Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Grand Final > Storm v Roosters

Saint_JimmyG

Is anyone else on the forum a SCG/SFS Gold Member?

I ask this because following an email I received today (at 4.45pm), it appears the NRL are struggling to flog off seats to the grand final.

In it, SCG/SFS Members can receive discounted seats (up to 30% off) for most categories. Never mind, that only one level (bronze) is anywhere near the stated bonus; it appears the so called ‘jewel’ of the rugby league calendar is struggling to attract fans.

One aspect I found amusing...although unsurprising... is the Chooks supporter bay has yet to sell out. No such problem with the Storm’s corresponding area.

ouryears

Is anyone else on the forum a SCG/SFS Gold Member?

I ask this because following an email I received today (at 4.45pm), it appears the NRL are struggling to flog off seats to the grand final.

In it, SCG/SFS Members can receive discounted seats (up to 30% off) for most categories. Never mind, that only one level (bronze) is anywhere near the stated bonus; it appears the so called ‘jewel’ of the rugby league calendar is struggling to attract fans.

One aspect I found amusing...although unsurprising... is the Chooks supporter bay has yet to sell out. No such problem with the Storm’s corresponding area.
The chooks entire fan base are making their way to the game in their VW beetle.
Rorters don’t deserve any more.

Crush

So who are we going for here lads today?
I'm heading out there with a bunch of blokes and to make the day a bit of fun need to get behind one of these teams I guess.
Think I'll go the Roosters. Hate Jake Friend and Robinson for calling Dragons penalty milking cheats but hate the Queensland Storm more probably. Hope Roosters win and Cam Smith gets taken out by a flying Napa head missile.

Red V for life

I'm heading out there with a bunch of blokes and to make the day a bit of fun need to get behind one of these teams I guess.
Think I'll go the Roosters. Hate Jake Friend and Robinson for calling Dragons penalty milking cheats but hate the Queensland Storm more probably. Hope Roosters win and Cam Smith gets taken out by a flying Napa head missile.
Gotta be the Roosters Crush...i just can’t bring myself to go for the Storm.

I tell you one thing, I hope it is a game to rival the AFL GF yesterday. I am not remotely a fan of the game but one thing is clear...afternoon GFs are the best.

ALSGI

Not enough interest for me to watch it on TV, let along go to it. Had some interest last year becuase of the Cowboys run. I’ll be in bed by the time the Clive Churchill medals awarded.

Night games are a joke, purely for TV ratings. No benefit to most fans of the game. Great way to lose a generation of fans (children). It would be interesting to know how many children went to the AFL GF, how many were family tickets out of the 100,000 people. Either way the NRL’s priorities are with the broadcasters not fans. My neighbours teenage kids are going becuase they were given free tickets yesterday, sounds like plenty of free tickets were given away.

I’ll watch the highlights in the morning, hoping to see Slater, Smith and their newest grub Munster lose, as much as I’ll be hoping to see the Rorters get smashed.

ouryears

Can’t allow myself to even think I hope one of these rorting teams win
Best thing is it sees the back of Slater,
And closer to the day that Smith goes away
I like the skill of both teams......good coaches, but two teams I couldn’t care less about
Purple cheats vs RoRters
Lucky us.......
Should play the game in Darwin

ALSGI

News just in Billy Slater has won the Clive Churchill medal for 2018.
Well done Billy.
Ohh and Roosters won the GF.
Not a bad effort from Billy considering he only played for 15mins before Napa took him out with a shoulder charge.

mickeylane

2 best defensive teams..

Roosters by !
Score 15-14
Churchill Medal - Victor Radley
Then Politis announces SBW to return to Roosetsr next year!

Frank Facer

I backed both of them, Easts last November and Melbourne at the start of the season and before they got beat by us, but Easts are still my best result, so I am going for them. I think Melbourne will win though.

hewi

Hate The Storm, hate the Roosters more for trying to buy a premiership so hope the storm win . Realistically they have the best coach and all round I can’t see them been beaten especially with no Cronk for the Roosters.

Saint_JimmyG

Couldn’t give a toss who wins, but I reckon the Chooks will prevail by 4.

Final score: Chooks 22, Storm 18.

CCM: Ferguson.

dragonssamy61

Wich cheating team to go the
Storm have been cheating for years or the roosters who have no salary cap.
Ok the roosters to win billy to drop the ball for the rooster to win.

Frank Facer

I am a Rooster Booster today. Back in the 80's the hardcore Easts fans who would all sit together with the flags were called The Rooster Boosters.

I remember a semi final in the 87 between Easts and Manly. Saints had our reserves and or 23's in the semi's and my mate and I went to the SCG with our 4 x 4m flags to support our lower grade teams. My mate had a couple of mates from school who were Easts fans, who sat with the Rooster Boosters. After the reserve grade game, my mate and I went up and sat with the Rooster Boosters and when Easts scored a try, we were waving our red and white Saints flags with the Easts flags. They fit right in, as they were only missing the blue. Easts went on to win that day.

I remember a grand final, it was either 86 or 87. We had got there before dawn. In the morning we heard a real rooster crowing. Well an Easts fan smuggled a rooster into the ground and let it go sometime during the day. There were officials and security chasing this rooster for ages. The whole crowd was going for the rooster.

I think the Easts fan who wears the beanie with the things on top that resemble a rooster, is called Ron The Rooster, but don't quote me on it.