Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final Entertainment

Macklemore is pure f**king garbage.

But not as garbage as people getting their panties in a twist over it. If you're going/watching for the footy, why do you care who plays a half arsed two or three song set beforehand?

The dude might make garbage music but (sadly) it's incredibly popular for some reason...deadset I reckon a majority of brow-ridged fans basically want the NRL to wheel out whatever's left of Cold Chisel on their walkers every year to belt out unintelligible version of Khe Sanh and Flame Trees in Barnsey's godawful screech...

Pity and jealousy mixed up, my club has won three times as many comps as yours if we doing the comp measuring contest?
Yeah
I bet my experience was better than all 3 of whoever the f**k team it is you support.

Greatest day ever.

Macklemore is pure f**king garbage.

But not as garbage as people getting their panties in a twist over it. If you're going/watching for the footy, why do you care who plays a half arsed two or three song set beforehand?

The dude might make garbage music but (sadly) it's incredibly popular for some reason...deadset I reckon a majority of brow-ridged fans basically want the NRL to wheel out whatever's left of Cold Chisel on their walkers every year to belt out unintelligible version of Khe Sanh and Flame Trees in Barnsey's godawful screech...

It's trendy.

Violent soho wouldve good too. They've done their dues and are relatively popular/known.

Plus they're big nrl fans.

They could've done Aus music extravaganza now and then things
The dvnies
Smith st
Violent soho
Meanies
You am I
Oils

Would've shit on some seppo who probably calls it rugby.

Fat Tony

The dvnies
Smith st
Violent soho
Meanies
You am I
Oils

I'm assuming Oils is Midnight Oil, if not than i haven't heard of any of those

Mogsheen Jadwat

The dvnies
Smith st
Violent soho
Meanies
You am I
Oils

Could throw in the bennies and king gizzard. Awesome lineup then! I'd go to that festival.

hutch

Everybody has different taste in music. This comes up every year, people whinge that it should be some Aussie band nobodies heard of or an 80's band who had a hit album 30 years ago.

He has some good songs, It will be a good show, enjoy it, or don't. Your favourite band or singer might get a start next year. We an all argue about it then. Moving on.......

Everybody has different taste in music. This comes up every year, people whinge that it should be some Aussie band nobodies heard of or an 80's band who had a hit album 30 years ago.

He has some good songs, It will be a good show, enjoy it, or don't. Your favourite band or singer might get a start next year. We an all argue about it then. Moving on.......
True
But let's be honest here
It the grand final
Not cochella.

A random rapper from the States is not really catering for the rugby league masses.

Should've give those dudes doing the easybeats gig a go.
A bit of fun.

Fat Tony

Really?
Never heard of you am I?
Rings a bell, but i could not name a song.

That's the thing, so many people have different taste in music. The Nrl has so many Indigenous, Polynesian even a decent immigrant following, do you expect them to all know these band? It's best to go with someone who has a broad mainstream appeal and mackelmore fits the bill, even if i don't personally like him

True
But let's be honest here
It the grand final
Not cochella.

A random rapper from the States is not really catering for the rugby league masses.

Should've give those dudes doing the easybeats gig a go.
A bit of fun.

Really?

Given the average RL fan demographic I'd suggest a shitty rapper is definitely catering for the rugby league masses....

Life's Good

Macklemore, sounds like a fish.

I'm just surprised the NRL didn't try to convince James Graham to cover Ed Sheeran songs because, let's face it, apart from a few NO ONE gives a f*ck about the half time entertainment and struggles to remember who did what with the exception of Billy Idol & Optusvision.

Macklemore, sounds like a fish.

I'm just surprised the NRL didn't try to convince James Graham to cover Ed Sheeran songs because, let's face it, apart from a few NO ONE gives a f*ck about the half time entertainment and struggles to remember who did what with the exception of Billy Idol & Optusvision.

Seem to be a lot of people sooking about something no one cares about.

Really?

Given the average RL fan demographic I'd suggest a shitty rapper is definitely catering for the rugby league masses....

I didn't say he was shitty
I said he was random
Which in terms of picking someone to play at a NRL GF ...he is.
Maybe Greenberg got his wires crossed and ordered a Macklemore instead o Fleetwood mac.

Canard

NRL could revive the two dead Beatles and reunite the four, along with Elvis, Michael Jackson and Freddie Mercury and people would still get upset.

I'd be very upset. Spending all the games money on necromancy seems like a massive waste of funds.