Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

It’s kept Fitzsimons quiet, at least in the short term. I’m reserving judgment for when the novelty wears off. If we get around 20k+ for most club games, then the game has a good foundation to resume stadia talks.

The upcoming season for Sydney FC will be our first look at what may happen week to week.

The NRL will get higher than them but it will be interesting to see what they get in summer once the novelty has worn off for their fans.

T-Boon

Another sell out for the white elephant on Saturday.

So in 5 fixtures we have 42k (opener), 38k (wallabies), 26k (matildas in a friendly on a tuesday), 40k (NRL week 1 finals) and a likely 38k for this week assuming it keeps a few more members away.
You are Ray from Field of Dreams

King-Gutho94

The upcoming season for Sydney FC will be our first look at what may happen week to week.

The NRL will get higher than them but it will be interesting to see what they get in summer once the novelty has worn off for their fans.
The Western Sydney wanderers are lucky to get 10k to a game these days. Barely got to 20k unless it's a derby since moving back to commbank 3 years ago.

All the bandwagon have jumped off.

Wb1234

I think Sydney fc will be averaging around 12k tops

soccer crowds have fallen off a cliff and after a few novelty games it will crash

I think Sydney fc will be averaging around 12k tops

soccer crowds have fallen off a cliff and after a few novelty games it will crash

Yeah but it's contextual. If they average that is probably a good result for an a-league side and we can say the stadium is having a lasting effect.

The Western Sydney wanderers are lucky to get 10k to a game these days. Barely got to 20k unless it's a derby since moving back to commbank 3 years ago.

All the bandwagon have jumped off.

Mate, I'm surprised at such a naive comment from you.
You have to take into account that they haven't made the top 6 for 6 years in a competition of beforehand, 10 teams, and then 12. They have been trash!!
All teams' fans drop off in periods of lack of success. Look at the Bulldogs and Wests Tigers. Two clubs that have very large fan bases but where have their fans disappeared to?
It was actually the success of the Wanderers that "assisted" in getting Parramatta Stadium rebuilt.
They ensured that there were 2 teams (including Parra) offering 12 months use of the stadium.

King-Gutho94

Mate, I'm surprised at such a naive comment from you.
You have to take into account that they haven't made the top 6 for 6 years in a competition of beforehand, 10 teams, and then 12. They have been trash!!
All teams' fans drop off in periods of lack of success. Look at the Bulldogs and Wests Tigers. Two clubs that have very large fan bases but where have their fans disappeared to?
It was actually the success of the Wanderers that "assisted" in getting Parramatta Stadium rebuilt.
They ensured that there were 2 teams (including Parra) offering 12 months use of the stadium.
I agree without the wanderers there isn't a new stadium in parramatta.

I have just been surprised at the huge drop off with crowds at wanderers games have been considering at the start of there existence it was the hottest ticket in town.

Yes I suppose you can put it down to performance.

I only went to 3 games last year as a mate whose family have season tickets couldn't go so I went with him.

All 3 games barely had 6-7k & even the corporates look empty on the other side.

jim_57

Locking in a game at Allianz every Sunday and running promotions to get a crowd there would be good. Alternate between Roosters, Souths and Dragons (3 games) as the home team, maybe Sharks or Manly here and there if they’re interested.

Use reciprocal member rights for all clubs involved, kids in free, food/drink trucks setup outside the stadium with decent food & beer options, that sort of thing. Aim for 20k minimum each week.

Wb1234

Locking in a game at Allianz every Sunday and running promotions to get a crowd there would be good. Alternate between Roosters, Souths and Dragons (3 games) as the home team, maybe Sharks or Manly here and there if they’re interested.

Use reciprocal member rights for all clubs involved, kids in free, food/drink trucks setup outside the stadium with decent food & beer options, that sort of thing. Aim for 20k minimum each week.
Yep this would be brilliant

Iamback

Who is going to pay for the away members to attend?

Wb1234

Who is going to pay for the away members to attend?
Nobody the home club just gets no revenue

the advantage is their members get free entry to the reciprocal game at allianz

they used to do this at accor quite successfully.

it makes season tickets more valuable as essentially it’s another free game included

Iamback

Nobody the home club just gets no revenue

the advantage is their members get free entry to the reciprocal game at allianz

they used to do this at accor quite successfully.

it makes season tickets more valuable as essentially it’s another free game included

Accor was different when they did it. Souffs and Dogs got paid a set amount, Accor required 10k to break even. So the home fans was enough

SFS is a different structure, The rent is higher and it is on a % of ticket sales. So having 10k Dragons fans to a Souffs home game, Only ends up costing Souffs money. Some cases they would lose money

Wb1234

Accor was different when they did it. Souffs and Dogs got paid a set amount, Accor required 10k to break even. So the home fans was enough

SFS is a different structure, The rent is higher and it is on a % of ticket sales. So having 10k Dragons fans to a Souffs home game, Only ends up costing Souffs money. Some cases they would lose money
Good points but I’m sure they could do deals with the stadium operator not to pay rent on those sales

the stadium gets more sales from food and beverage and it’s a big stadium they want to make to look full to enhance its brand

Iamback

Good points but I’m sure they could do deals with the stadium operator not to pay rent on those sales

the stadium gets more sales from food and beverage and it’s a big stadium they want to make to look full to enhance its brand

How much do you reckon Justin Hemmes got paid for the contract there?

Then there is this

“You’re talking very different businesses and completely different business models. You can’t compare Dan Murphy’s to an operation at the stadium.”

The hospitality giant, a veteran of hospitality for more than three decades, pointed out that the cost of a Tooheys New beer was only a dollar more than most Sydney pubs.

He also noted that price didn’t deter footy fans, with the premium $13.40 beer being the best-selling choice “by far” for the stadium’s first three matches.

The owner of an estimated 70 pubs said he employed 1000 staff to run the 14 hospitality stalls at the stadium for two to three hours.

The “incredibly expensive” cost of operations currently outweighs the profit, according to Mr Hemmes.

“To put on the entertainment, to put on the food, to put on the beverages and everything that goes into it, it is one of the most expensive hospitality businesses to run,” he said.

“We can’t lose money because then we’re not even there to sell (food and beverages).”

So I can't see that being possible

Wb1234

How much do you reckon Justin Hemmes got paid for the contract there?

Then there is this

“You’re talking very different businesses and completely different business models. You can’t compare Dan Murphy’s to an operation at the stadium.”

The hospitality giant, a veteran of hospitality for more than three decades, pointed out that the cost of a Tooheys New beer was only a dollar more than most Sydney pubs.

He also noted that price didn’t deter footy fans, with the premium $13.40 beer being the best-selling choice “by far” for the stadium’s first three matches.

The owner of an estimated 70 pubs said he employed 1000 staff to run the 14 hospitality stalls at the stadium for two to three hours.

The “incredibly expensive” cost of operations currently outweighs the profit, according to Mr Hemmes.

“To put on the entertainment, to put on the food, to put on the beverages and everything that goes into it, it is one of the most expensive hospitality businesses to run,” he said.

“We can’t lose money because then we’re not even there to sell (food and beverages).”

So I can't see that being possible
I meant the nsw govt I worded it poorly