Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

Not only do the WA tax payers spend $1.4blll building them a new stadium afl are also getting $100mill for playing there! Nice business if you can get it!!

http://www.9news.com.au/national/20...stadium-burswood-home-of-afl?ocid=Social-WWOS
typical corruption between governments and AFL

i read the other day the AFL wanted money when other sports played there too

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2017/10/18/wa-govt-hopeful-afl-stadium-agreement
The AFL renewed its threat on Saturday to remain at Domain Stadium into next year after the state government rejected its demand to have other sporting codes subsidise any shortfall in income it may suffer by moving to the new facility.

taipan

The way I read it, Ayres 9so called Sports' Minister )who played weekend AFL in Sydney,and his buddy Shepherd on the SCG Trust.
Now what do these two nimrods have in common ,which for them makes sense to retain ANZ in its current shape?AFL naturally,ANZ in its current format suitable for AFL finals,Shepherd once a Swans' man now head of the GWS Gnats,SCG Trust has Swans as its major tenant.
The code that benefits most for a delay in ANZ is AFL.The codes that don't are the NRL and soccer.

Both Greenberg with his Grand final threat, and David um er Gallop with his A league and internationals,should put the screws on the State Govt.
The State Govt should tell Ayres to stop being influenced by his mate Shepherd and the Trust cronies, ignore the clubs using Allianz,simply because ANZ has the far greater number of important tenants.And get on with it.
Bloody red tape is typical of Govts and councils, and the reason Sydney is left behind in terms of transport and sporting infrastructure.We have the largest population of all states, and the sh*tiest infrastructure.
Oh wait we have a $500m desalination plant doing zilch at Kurnell.Polticians should be put on a raft without lifebelts and pushed out into the Pacific.

taipan

typical corruption between governments and AFL

i read the other day the AFL wanted money when other sports played there too

http://www.sbs.com.au/news/article/2017/10/18/wa-govt-hopeful-afl-stadium-agreement

Roy Masters some time ago made the comment in the Snoring Herald,that AFL is the one code in this country that has extracted billions of dollars from State and Federal Govts for new infrastructure
with a minimal outlay.Yet expertly carry on, as though they have made substantial contributions.

And we wonder why the NRL was so backward post 1995 doing likewise?

The State Govt should tell Ayres to stop being influenced by his mate Shepherd

as if

http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/westconne...r-gws-giants-sponsorship-20170405-gvec1b.html

who played weekend AFL
he used to work for the AFL as a development officer

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stuart_Ayres

Ayres graduated in 1999 with a degree in sports business from the Australian College of Physical Education and worked as a development officer for the Australian Football League

mongoose

The way I read it, Ayres 9so called Sports' Minister )who played weekend AFL in Sydney,and his buddy Shepherd on the SCG Trust.
Now what do these two nimrods have in common ,which for them makes sense to retain ANZ in its current shape?AFL naturally,ANZ in its current format suitable for AFL finals,Shepherd once a Swans' man now head of the GWS Gnats,SCG Trust has Swans as its major tenant.
The code that benefits most for a delay in ANZ is AFL.The codes that don't are the NRL and soccer.

Both Greenberg with his Grand final threat, and David um er Gallop with his A league and internationals,should put the screws on the State Govt.
The State Govt should tell Ayres to stop being influenced by his mate Shepherd and the Trust cronies, ignore the clubs using Allianz,simply because ANZ has the far greater number of important tenants.And get on with it.
Bloody red tape is typical of Govts and councils, and the reason Sydney is left behind in terms of transport and sporting infrastructure.We have the largest population of all states, and the sh*tiest infrastructure.
Oh wait we have a $500m desalination plant doing zilch at Kurnell.Polticians should be put on a raft without lifebelts and pushed out into the Pacific.

hit the nail on the head. Reconfigure ANZ and AFL is permanently relegated to a minor code in Sydney (which it is). At the SCG the maximum attendance the AFL can ever achieve is 46k while the rectangular codes would all be able to pull 70k+ for their big event games. AFL would be left out. The AFL won't want anything done to ANZ.

taipan

Yeah forgot about that.Shepherd dislikes rl with a passion.And having Ayres as his partner in "crime" ,i'll bet ANZ remains as is, with seat and cover refurb only.
You know I give all codes a fair go ,until repeat until they via their admin or officials try to screw rugby league or publicly put the code down(hello union and AFL) ,whenever the opportunity arises.It's happened in the past, and continues now.
We need leadership with balls of steel ,to stand up to these clowns and their Govt sycophants.

Yeah forgot about that.Shepherd dislikes rl with a passion.And having Ayres as his partner in "crime" ,i'll bet ANZ remains as is, with seat and cover refurb only.
You know I give all codes a fair go ,until repeat until they via their admin or officials try to screw rugby league or publicly put the code down(hello union and AFL) ,whenever the opportunity arises.It's happened in the past, and continues now.
We need leadership with balls of steel ,to stand up to these clowns and their Govt sycophants.

The only thing I disagree with is the use of quotes around "crime"

The actions of Ayers, Brogden and the SCG trust in the initial Stadia Strategy is nothing short of corruption and embezzlement.

Stormwarrior82

Greenberg has told the nsw premier to her face that, the Nrl deal is dependent on Anz being rebuilt into world class and done first. End of story. That’s balls if you ask me. Either way the decision lands, it’s forces the government into a shit position. They build Allianz first, they will have a hard time winning the nsw 2019 march election. It’s seems the opposition is more accepting of the Nrl.

What makes it hard is rugby league is generally always shown to be the competition to the Afl or Aru. Our bargain power drops dramatically if the afl can convince Aru or trust to side with them and considering we are there competition it wouldnt be that hard. The scg trust just needs the Aru and we are in trouble.

The afl has no horse in this race but want to have one. It’s basically Allianz has 15 Nrl games plus 10ish rugby games and a few soccer games (30). Compared to Anz 40 nrl games plus 6 wanderers and a Aru game here and there (50). Anz is gov owned but hey let’s give the money to the scg trust instead.

taipan

The only thing I disagree with is the use of quotes around "crime"

The actions of Ayers, Brogden and the SCG trust in the initial Stadia Strategy is nothing short of corruption and embezzlement.

Now ,now let's be civil LOL.We know pollies do the right thing and are above reproach.
Brown paper bags anyone???

taipan

Greenberg has told the nsw premier to her face that, the Nrl deal is dependent on Anz being rebuilt into world class and done first. End of story. That’s balls if you ask me. Either way the decision lands, it’s forces the government into a shit position. They build Allianz first, they will have a hard time winning the nsw 2019 march election. It’s seems the opposition is more accepting of the Nrl.

What makes it hard is rugby league is generally always shown to be the competition to the Afl or Aru. Our bargain power drops dramatically if the afl can convince Aru or trust to side with them and considering we are there competition it wouldnt be that hard. The scg trust just needs the Aru and we are in trouble.

The afl has no horse in this race but want to have one. It’s basically Allianz has 15 Nrl games plus 10ish rugby games and a few soccer games (30). Compared to Anz 40 nrl games plus 6 wanderers and a Aru game here and there (50). Anz is gov owned but hey let’s give the money to the scg trust instead.

Agree somewhat, except the AFLs trojan horse is hidden like an SAS soldier, ready to attack at the first opportunity and take advantage of any situation which is to their benefit.
Greenberg agree has stood up to the Govt with the G/F threat.
That's why it's also important Gallop stands alongside Greenberg, to rebuff these weak as p*ss pollies.

There'll be merry hell to play ,if Allianz gets preference.

Stormwarrior82

Agree somewhat, except the AFLs trojan horse is hidden like an SAS soldier, ready to attack at the first opportunity and take advantage of any situation which is to their benefit.
Greenberg agree has stood up to the Govt with the G/F threat.
That's why it's also important Gallop stands alongside Greenberg, to rebuff these weak as p*ss pollies.

There'll be merry hell to play ,if Allianz gets preference.

I agree a little with the Trojan horse example but let’s be honest. Even we can see through the bullshit. Hopefully soon enough our media department can stand up and punch them in the face with actual facts. Not just political spin.

Stormwarrior82

half the media are on the AFL payroll too

It feels that way, however I thinks it’s more that when the afl started there media dept up they recruited a few high level reporters but also had a lot of uni/graduate journalists that as there careers continue, will obviously move into other media organizations. Something that the Nrl will need to do.

not true

journos get punished by the AFL

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/bus...x/news-story/58f6990ac793253487f7489125e12302
Herald Sun v AFL

THE AFL season may be over but the bad blood continues to simmer. A number of tipsters told Diary relations between the AFL and the key footy paper in Melbourne, the Herald Sun, were at an all-time low. That may be a slight exaggeration, but things certainly do not appear to be rosy between the code and the paper.

AFL chief executive Andrew Demetriou's campaign against certain journalists continued through the finals, with some journos from the Hun and this paper losing their accreditation or press box seats and/or being "sent to Coventry" by the boss. At issue remains the contentious Herald Sun reporting of the AFL's "Night of Crisis" piece in June in which Demetriou phoned Essendon boss David Evans ahead of the club's self-reporting of drug inconsistencies. Then there's erroneous gossip about a supposed taped phone row featuring the AFL boss being replayed, to some joy. News Corp Australia's Victorian managing director Peter Blunden said the worst of the blue was over and the relationship was "cordial". "There's always going to be occasional tension, particularly in the toughest year in AFL history," he said. "The way we report things isn't always the way the AFL would like them reported." One reporter in the firing line told Diary it appeared the AFL was shooting the messenger; it only reported revelations about Demetriou's contentious phone call made to ASADA by former Essendon coach James Hird.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...y/news-story/b56c7b557851e7dd4b5a14acb56b7df3

What’s the Buzz: Queensland’s bid to pinch NRL grand final from Sydney

The Daily Telegraph
an hour ago

THE woman who brought boxing superstar Manny Pacquiao to Australia this year is now trying to pinch our NRL grand final.

Queensland sports minister Kate Jones is determined to cash in on Sydney’s stadium wars with a multimillion-dollar bid to take premiership deciders from our Olympic venue to Suncorp Stadium in Brisbane.

Jones’ NSW counterpart, Stuart Ayres, has put at risk a 20-year agreement for Sydney to host grand finals at ANZ Stadium by his failure to sort out the major venue mess.

The signed agreement will become null and void if Ayres gets his way and prioritises a new 45,000-seat stadium for the SCG Trust at Moore Park, which will push back several years the plan to transform ANZ Stadium into one of the world’s great rectangular stadiums.

If Ayres is successful delaying the Olympic stadium works, the grand final will go to the highest bidder from 2020. And this is where the Queensland government steps in.

“We have a proven record of staging big events like Jeff Horn and Manny Pacquiao,” Jones said.

“We have invested $750 million on events since coming in to government. We will take one or even two grand finals.”

Jones is highly critical of how poorly Ayres has handled the stadium funding issue.

“We’re getting very frustrated with the NSW government,” she said. “They’ve been saying all year that they are going to find a solution for their stadiums.

“Yet here we are and they’ve been dithering for 12 months.

“I’ve said to Todd Greenberg Queensland has consistently demonstrated our passionate fans turn up to games in huge numbers throughout the year.”

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal Greenberg, soccer boss David Gallop and the chief executives of the Canterbury Bulldogs, St George Illawarra, Wests Tigers, the Rabbitohs and the Western Sydney Wanderers have written a joint letter to NSW Premier Gladys Berejiklian to support the ANZ redevelopment as a priority.

So, too, has the chief executive of the NSW Business Chamber, Stephen Cartwright, who pointed out Brisbane, Perth and Melbourne were all trying to take major events from Sydney.