Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Greenberg wants 2nd Melb team

The Great Dane

By follow you mean they buy a knock off man iutd shirt from the local market and call themselves a fan? Lol

So no measurable that you can actually prove as a pointer of “success” Your usual BS.

I can tell you one thing that is a fact, NFL didn’t put ten teams in NY because the game is popular there and there is a large population!

You just don't get it do you? The EPL is far more popular than the NFL. Thats it! The universal relevance is massive compared to what you just used as a comparison. That is popularity. And its far more worldwide than anything gridiron can come up with. Then again your world might be restricted to the USA like some of the Americans believe.

Yeah PR despite all the evidence to the contrary the EPL is bigger then the NFL cause the arbiter of everything says so! What more evidence could you possibly want...

F##k me, if you really are a teacher, and you are even slightly representative of the standard of educator that we have in this country, then we as a country are completely f##ked...

Stallion

Yeah PR despite all the evidence to the contrary the EPL is bigger then the NFL cause the arbiter of everything says so! What more evidence could you possibly want...

F##k me, if you really are a teacher, and you are even slightly representative of the standard of educator that we have in this country, then we as a country are completely f##ked...

Stop wasting people's time.
Im being nice by pointing out how out of step you two dudes are! Fancy stating that the American NFL is more popular than England's EPL. I knew you blokes were off the pace but I didn't realise by that much!

The Great Dane

Lol. So you honestly think the EPL is less popular than the American NFL worldwide. If so I suggest you and PR have a few Budweisers together and some hotdogs. Because I can tell based from your previous comments you won't be eating humble pie which is what should be happening!

That's what the data suggests yes, does that necessarily mean that their are more New York Giants and New England Patriots fans then Manchester and Liverpool fans in Australia in particular, no not necessarily, but on a global scale yeah the NFL is bigger then the EPL.

I don't understand why you find that so hard to believe, I mean I don't find it surprising that soccer fans around the world are more inclined to support local teams over English teams (particularly people from nations were their competition is basically just as good as the EPL quality wise), they don't have a choice with American football though, if they want to follow good American football they have to follow the NFL.

If we take Germany as an example I'd find it very, very surprising if their were more Manchester and Liverpool fans then New York Giants and Patriots fans running around.

The Great Dane

Arsenal, Fulham, Aston Villa, Millwall,.

We underestimate the value of names like Balmain, St.George, Canterbury etc these carry alot of tradition like the soccer clubs.

What value was gained when teams changed to Sydney Tigers and Sydney Bulldogs zero, just some marketing idiots idea.

These changes are killing off passion for clubs, come to Melbourne and try doing the things people are suggesting to AFL clubs....you would be ripped apart, same with English soccer. Is league that pathetic that we can rebrand and not care.

And yet nearly all of the biggest names in the EPL are from outside of London, if possible one or two big London clubs would always be more successful then 10+ (though I don't think that it is possible anymore), hell if for example you had just London FC and London City you'd probably have the two biggest and most well supported sports clubs in the world...

Stallion

That's what the data suggests yes, does that necessarily mean that their are more New York Giants and New England Patriots fans then Manchester and Liverpool fans in Australia in particular, no not necessarily, but on a global scale yeah the NFL is bigger then the EPL.

I don't understand why you find that so hard to believe, I mean I don't find it surprising that soccer fans around the world are more inclined to support local teams over English teams (particularly people from nations were their competition is basically just as good as the EPL quality wise), they don't have a choice with American football though, if they want to follow good American football they have to follow the NFL.

If we take Germany as an example I'd find it very, very surprising if their were more Manchester and Liverpool fans then New York Giants and Patriots fans running around.

Seriously are you aware of the continents of Asia, Africa and South America. Most of the male population of these vastly populated continents follow the EPL. Just to give you some idea: the class I'm teaching atm are studying a book called "Boy Overboard" It's about a boy having to leave Afghanistan and his dream is to play in the EPL. Not the NFL. But you discard this as trivial. This is a small indicator of the reach of and relevance of England's EPL but you peanuts cant work this out. Go back to the Budweisers please!

The Great Dane

Im being nice by pointing out how out of step you two dudes are! Fancy stating that the American NFL is more popular than England's EPL. I knew you blokes were off the pace but I didn't realise by that much!

Nope you're like the religious fanatic that denies basic science, nothing nice or helpful about you...

Stallion

Nope you're like the religious fanatic that denies basic science, nothing nice or helpful about you...

Wow. You blokes are fair dinkum aren't you?! You actually think the NFL is more popular worldwide than Englands EPL! WOW! I knew you were off the dial but didn't think you were that ignorant?! AMAZING! Goodnight . You did distracted me from enjoying a few parts of the footy tonight but I will be telling other teachers at work your profound assessment of the popularity of the American NFL compared to Englands EPL! I'll let you know if the response is laughter of disbelief or not. Then again it won't matter to you dudes. That's for sure!

greenBV4

come to Melbourne and try doing the things people are suggesting to AFL clubs

Im not that knowledgeable on AFL, but weren't the western bulldogs originally Footscray? and they did relocated South Melbourne to Sydney..
also Im not sure if other clubs have done this but I live in Hawthorn and it annoys me that the Hawks are no longer even based in Hawthorn (they are 25 kms away at Waverley park), Add to this that all the Melbourne based teams play out of the 2 CBD stadiums and what is the point of them even being called "Hawthorn" (sure 'history' but if they really cared they would of upgraded and still trained at Glenferrie Oval)

There is definitely no where near as much talk about relocating Melbourne teams as there is Sydney teams in the NRL (they also don't have the crowd / membership problems as much as NRL clubs do), but its not non existent, in the 3 years Ive been down here Ive heard talks of relocating clubs to Tassie and/or NT. People don't get any more worked up over it than the Sydney faithful do.

The Great Dane

Seriously are you aware of the continents of Asia, Africa and South America. Most of the male population of these vastly populated continents follow the EPL.

In the case of South America that is just abjectly false, the local leagues are huge, and La Liga and Primeira Liga (in Brazils' case) are much better supported then the EPL on the whole, and the NFL is very, very well supported in parts of South America (particularly Central America). If the question was is soccer more popular then American Football in Central and South America then it'd be a no contest in soccers' favour, but that isn't the question, the question is whether or not the EPL is bigger then the NFL in South America and that isn't as clear cut.

And in the cases of of Africa and Asia sure maybe the EPL is more popular then the NFL, though if we're being honest soccer isn't really that huge in any of the large Asian countries (India, Pakistan, and the rest of the Subcontinent are all about Cricket, basketball rains supreme in China, in Japan it's Baseball, etc), and just cause soccer is popular in those countries doesn't mean that the EPL in particular is popular in those countries...

I think you're conflating soccer with the EPL, when realistically the EPL is only really uber popular in the English speaking nations, where as other soccer leagues are popular in other nations and other language groups, and honestly I can't be bothered discussing it further cause you aren't an honest actor in the discussion and I don't particularly care about the point at hand anyway...

Just to give you some idea: the class I'm teaching atm are studying a book called "Boy Overboard" It's about a boy having to leave Afghanistan and his dream is to play in the EPL. Not the NFL. But you discard this as trivial. This is a small indicator of the reach of and relevance of England's EPL but you peanuts cant work this out. Go back to the Budweisers please!

That's another one of those pesky and utterly useless anecdotes...

BTW I looked up your book it's a f##king fiction written by Morris Gleitzman in Australia! And from briefly reading the info on it it seems to be more about a refugee kid from Afghanistan wanting to play soccer for Australia (the off brand Socceroos lol) then anything about the EPL.

Did you really think that a fiction book was evidence of anything? Or is it that you thought that everybody would just accept what you were saying and you could get away with it?

The Great Dane

Im not that knowledgeable on AFL, but weren't the western bulldogs originally Footscray? and they did relocated South Melbourne to Sydney..
also Im not sure if other clubs have done this but I live in Hawthorn and it annoys me that the Hawks are no longer even based in Hawthorn (they are 25 kms away at Waverley park), Add to this that all the Melbourne based teams play out of the 2 CBD stadiums and what is the point of them even being called "Hawthorn" (sure 'history' but if they really cared they would of upgraded and still trained at Glenferrie Oval)

There is definitely no where near as much talk about relocating Melbourne teams as there is Sydney teams in the NRL (they also don't have the crowd / membership problems as much as NRL clubs do), but its not non existent, in the 3 years Ive been down here Ive heard talks of relocating clubs to Tassie and/or NT. People don't get any more worked up over it than the Sydney faithful do.

Don't forget the mighty Fitzroy Gorillas! Who changed their name to the Lions and eventually relocated to Brisbane to 'merge' (code for hostile takeover) with the Brisbane Bears (who were based on the GC for almost all of their existence) to become the Brisbane Lions!

Using the AFL to support any arguments against rationalisation is asinine if you know anything about the AFL...

BTW as an aside they should have stuck with the Gorillas, it's a much cooler and much more unique name in my opinion, hell I'd probably follow them just cause they are called the Gorillas if they were still called the Gorillas...

You said “succesful”, by pretty any evidence based metric the nfl is more “succesful”than the epl. But yeh whatever, it has nothing to do with nrl expansion.

And yet nearly all of the biggest names in the EPL are from outside of London, if possible one or two big London clubs would always be more successful then 10+ (though I don't think that it is possible anymore), hell if for example you had just London FC and London City you'd probably have the two biggest and most well supported sports clubs in the world...

Yep like Barcelona or Milan or Manchester or Liverpool where the 1 or 2 clubs means they are the biggest in their code.nfl aren’t stupid enough to have more than one or two clubs in a city despite some of those cities have massive popualtions. Even in London with all its clubs there are only 2-3 in reality of any great size and value.

The stark reality is that Sydney only has so many clubs still relevant as the game is so small in the rest of the country and by historic anomaly, if the game had been made popular back in the past we’d have two clubs in Perth, Melbourne, Adelaide, Brisbane, nz and 4-5 in Sydney. The make up of the current top flight is just a sad reflection on how small our sport is.

Stallion

In the case of South America that is just abjectly false, the local leagues are huge, and La Liga and Primeira Liga (in Brazils' case) are much better supported then the EPL on the whole, and the NFL is very, very well supported in parts of South America (particularly Central America). If the question was is soccer more popular then American Football in Central and South America then it'd be a no contest in soccers' favour, but that isn't the question, the question is whether or not the EPL is bigger then the NFL in South America and that isn't as clear cut.

And in the cases of of Africa and Asia sure maybe the EPL is more popular then the NFL, though if we're being honest soccer isn't really that huge in any of the large Asian countries (India, Pakistan, and the rest of the Subcontinent are all about Cricket, basketball rains supreme in China, in Japan it's Baseball, etc), and just cause soccer is popular in those countries doesn't mean that the EPL in particular is popular in those countries...

I think you're conflating soccer with the EPL, when realistically the EPL is only really uber popular in the English speaking nations, where as other soccer leagues are popular in other nations and other language groups, and honestly I can't be bothered discussing it further cause you aren't an honest actor in the discussion and I don't particularly care about the point at hand anyway...

That's another one of those pesky and utterly useless anecdotes...

BTW I looked up your book it's a f##king fiction written by Morris Gleitzman in Australia! And from briefly reading the info on it it seems to be more about a refugee kid from Afghanistan wanting to play soccer for Australia (the off brand Socceroos lol) then anything about the EPL.

Did you really think that a fiction book was evidence of anything? Or is it that you thought that everybody would just accept what you were saying and you could get away with it?

Lol. I'll be conveying your opinion to my colleagues today!

Stallion

You said “succesful”, by pretty any evidence based metric the nfl is more “succesful”than the epl. But yeh whatever, it has nothing to do with nrl expansion.

Popularity thanks! Lets not twist out of this ! The EPL is far more recognised and discussed than any gridirin competition. Thats the point. Nothing else. So know going off on tangents ti justify your crap assertion. THE EPL IS FAR MORE POPULAR THE NFL on a WORLDWIDE BASIS. THATS IT. Nothing else. I predict my colleagues will laugh your stupid and ignorant stance.

I’d I’ll say again the nfl is more succesful than epl, but it’s got nothing to do with rl lol

titoelcolombiano

Trust me. I'm the same as those kids. I'm uncertain of where exactly the clubs are based. However, I respect their history and credibility they secure for the NRL. I'm a Newcastle based fan of the Roosters and cringe when they are called the Sydney Roosters but would be much happier with East Sydney Roosters as a compromise from what names this club has been called in the past.

You mean you selectively respect the history and credibility of some, but not all clubs.

titoelcolombiano

Popularity thanks! Lets not twist out of this ! The EPL is far more recognised and discussed than any gridirin competition. Thats the point. Nothing else. So know going off on tangents ti justify your crap assertion. THE EPL IS FAR MORE POPULAR THE NFL on a WORLDWIDE BASIS. THATS IT. Nothing else. I predict my colleagues will laugh your stupid and ignorant stance.

Their argument is pretty much correct. Yes, FOOTBALL (not EPL) is more popular than GridIron worldwide, no doubt. But they are talking about success (hard facts) and not popularity of the particular sport that the comp plays (subjective). PR listed a series of hard facts that shows that head-to-head the NFL is more successful than the EPL. It doesn't mean that football is less popular than GridIron. You are confusing the two.

Pommy

Based on what? And don’t say because your mate told you!

Crowds nfl
Revenue nfl
Tv deal nfl
Stadiums nfl
Super Bowl v fa cup nfl
Player salaries nfl
Global tv audience for nfl final v epl final nfl

No doubt epl is major comp but more succesful than NFL? Nah.

EPL final? Are you sure you’re a pom?

I don’t know how you can claim the NFL IS more popular than EPL. I don’t dispute there’s more profit in NFL but I’ve never seen a kid in a rural village in Afghanistan or Laos wearing an NFL shirt.

? FA cup final which would be the EPL's closest equivalent, and once agin for those that don't read threads he said successful, not known or popular.
Ive seen more Patriots jerseys in Perth in last two years than Man Utd ones. That's about as credible a measurement as some imagined kids in Laos lol

And the point still stands, the biggest soccer clubs in the world are one or two team city clubs. Sydney clubs will continue to be hamstrung by their over saturated market. Their only saving grace at the moment is that the NRL has been so poor at actually generating interest in new and bigger markets. If we had clubs in Perth, Adelaide, Brisbane2etc as big as the Storm and Broncos how well do you think these smaller Sydney suburb clubs in their antiquated stadiums and limited fan reach would fair?

The Great Dane

Lol. I'll be conveying your opinion to my colleagues today!

LOL.

Jesus Christ, does nobody on this forum understand what anecdotal evidence is!

There're about a billion different reasons why you might find more EPL (or soccer in general if we are being honest) jerseys in third world countries then other sports and not one of them necessarily has anything to do with popularity or success of the league or club in question.

Soccer jerseys might be significantly cheaper and more affordable, there might be more cheap knock offs that have flooded the market, the soccer clubs might be more socially conscious and donate ridiculous amounts of old stock to charities which then distributes them to people in need around the world, the soccer clubs or the media from their nations might simply place more importance on this subject therefore highlighting it more which then artificially makes it look like the clubs are more popular in these areas then others when in fact they aren't, it could be that the NFL simply doesn't have a large supplier of their merchandise in those countries (that was the case in Australia for the longest time), etc, etc.

Ive seen more Patriots jerseys in Perth in last two years than Man Utd ones. That's about as credible a measurement as some imagined kids in Laos lol

Since we've all decided that anecdotes are where it's at, in Canberra the NBA is murdering all the other sports put together in this regard.

Go to any high school, collage, or Uni in Canberra and you'll see more NBA logos in a day then you'll see all the others sports logos (including NRL, AFL, etc) put together in a week.

While we're talking about soccer, in Canberra you can expect to see more Barcelona, Real Madrid, Juventus, Bayern Munich, etc, jerseys and stuff then EPL jerseys, except Chelsea, there's this one guy that lives in the same area as me and he's always wearing a Chelsea jersey, shirt, or jacket and he's almost always got his young kid dressed up in a full Chelsea kit as well, actually it's kind of creepy seeing a middle aged man and 4 year old dressed in matching outfits...