Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Getting to know you

Johns07

G'Day,
1. Favourite Rugby League - Newcastle Knights
2. Favourtie Other Sporting Teams- NSW Blues
- Victorian Bushrangers
- Liverpool Reds
3.Living - Brisbane (have moved from the great land of newcastle)
4.Sports I participate in - Indoor + outdoor cricket

There ya go,
Cya round

G'day Johns07.
Welcome to the forum.
I hope you and the other Knights supporters are enjoying the week off.
emwink.gif

GirdsIsSexy:)

thnx guys for welcoming me in. After havin asquiz this place comes across as a lot more serious then the footy show site.

Dog - sheesh talk about judging a book by it's cover you think I don't know anything just because I think Girds is hot did I bloody mention I go to all the Panthers home games!!!

Ditto to that GirdsIsSexy.

Yeah, I know it is more serious at the moment. The events which have taken place in the USA has created a element of seriousness everywhere.
Normally, this forum covers a good range of subjects, be it sports related or otherwise.
I look forward to your input and even though the Panthers are out of the comp now, I'd be interested to see want you think of the upcoming games.

There's a thread called something like 'pick the margins'. You may be unable to take the prize but I'll bet that you'll be closer to the mark than most. Give it a go.
emthup.gif

P

pepe

who is your favourite league teams-storm,norths devils and a soft spot for the saints.

other sporting teams i follow-chelsea,collingwood,buffalo bills,new york mets,qld bulls.

where do i live-melbourne presently,raised on the sunshine coast.

activities i take part in-golf most weekends,formerly athletics,cricket,soccer,in my younger days it was running between one training session to another,sport was my way of life,just loved it.

main non sporting activity-i was a movie buff collecting old movie posters and scripts until the kids arrived,now my goal in life is to get 5 minutes of time alone.

other comments about yourself-married to sandra,we have 3 young girls,chelsea 4,ebony 3 and taylah 2 years old.

comments about this forum-rapt to see the old quality posters from worl and the many new faces who are also quality posters,having read much of the post about the terrorist attack on this forum it's almost intimadating the wealth of knowledge on lwos.

a major strength of this site appears we are all on an even playing field,we have members from all different backgrouds and nationalities who bring with thema wealth of knowledge, thanks to legend for creating this site and all the members who have made lwos what it is.

Johns07

Willow,
I am certainly enjoying the weeks break that the Knights have earned.
It should give players such as Tahu and Buderus to finally get their fitness back to normal, well hopefully anyway.
Ive found that since injury Buderus has been very quiet, and not running the ball half as much as he used to.

Im looking forward to just sitting back and watching the games over the weekend and not having to worry about the results. But my opinion is that if we have to play Sharks or Bulldogs, id rather play bulldogs, because they have had the wood over us this season but im positive we can get one back.

Good luck to your Saints against the Broncos.

Cya Later

Johns07,
I hate to disagree with a fellow Knights fan, but I think the week off is all bad.
Bedsy has been quiet since coming back from injury because he is normally one of the hardest working players in the game, and that requires match fitness. Making 30+ tackles a game doesn't leave a lot of petrol in the tank if you haven't been able to run with a leg injury.

I think Tahu is back to peak fitness and I thought he had his best game ever against Easts.

Johns, Parsons, Grief and Hughes all have niggling injuries, so the week off might help them a bit, but all in all I think we will lose a little bit of match fitness which we are very short of. I hope that Hagan has a plan for training.

Johns07

Roopy,
There are both good things and bad things about having a week off, Hagan has said this, and everybody will have their own opinion.
GOOD THINGS- We are through to the Pre lims.
- It is very hard for us to get any injuries now, unless we behave like Brisbane and get 2 every training session.
- Anyone that does have injuries, gets to rest them

BAD THINGS- I agree, match fitness is very important, and we may lack some going into the match which is a worry, but as you would expect, they will train hard all week and have a game like training seesion on saturday night.
- The fact that our momentum may be stopped.

But lets just try to look at the positives such as our defence now. I have been very worried this year but last week we had a pearler and to keep that up would be very worrying for our opposition, knowing of our massive attacking power.

I really dont know who i want to win tonight.
Brisbane Broncos vs St George/Illawarra.
But seeing i unfortunatly live in Brisbane and after the flack i get from time to time, ill wish St George all the luck needed, although i dont think they will need it.

Cya's Round

Dog

Hey GirdsIsSexy:)

Did you only read my first post on the subject?

I later corrected myself and welcomed you. Open your eyes.

Dog

Dog

By the way GIS:), I don't see once where I thought you didn't know anything.

Personally I don't think that about anyone because quite simply, everyone knows alot.

Again open your eyes or I might begin to assume you know nothing.

Dog

Atilla

1.) Who is your favourite Rugby League team(s) ? :- Bulldogs.
2.) Favourite other sport / teams ? :- I enjoy watching the EPL Soccer with Manchester United my favourite team. I don't mind Cricket, but one-dayers mainly. Motor Sport on all levels is fun to watch. Union I can handle some times. NFL I'm just starting to get into. Boxing I love watching and attending. Basketball I can't stand. Tennis puts me to sleep.
3.) Approximately, where do you live ? :- Noosa - North Queensland, Australia, though originally from Sydney.
4.) What other sporting activities / pastimes do you take part in ? :- I did Boxing for about 2 years but decided to quit because I was copping too many beltings. Plus I figured I'd give it up whilst my brain was still in operative mode. I love playing Pool down at the local and play in some pub comps every once in awhile. I now regularly cycle and gym work for overall fitness. I'm just starting to get into Golf.
5.) What's your main non- sporting activity ? :- I'm fascinated with the predator of the sea - sharks. I read about them often, and have a collection of videos which I'm proud of as many I've ordered from o/s. I'm also studying Marine Biology part time at Tech mainly for fun as I'm self-employed as a PI by day and most nights. I like the handyman home projects, although my wife says I'm pretty crap.
6.) Any other other comments about yourself ? :- We're a relatively young family of three just trotting along in life. I was born and bred in Nth Parramatta Sydney, but moved up here about3 years ago, without any regrets whatsoever. Sydney was becoming too violent and crazy for mine and my young families liking. I don't get a lot of free time between my work and part-time studies, but whatever I do is comitted to my family. I'm only just learning how to use aPC and the fun is endless.
7.) Any comments about this Forum ? :- I tried to do this yesterday but noticed the trouble this site was experiencing. I've been reading these pages for about a month now, and finally decided to join. The level of topics addressed along with the imense knowledge that many possess is inspiring for visitors to join and hence learn. I also like the 'homey' feeling, which makes it comfortable for visitors to knock on the front door and be welcomed in. The Greatest Boxer Of All Time thread a week or two back was a pleasure to read. I'm good mates with two other members here. One I lived with for a short time when we moved up here (Brisbane), and the other doesn't seem to post too often any more. I won't be able to post very often because of work and family priorities, but will certainly read these pages regularly as I'm a sponge when it comes to learning. I look forward to commincating with others sometime in the near future.

Thanks- Atilla.

O

ozbash

welcome aboard attila, good to have you on board.
will be great to have another boxing fan in the forum.

Atilla: welcome aboard.
We might have a bit in common. I also left Sydney (another westie) about 3 years back for similar reasons. Got kids and the Gold Coast looked a better option for them.
Also got a keen interest in underwater stuff. Good to have you here...
emthup.gif

Hey guys & gals!!! How are we all? Well I am 15yrs old and I live in Lidcombe and I love the Doggies especially Braith Anasta, because he's heaps good not to mention a honey!!!

I heard about this community at the world of rugby league website and I bookmarked it at the time and then forgot about it but now that I'm on school holidays and bored to the... well I thought I'd come in and have a read.

I must admit I don't know heaps about football, I only started watching it last year because the guy I was going out with at the time made me go to all the games. Maybe I will learn from you guys because you seem to know a lot more about it than I do.

Anyway checks ya's later!!!

L

legend

Welcome aboard Braiths@babe. I hope you can join the chat room we have in operation every Monday and Tuesday evenings starting @ 7pm.

Ok folks.
Anyone who hasn't done so, here's your chance to join the prestigious list of fellow forummers.
As an added incentive, all participants will go intoan end of year draw with the lucky winner receiving a very special LWOS Christmas present....

1.) Who is your favourite Rugby League team(s) ?
Wigan, Wigan Alliance, Wigan Academy

2.) Favourite other sport / teams ?
Cycling
3.) Approximately, where do you live ?
Vichy, central France

4.) What other sporting activities / pastimes do you take part in ?
Cycling, hill-walking

5.) What's your main non- sporting activity ?
renovatingthis pile (house not body!)

6.) Any other other comments about yourself ?
Modest, quietly spoken fair-minded friend to all Australians

7.) Any comments about this forum ?
Quality? I would't join any forum that would have me as a member!

Quantity? seems ok

Easy-of-use? Blame Bill Gates!!!!