Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Gallop likens Storm fans to terrorists!

Show me where I've sooked? I've been spat on, been kicked out of games for retaliating to abuse, and been absolutely hammered in public and in this forum, and for a while there I wasn't going to go to another game in Sydney, then i thought "Ah f**k it", do your worst knuckle draggers, if nobody is hating on you, you're not relevant.

Terrorists FTW, bitches!!!!!!!!!!!

Sounds like you're having a sook right now.

Penrose Warrior

Did you read what you wrote penny warrior.. we just didn`t get booed.. we got spat at,things thrown at us,abused the whole game,kids sworn at and pushed because we dare to wear our jersey proudly. To go to a game to watch your team and get threatened is NO FUN. It is downright scarey..Why should we get villified every week for supporting our team. IT IS ONLY A GAME..

I don't condone any of those things apart from being booed. That is poor form. I saw none of that at the game in Auckland last year, so at least our supporters can hold our heads high. We did chant cheats, which was deserved. Especially when it was us who faced the situation of facing the Storm, in Melbourne, after it all broke.

If it's only a game, why do you continue to make Gallop's life a misery? We were docked points in 2006 and I don't recall Gallop facing any sort of derision when he was here. We cheated, we copped it.

I cannot believe the way some have carried on. I am yet to see one iota of evidence that he called Melbourne Storm fans terrorists. The only plausible explanation that someone believes this, is that you are partially geniused and struggle with the english language.

I see the victim mentality is alive and well in Victoriania.

big_matt

I'm amazed that these gimps like Big Matt and Brutus cant understand how stupid it is to not give a sh*t about the 15 other clubs who you cheated, yet to get manically offended when Gallop makes a comment about the level of passion you have.

I'm quite certain that there were not 14800 Dr Spocks at AAMI stadium. The only thing missing is a brain in your f*cking head Matt!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Where did I say I don't care about the other 15 clubs? And where did I claim we haven't cheated? I fully accepted the penalties we were given by the NRL. So you've just made up total nonsense yet again.

Gallop didn't callStorm fans terrorists. I never claimed he did. But he was in the wrong with his comments. hence being told by his advisors to go on 6 radio interviews the next day to apologise etc. A damage limitation exercise of that size isn't just for the benefit of 'sooky' Storm fans, it was clearly because he's made himself look like an idiot again. Name me another CEO around the world who would bring up terrorism on the 9/11 anniversary whilst trying to describe what they thought of being booed. Go on - name one.

Might be good for you do do what Gallop doesn't and attempt to engage your brain in some way before making another one of your factually incorrect and laughable posts, and everyone would be better off.

LESStar58

Even if that were true, what has that got to do with David Gallop? :?

Mate, there is PLENTY of truth to it. I have friends who are both Sydney-based supporters and traveling supporters who at grounds like Parramatta, Brookie and Leichardt and have been threatened with physical violence to the point where security have had to remove them.

I also have friends who were eyewitness to the deplorable behavior of a group of Eels supporters last year. These "fans" hurled constant abuse at a little boy who was no more than 6 years old to the point where the kid was in tears and his parents, who in turn were threatened with physical abuse when they tried to defend their son, took him home.

And of course, let's not forget the players and the coach. At Brookvale, the players were verbally abused during the warm up (which is fair enough) and some "hero", it was reported, tried to get a shot in on Bellamy who had to be shielded by members of the coaching staff. I guarantee you, in ten years from now when the Big Three and Bellamy are gone, the next crop of superstars at the Storm will still be copping it, even if they were in nappies at the time of the salary cap scandal.

Verbal abuse is one thing (and booing constitutes verbal abuse IMO) but as long as you are capable of copping it sweet in the event the target returns serve with a verbal barrage of his or her own without it becoming personal or physcial, then folks need to their mouths shut. I have copped it (nothing physical, all piss and wind and fairly good humored) on the train from Wollongong to Hurstville from an entire train carriage full of St.George supporters who were all being egged on by MY UNCLE of all people and I was still decent enough to give as good as I got.

The point is, Gallop was only booed. It's pretty harmless to be honest. I doubt he'd by subject to physical abuse on account of being unpopular but I know plenty of Storm fans have been.

Let's take in to consideration instances of "fan unrest" over the years.There could have been a beer can shower circa Lang Park 1988 or Game 3 of Origin in 2009 (although we'd downgraded tom plastic cups by then). Or perhaps they could have thrown things like Bulldogs supporters at Kogarah in 2009 when they were robbed of a win due to a bad reffing decision and had to be pleaded with to stop by their own players! He could have worn an umbrella on the head from a supporter like Mark Geyer did at Campbelltown one day in the early 90s. Someone might have given him abuse to the point where he challenged his agressor to step out the back of the press box like Stuart Flanagan did with a Roosters supporter at the SFS a few weeks back. Or perhaps someone might have attempted to jump the fence and tackle him like some gobshite Tigepies fan did to a ref at Campbelltown a few years back.

Fortunately, for all the bluff and bluster of the crowd, it didn't manifest to anything drastic on Sunday and I doubt it would have at any ground regardless of circumstances.

Again, if Melbourne win the comp, there will still be plenty of detractors who will come up with every excuse under the sun as to why "the 2011 premiership is tainted", "the team is still built on an illegal foundation", "they must still be cheating the cap" etc. and the abuse will continue in to next season, and maybe the season after that. Will the players give a f**k? Unlikely.

And you don't think it's the same for any fans when they're attending away games. Happens every single week for fans of every club. I've been abused by opposition fans before and I except I will again many more times in the future but I'm not going to blame the CEO of the NRL because of it.

It would seem there are terrorists at all grounds in the NRL, now there's a tele headline!

By the way I do think the CEO has some responsibility to ensure all clubs provide a safe and family friendly environnment for fans to watch the footy at, that's what CEO's are responsible for, the operation of the entire organisation!

Mate, there is PLENTY of truth to it. I have friends who are both Sydney-based supporters and traveling supporters who at grounds like Parramatta, Brookie and Leichardt and have been threatened with physical violence to the point where security have had to remove them.

I also have friends who were eyewitness to the deplorable behavior of a group of Eels supporters last year. These "fans" hurled constant abuse at a little boy who was no more than 6 years old to the point where the kid was in tears and his parents, who in turn were threatened with physical abuse when they tried to defend their son, took him home.

And of course, let's not forget the players and the coach. At Brookvale, the players were verbally abused during the warm up (which is fair enough) and some "hero", it was reported, tried to get a shot in on Bellamy who had to be shielded by members of the coaching staff. I guarantee you, in ten years from now when the Big Three and Bellamy are gone, the next crop of superstars at the Storm will still be copping it, even if they were in nappies at the time of the salary cap scandal.

Verbal abuse is one thing (and booing constitutes verbal abuse IMO) but as long as you are capable of copping it sweet in the event the target returns serve with a verbal barrage of his or her own without it becoming personal or physcial, then folks need to their mouths shut. I have copped it (nothing physical, all piss and wind and fairly good humored) on the train from Wollongong to Hurstville from an entire train carriage full of St.George supporters who were all being egged on by MY UNCLE of all people and I was still decent enough to give as good as I got.

The point is, Gallop was only booed. It's pretty harmless to be honest. I doubt he'd by subject to physical abuse on account of being unpopular but I know plenty of Storm fans have been.

Let's take in to consideration instances of "fan unrest" over the years.There could have been a beer can shower circa Lang Park 1988 or Game 3 of Origin in 2009 (although we'd downgraded tom plastic cups by then). Or perhaps they could have thrown things like Bulldogs supporters at Kogarah in 2009 when they were robbed of a win due to a bad reffing decision and had to be pleaded with to stop by their own players! He could have worn an umbrella on the head from a supporter like Mark Geyer did at Campbelltown one day in the early 90s. Someone might have given him abuse to the point where he challenged his agressor to step out the back of the press box like Stuart Flanagan did with a Roosters supporter at the SFS a few weeks back. Or perhaps someone might have attempted to jump the fence and tackle him like some gobshite Tigepies fan did to a ref at Campbelltown a few years back.

Fortunately, for all the bluff and bluster of the crowd, it didn't manifest to anything drastic on Sunday and I doubt it would have at any ground regardless of circumstances.

Again, if Melbourne win the comp, there will still be plenty of detractors who will come up with every excuse under the sun as to why "the 2011 premiership is tainted", "the team is still built on an illegal foundation", "they must still be cheating the cap" etc. and the abuse will continue in to next season, and maybe the season after that. Will the players give a f**k? Unlikely.

Sounds like Terrorist talk to me.

Parra

What if Gallen had made this idiotic comparison?

What would Gallop have done then?

Fans give it back to each other all the time. Do you think you you're the only club that receives threats of physical violence? I don't think there's a single game I've been to at Penrith Stadium where I haven't witnessed a fight between opposition fans and I attend a few games there every year.

The reason Parramatta Stadium removed the hill because fights were breaking out so they changed it to seating only.

I travelled down to Wollongong last weekend to watch the Dragons v Panthers and a fight broke out 10 metres in front of me.

It's not ideal but fans from every club cop it. I've had opposition fans bagging me out all this year because our club has played so s**t all year.

I attended the 2007 prelim between the Storm and the Eels and copped it from a bunch of Storm fans sitting behind me who after the game was just about kept rubbing their mini flags on my head.

The point is every club's fans cop that from time to time so instead of sitting there feeling sorry yourself thinking you're the only victims realise fans of all clubs experience what you're referring to week to week too. And certainly don't think your club's fans are not guilty of the same thing.

LESStar58

Fans give it back to each other all the time. Do you think you you're the only club that receives threats of physical violence? I don't think there's a single game I've been to at Penrith Stadium where I haven't witnessed a fight between opposition fans and I attend a few games there every year.

The reason Parramatta Stadium removed the hill because fights were breaking out so they changed it to seating only.

I travelled down to Wollongong last weekend to watch the Dragons v Panthers and a fight broke out 10 metres in front of me.

It's not ideal but fans from every club cop it. I've had opposition fans bagging me out all this year because our club has played so s**t all year.

I attended the 2007 prelim between the Storm and the Eels and copped it from a bunch of Storm fans sitting behind me who after the game was just about kept rubbing their mini flags on my head.

The point is every club's fans cop that from time to time so instead of sitting there feeling sorry yourself thinking you're the only victims realise fans of all clubs experience what you're referring to week to week too. And certainly don't think your club's fans are not guilty of the same thing.

No need to feel sorry for myself. I don't. But if I'm thicked skinned enough to cop what comes with supporting a team (and based on what you've told me it seems like you are pretty thick skinned yourself) then surely the CEO of an organisation should be thick skinned enough to deal with the baggage that comes with making an unpopular decision. I'm sure Gates, Jobs, Welch et al were not immune to criticism. Hell, look at what Murdoch has had to put up with recently!

Honestly, in all my years of attending Storm games in Melbourne I have never seen anything come to a head physically. I have been to OP with friends who are opposition supporters who, at worst, might cop a friendly ribbing and some niggle but I have NEVER seen an instance at OP or AAMI where anyone has had a blue or been escorted from the ground. That's not to say that it doesn't go on in Melbourne or anywhere else its just that I've never been witness to it..

No need to feel sorry for myself. I don't. But if I'm thicked skinned enough to cop what comes with supporting a team (and based on what you've told me it seems like you are pretty thick skinned yourself) then surely the CEO of an organisation should be thick skinned enough to deal with the baggage that comes with making an unpopular decision. I'm sure Gates, Jobs, Welch et al were not immune to criticism. Hell, look at what Murdoch has had to put up with recently!

Honestly, in all my years of attending Storm games in Melbourne I have never seen anything come to a head physically. I have been to OP with friends who are opposition supporters who, at worst, might cop a friendly ribbing and some niggle but I have NEVER seen an instance at OP or AAMI where anyone has had a blue or been escorted from the ground. That's not to say that it doesn't go on in Melbourne or anywhere else its just that I've never been witness to it..

Fair points. But I think if you could break down Gallop's comments you could see how he's referring to the broader capacity.

What he said is relevent to what you and myself are discussing now. Just because you're passionate about your side doesn't mean you can just punch someone or throw a bottle at someone because you don't agree with someone they say or believe in.

On your last point i'm not that surprised that's the case because there'd be a lack of away fans attending your home games. In Sydney you see brawls and people escorted every week as you get a mix of home and away fans at every game and that's usually how such problems escalate. Todd Greenberg deserves a lot of credit ( and I hate giving credit to the Bulldogs) for making sure they now have the right steps in place for controlling fan behaviour.

sting

Storm fans, if you really don't care what everyone else thinks of you and your despicable club then STFU. We're going to say you're scum regardless, no point wasting everyones time trying to defend the inexcusable.

Cloudsurfer

Storm fans, if you really don't care what everyone else thinks of you and your despicable club then STFU. We're going to say you're scum regardless, no point wasting everyones time trying to defend the inexcusable.

You're getting past your bed time and you want to have the last say?
Most of these threads are all the same - someone wanting the last say..."No, you did! No, you did! No, you did! No, you did! NO! YOU! DID!"

GET THE F**K TO BED YOU KIDS!

typicalfan

Gallop is a moron. He is a CEO of a sporting organisation and he doesn't even know how the sport works!

Without passion RL wouldn't exist, players wouldn't put their body on the line and fans wouldn't give a damn if they did.

His analogy can put most of the RL community in his crosshairs, just because it was in reference to one set of supporters doesn't mean there isn't a wider message.

Lowdown

What a f**kin hero you are...