Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Halves against the fake fins.

sladden road

I reckon we should rest Nico into the bye. Get him right for the back end of the comp with a two week rest .
Ale and roadside are doing well enough.
Up the mighties.

jc155776

Dolphins are not a good team. They don't really do defence.

Be a great game to bring Nico back into, get some confidence, get a win, then have a break.

sladden road

Either or. An argument could be made to get him back on the horse and into it

Without knowing the extent of the tear, it’s hard to know.
The media noise would be large if rested.

IMO a rested and 100 percent Nico is better that 85 percent.
Plus, I need full disclosure here.
The balance of the team is better with Roadside at 7, Ale at 6 and Nico at 1.

I love all Kenndys but Nico is a fullback all day long.
Ponga style.

PJ

Dolphins are not a good team. They don't really do defence.

Be a great game to bring Nico back into, get some confidence, get a win, then have a break.

Have 1 point worse against than us, and are way in front of the Broncs who we struggled to score against despite best of possession and field position.

2012....Sharks Year

Trouble is while their defence isn't great...they have points in them. May need Nicho's creativity to get over the top of them. Do you play Nicho and find a spot for DA on the bench as cover ..though I'm loathe to take any of those beasts off the bench. Massive game heading into the bye...would pretty much stitch up a top 4 spot I reckon.

Have 1 point worse against than us, and are way in front of the Broncs who we struggled to score against despite best of possession and field position.
The 2 sides are pretty even in defence in terms of where tries are scored as well.

Tries conceded
1717999023148.png

The Sharks favour the left in terms of scoring tries and the Dolphins get more through the guts than we do.
1717999189938.png

There may be no more than a struck match in this game.

sladden road

It’s not a who is the better halves combo as it is a”rest the merkin” if he is not fit.
Play the long game l.

It’s not a who is the better halves combo as it is a”rest the merkin” if he is not fit.
Play the long game l.
As you said, depends on the extent of the injury. If it's dicey then yeah, rest him.

I still have a deal of cynicism about it though. It's been called a calf strain. He allegedly got a cramp in it at the end of origin. How you get a cramp that doesn't become a tear in an already dodgy calf is confusing.

We may never know what's going on so may as well trust the coaches, quacks, trainers, physios and underwater basket weavers.

Big Bloke

Fitz said in his Broncos presser that Nicho would be right to go Thursday night. So I fully expect him to be named and play. But definitely have DA on the extended bench just in case.

fizman

It will be normal service resumed, what has shocked me though is the attitude towards Thursday night - this has a Wayne special written all over it.

Dolphins paying $3.10.

sladden road

As you said, depends on the extent of the injury. If it's dicey then yeah, rest him.

I still have a deal of cynicism about it though. It's been called a calf strain. He allegedly got a cramp in it at the end of origin. How you get a cramp that doesn't become a tear in an already dodgy calf is confusing.

We may never know what's going on so may as well trust the coaches, quacks, trainers, physios and underwater basket weavers.
Underwear basket weavers tho ..I’m all in .

Chimp

Danger game this one. If we play ‘our footy’, I actually think we should flog them - but it’s Wayne, and we could well be complacent after a big performance against the Donks.

If Nicho doesn’t play, I’ve a bad feeling we lose, and it will be goal kicks that cost us.

That being said, I’d also leave Nicho out - play the long game. We need him fit and firing in September, not now.

shadowboxer

He needs to play.
His last game was Origin and walking straight into that rep environment would be daunting for him.
I just wish him the best either way. It’s either him or that whinging batch in Moses - who probally cried all the way home from Parramatta yesterday