Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

The Game Future NRL Stadiums part II

ACTPanthers

I really don't understand why people think this will be a good thing? We can barely get people to home grounds as is, why would less people, in a bigger stadium, be better?

franklin2323

I really don't understand why people think this will be a good thing? We can barely get people to home grounds as is, why would less people, in a bigger stadium, be better?

I go to every Panthers game. Some of my mates don't when they don't it's due to work or personal commitments. These are still there regardless of where the game is played. You still pay $30 to sit behind the posts, Games still at night etc

What sort of crowd do you think you would pull with say Panthers v Sharks at ANZ on a Thursday night?
f**k all
you play couple of seasons there, prove it doesn't work but get the funding.
or it works.
but it wont. its f**king stupid, really. IMO.

If you currently go to 8-10 of the 12, the move to SFS/ANZ probably doesn't impact you that greatly. It probably doesn't impact on the majority in that they will still be able to attend their 8-10 matches at Shark Park.

For those fans that go to all 12 home games there will be an imposition, but I'd reckon it is on a small minority of the average home crowd.

The games at SFS/ANZ may attract other existing fans and maybe some new.

The real problem as I see it is the NRL are rubbish at scheduling fixtures... They'd probably have Sharks v. Titans at SFS on Monday night
all true

it is also true that the NSW tax payer shouldn't have to pay, as Bastard Squad said.

cos the league want to move with the afl model regardless of the cultural differences in NRL fanbase/Sydney

regardless of factors.

franklin2323

The real problem as I see it is the NRL are rubbish at scheduling fixtures... They'd probably have Sharks v. Titans at SFS on Monday night.

Why would a Panthers fan go to say a Sharks v Roosters game? You will see very minimum change. I say a loss actually given how late the Thursday night games start and the 6pm Friday games.

You are right about the schedule. Easter Monday should of had a game on FTA to build up momentum going forward. June Long weekend we have a game in Suncorp and a game at Brookvale both of those games would increase any more then they would of pulled anyway.

Should of been a game at ANZ that weekend

Do you go to every Sharks home game at Shark Park?

If you currently go to 8-10 of the 12, the move to SFS/ANZ probably doesn't impact you that greatly. It probably doesn't impact on the majority in that they will still be able to attend their 8-10 matches at Shark Park.

For those fans that go to all 12 home games there will be an imposition, but I'd reckon it is on a small minority of the average home crowd.

The real problem as I see it is the NRL are rubbish at scheduling fixtures... They'd probably have Sharks v. Titans at SFS on Monday night.
Season ticket holder
So I've paid for all 12 .
If I can't go I give my seat to a mate who can.

As far as I see it, Sharks own their own ground and have every right - in regards to grounds - to tell where the NRL and other clubs can go jump.

Manly, on the hand...

JamesRustle

Why would a Panthers fan go to say a Sharks v Roosters game? You will see very minimum change. I say a loss actually given how late the Thursday night games start and the 6pm Friday games.

You are right about the schedule. Easter Monday should of had a game on FTA to build up momentum going forward. June Long weekend we have a game in Suncorp and a game at Brookvale both of those games would increase any more then they would of pulled anyway.

Should of been a game at ANZ that weekend

No AFL in Melbourne on Good Friday, so put on the Storm. In fact give Storm 3 home games to start the season as AFL only started last week. With AMMI Park not far from the CBD, give them a fairly regular Thur/Fri night game.

Use the Easter show to have games on at ANZ - Change supporter behaviours (i.e. let's go to Easter show and a game).

Stick the Gosford games on a long weekend so holiday makers might go.

Stick games on the Gold Coast during schoolies and provide transport.

I'm a Dragons supporter and initially looked at the draw and shat myself at the round 5-7 games.. but the Dragons should promote a road trip to fans (probably 18-25 and 60+ age groups who might be able to take 2 weeks off). Timing is probably ok as it's school holidays so they might get some travelling families too. Do it every year and market it to your advantage.

Tax payers are going to fund stadiums, but if I was NSW government I would be telling them to maximise the chance of good crowds by getting a capable scheduling unit in place at NRL headquarters.

On your other point.. i was suggesting existing shark fans that live outside the shire might be more able to attend those games.

JamesRustle

Season ticket holder
So I've paid for all 12 .
If I can't go I give my seat to a mate who can.

Fair enough.

A change in game allocations would lead to a change in membership offerings... 10 game heartland package, 2 game Shire escape package and a 12 game package for the died in the wool supporter.

Throw in some reciprocal rights with the 2 game package and have your board nominate the two opponents and game slots, market the hell out of it and hopefully reap some benefits.

While every single second and angle is live in TV they are wasting their time trying to get bums on seats.
As for the next generation
when I was 10 I was nuts for the footy... As we're all the kids my age.
It is on the TV at home now all weekend and my 10 yr old couldn't care less
He rather be digging holes on minecraft while online with his mates.

Probably already discussed , but a few thoughts on Sydney Stadiums

Re Moore park

55k is too big for clubs & too small for the biggest games like origin & the GF. Seems a totally middle of the road proposal , we'd be better off seeing a 40k venue like AAMI Park but with a roof.

I quite like the idea of a major stadium (70k +) in the CBD , but 55k is totally pointless and a waste of money.

ANZ

If they don't want to build a major stadium in the CBD the next best thing is a total refurb of ANZ.

Again a roof is a must with the amount of football this stadium will see , Sydney's rainy period is march through June.

Would love to see a design that somehow creates a 2 stadium feel , a lower bowl with a capacity of 35k for most club games , then upper strands for the bigger games.

Only open upper areas once bottom fully sold , maximise atmosphere.

Parra

Some of the clubs who use ANZ should consider taking their smallest games here. Matches vs the Gold Coast or North Queensald for example.

Possible Penrith stadium

Even as a panthers fan I'm surprised we could get a stadium such as Parra. Parramatta has the distinct advantage of having two permanent tenants , can't see how Penrith can jusitfy a similar stadium.

Don't get me wrong I'd love it for my club but it just doesn't seem to add up.

flamin

I'm a Dragons supporter and initially looked at the draw and shat myself at the round 5-7 games.. but the Dragons should promote a road trip to fans (probably 18-25 and 60+ age groups who might be able to take 2 weeks off). Timing is probably ok as it's school holidays so they might get some travelling families too. Do it every year and market it to your advantage.

The Dragons have done that.
http://www.dragons.com.au/news/2016/03/18/going_on_a_qld_road_.html

unforgiven

We are regional. It's too far to go to games at ANZ. Same reason Manly and Sharks fans won't travel to SFS. Those that say they will clearly haven't taken kids to the footy or in a fantasy land

Too far really? I think you have just been spoilt in having your team play locally.

BlueandGold