulldogs on a Thursday night at ANZ ( like we're having in a few weeks ) in front of barely 20K
instead it'll be a Saturday night or Sunday arvo instead with 35K watching

so again
yeah, better scheduling will help!!

There comes a point when:

The NRL puts their hand in it's pocket and pay for grounds. They also need to address the lack of crowd, hence lack of revenue issue.

The clubs put their hands in their pockets and pay for their grounds. They also need to address the lack of crowd, hence lack of revenue issue.

The tax and rate payers say enough is enough. How many stadiums do you want in Sydney?