Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

The Great Dane

Pretty positive article

looks like Bruce is getting significant upgrades or a new rebuild

is exhibition park a good alternative location.
Way to say you're not from Canberra without actually saying you're not from Canberra lol.

Sad to say that there's very little positive about that article, and only mugs and partisans would tell you otherwise.

Wb1234

Way to say you're not from Canberra without actually saying you're not from Canberra lol.

Sad to say that there's very little positive about that article, and only mugs and partisans would tell you otherwise.
Not a fan of a rebuild but a new build anywhere is fantastic

the article explains why civic isn’t feasible

as long as it’s roofed and has good corporate facilities the location isn’t as bad as you make out

SpaceMonkey

There're plenty of other realistic options, it's just that the government doesn't want those explored for political reasons and the people advocating for the stadium are incompetent. They've wasted the better part of a decade flogging the dead horse that is Civic instead of coming up with, and advocating for, alternatives.

Woden would have been perfect, but they left it so long that all the space there has being developed over as well, and now they're doing the same in the other town centres. You could build the stadium in any of Belco (probably no room there now either TBF), Gungahlin, or Tuggeranong, and it'd be a significantly better outcome than either Bruce or EPIC, and that's without even considering other parts of the city where you could fit a stadium.

BTW, one of the major reasons you'd build a roof is too attract arena shows and larger concerts, and both of those need to be able to control the light in the venue, building a clear roof completely defeats the purpose of that. Canberra can also get up to and over 40°C during summer, which would make using a stadium with a clear roof very uncomfortable to say the least.
True points. Problem is the alternative is a retractable roof and they are super expensive and a bastard to engineer.

taipan

Knowing crack a Barr as many do , I doubt he would push for a covered Bruce stadium because of @ Cost factor to make him look a monetary constrained politician and b) because of his love for the fumble ball.
He should have by now realised the rectangular sporting codes are the more popular in his electorate and that's where the money should be prioritised.

Are people really so soft these days they need a roof at a footy game? Just a fully enclosed 4 sided stadium with decent stand roofs that have a dripline beyond the front seats is surely enough?

Vibing

Knowing crack a Barr as many do , I doubt he would push for a covered Bruce stadium because of @ Cost factor to make him look a monetary constrained politician and b) because of his love for the fumble ball.
He should have by now realised the rectangular sporting codes are the more popular in his electorate and that's where the money should be prioritised.
A roof over the present Bruce stadium wouldn't be feasible , it'd cost less to tear it down & erect a new indoor venue ..but this needs to be built adjacent to the existing stadium , & there is plenty or room in the precinct to do this.

The Great Dane

Not a fan of a rebuild but a new build anywhere is fantastic

the article explains why civic isn’t feasible

as long as it’s roofed and has good corporate facilities the location isn’t as bad as you make out
If you talk to people their main concerns about the current stadium are that there's nothing to do around Bruce, i.e. the location, and the lack of coverage from the elements in the stadium. You can build a stadium with reasonable coverage from the elements anywhere, but the location is what it is, and nothing you, I, or the government, do is going to suddenly turn Bruce into an bustling entertainment quarter with strong public transport links from all over the city.

Simply building an enclosed stadium at Bruce would draw a couple thousand more on average than you're getting now, but it's expensive, fails to address a bunch of the major issues with the current stadium, and creates a shit ton of other issues in the process. Sacrificing the enclosed stadium to build a decent modern stadium with good coverage over the stands in a better location would draw significantly more on average.

Honestly, effectively copying and pasting Parra or AAMI and dropping it into any one of the town centres would more than meet the city's needs.

There're locations other than Civic in the city that meet those criteria as well, so it's a false a dichotomy to suggest that it's choice between either Civic or Bruce.

The Great Dane

shut up fool
He's not really wrong though...

Bruce Stadium's biggest problems are that there's only coverage over roughly 2k seats in a 25k stadium, and that it's designed like a giant wind tunnel.

In an ideal world it'd be nice to have, but you don't need an expensive dome to fix those issues. Just enclosing the ends and building coverage over the seats with a half decent dripline would pretty much solve most of those issues.

Vibing

He's not really wrong though...

Bruce Stadium's biggest problems are that there's only coverage over roughly 2k seats in a 25k stadium, and that it's designed like a giant wind tunnel.

In an ideal world it'd be nice to have, but you don't need an expensive dome to fix those issues. Just enclosing the ends and building coverage over the seats with a half decent dripline would pretty much solve most of those issues.
hes a wanker
end of

The Great Dane

True points. Problem is the alternative is a retractable roof and they are super expensive and a bastard to engineer.
Sure, but you're better not doing something at all if you can't do it properly, and that's basically where we're at with the roof in Canberra at this point.

AlwaysGreen

Are people really so soft these days they need a roof at a footy game? Just a fully enclosed 4 sided stadium with decent stand roofs that have a dripline beyond the front seats is surely enough?
Speaking of drips, the biggest whinger on this site calling people soft. It gets freezing in Canberra in the middle of winter and responsible adults rightly don't like taking their kids to sit in a freezing stadium.

Pneuma

Speaking of drips, the biggest whinger on this site calling people soft. It gets freezing in Canberra in the middle of winter and responsible adults rightly don't like taking their kids to sit in a freezing stadium.
Come on mate. A bloke sitting on his fat whinging ass in Perth has a much better idea what it’s like to sit at Bruce Stadium in the middle of winter than locals. By the way I’ve been to Bruce in winter and it’s an ugly experience even for a Tasmanian

The Great Dane

It gets much colder in a lot of other places that don't have enclosed stadiums and do just fine.

Windchill is the biggest problem at Bruce anyway, and you don't need an enclosed stadium to address that.

The Great Dane

You don't need an enclosed stadium but you can at least wish for it.
At this point an enclosed stadium isn't worth the costs and sacrifices that would have to be made to make it happen, and allowing the perfect to be the enemy of the good has almost completely destroyed the rectangular sports chances of getting a good outcome out of the new stadium.

SpaceMonkey

Sure, but you're better not doing something at all if you can't do it properly, and that's basically where we're at with the roof in Canberra at this point.
Well maybe don’t bother and just build stands with good coverage then- personally I’m not fussed about the cold as long as I stay dry, you can always rug up.

yeh canberras cold, by australian standards, by other parts of the world where they sit and watch sport its not lol. Hard to justify a $300mill roof to get 2k extra people at a game on days the weathers not so great.