Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

halves for next year?

boxhead

Excellent. Do us all a favour and stop mentioning little Dan Mortimer`s name. You keep bringing him up, and then you can`t handle anyone else`s opinion about him. Capiche?

Looks like you ignored me and the point I was trying to make that we should put it behind us.
:roll:

I'm not going to discuss this any further with you, as insults are not my go.

joseph1

Lets face it, we are screwed without Orford and possibly with Orford. But we still
must sihn Orford. He is good enough to win the premiership with the team around him. Robson is not. Just watched a GF replay yesterday an our 5th tackle plays probable cost us one or two tries for sure. They were quite terrible. The rest of the team actually played out of their skins. Esp Grothe and Fuifui. Got nothing like that from them last year.

caylo

Lets face it, we are screwed without Orford and possibly with Orford. But we still
must sihn Orford. He is good enough to win the premiership with the team around him. Robson is not. Just watched a GF replay yesterday an our 5th tackle plays probable cost us one or two tries for sure. They were quite terrible. The rest of the team actually played out of their skins. Esp Grothe and Fuifui. Got nothing like that from them last year.

Hayne was just as poor early in the match a as robson and mortimer, it was mateo and fui who brought us back into the match. That is the problem when you don't have a genuine half who play prcentage footy. This is why I want two genuine halves and hayne to play a traditional fullback role, he isn't a genuine half.

ParraFan09

Ofcoarse he is springs he was halfback in the Grand Final and we didnt win he should be released from the club and never allowed back in parramatta :lol:

Joshuatheeel

Not to concern if we don't sign Orford. What club was the last side to manufacture a quality halfback from a make shift player and win a grand final - the answer is Melbourne, with Cronk. And I am sure Kearney had a little role in that, so we will be ok.

boxhead

Not to concern if we don't sign Orford. What club was the last side to manufacture a quality halfback from a make shift player and win a grand final - the answer is Melbourne, with Cronk. And I am sure Kearney had a little role in that, so we will be ok.

I would have also thought Brad Arthur had a hand in that as well, and we've recruited him too. I'm guessing Arthur is also one of the big reasons Slater has been so good the past few seasons.

lingard

I would have also thought Brad Arthur had a hand in that as well, and we've recruited him too. I'm guessing Arthur is also one of the big reasons Slater has been so good the past few seasons.

Good point, Boxhead. Let`s hope they both work well for Parramatta`s halves and back-line.

^b0ss^

Im happy to see any of the boys in the above posts in the halves. i think all have proven they got what it takes.
They lost a grand final to cheats, in all honesty most should be wearing a ring.

I personally think we are going to have a GREAT 2011. go parra.

ParraFan09

Im happy to see any of the boys in the above posts in the halves. i think all have proven they got what it takes.
They lost a grand final to cheats, in all honesty most should be wearing a ring.

I personally think we are going to have a GREAT 2011. go parra.
I agree boss i reckon we're in for a big one in 2011.

caylo

Oh, okay. Now Robson is suddenly solely responsible for the Grand Final loss...

Just to explain, when I say half i means both the halfback and 5-8 as they are a halves pairing(so not just Robson). The grandfinal loss is not Robsons and Mortimers fault, we didn't play the football we were in previous rounds. We didnt promote the football and run Melbourne around with second phase play until the last 20 min and we almost stole the game off them.

The problem is that ad-lib footy is inconsistant, this year it mean we made alot more mistakes. We need a half who can play percentage footy when it is required to grind out wins or get us off the backfoot. Its easy to throw the ball around when your infront or when your behind and its the only option but when the game is in the balance you need someone to stear the team around, Hayne isn't that type of player because he isn't a genuine half even thou he has the skills he doesn't think like one. We need a calming effect in many ways, look what scott prince did against us when they looked down and out. Now im not asking to sign scott prince but Mortimer doesn't strink me as someone who can do this, he is a very ad-lib style of footballer aswell, robson can but doesn't have the skill level (i think he will do if we dont sign Orford thou) and I see Humble as a very smart, percentage play footballer with moments of briliance and that is why i chose him over mortimer.

I.e I dont think a Mortimer-Robson half combo suits our style, I think a Humble-Robson combo would better suit our team or even better a Orford-Humble combo.

Casper The Ghost

Just to explain, when I say half i means both the halfback and 5-8 as they are a halves pairing(so not just Robson). The grandfinal loss is not Robsons and Mortimers fault, we didn't play the football we were in previous rounds. We didnt promote the football and run Melbourne around with second phase play until the last 20 min and we almost stole the game off them.

The problem is that ad-lib footy is inconsistant, this year it mean we made alot more mistakes. We need a half who can play percentage footy when it is required to grind out wins or get us off the backfoot. Its easy to throw the ball around when your infront or when your behind and its the only option but when the game is in the balance you need someone to stear the team around, Hayne isn't that type of player because he isn't a genuine half even thou he has the skills he doesn't think like one. We need a calming effect in many ways, look what scott prince did against us when they looked down and out. Now im not asking to sign scott prince but Mortimer doesn't strink me as someone who can do this, he is a very ad-lib style of footballer aswell, robson can but doesn't have the skill level (i think he will do if we dont sign Orford thou) and I see Humble as a very smart, percentage play footballer with moments of briliance and that is why i chose him over mortimer.

I.e I dont think a Mortimer-Robson half combo suits our style, I think a Humble-Robson combo would better suit our team or even better a Orford-Humble combo.

Here's repeating...... the refs had a huge hand in the Eels loss.
They allowed Storm to slow down the Eels play the ball and
the 10 meter was not policed, often was more like 7 or 8 metres.
This nullified the edge the Eels had when they got on a roll.
Yes, Storm were the better team for almost 75% of the game
but the other 25% would still had won the GF for the Eels
had the refs allowed fast play the balls and policed the 10 metres.
Then there was that penalty against Fui when the Eels were on a huge roll in both defence & attack.

Springs

I understand, but I was replying to joseph1.
I want us to play like 2009, and a Mortimer-Robson halves pairing suited our team perfectly. But unfortunately the team has changed, and they may not be the best anymore. I'd still have them there though.

Springs

I see Humble as a very smart, percentage play footballer with moments of briliance

Okay, okay, can someone please explain this to me? I have only seen Humble play in his brief stint in first grade and from that I don't know how he can be seen as a percentage play footballer? Everyone keeps saying how Humble has proved he is a better 6 than Mortimer (which is complete crap) but they never give any examples. In Humble's first game he was solid, did nothing spectacular and held on to the ball instead of throwing it inside and ended up tackled over the sideline. Other moments I remember are two back-up tries in the Sharks and Warriors games and a wayward pass over the touch-in-goal line (which I would hardly call a 'percentage' play).
I think he's a solid young player and should be in the top 17 next year but I haven't really seen all this brilliance that you guys make him out to have. I know some of you have seen him play reserve grade and if you've seen his brilliance there then I understand, but as of now he is yet to show it in first grade.

Okay, okay, can someone please explain this to me? I have only seen Humble play in his brief stint in first grade and from that I don't know how he can be seen as a percentage play footballer? Everyone keeps saying how Humble has proved he is a better 6 than Mortimer (which is complete crap) but they never give any examples.

Ok... I've nothing against Mortimor firstly. But his 'great' form in the back third of 2009 was due to the brilliance of others. He didn't play a natural 5'8th role... he was simply a support player. He defended well, was quick and great in support, and had a great ticker all things he should be commended for. But in no way should he be given a rap for being a great 5'8th in that regard. In regards to Humble, it's unfair to compare based off a few games when we're travelling poorly. However he has shwon the skills in the lower grades that he has talent as a playmaker, something Mortimor hasn't.

mrpwnd

Okay, okay, can someone please explain this to me? I have only seen Humble play in his brief stint in first grade and from that I don't know how he can be seen as a percentage play footballer? Everyone keeps saying how Humble has proved he is a better 6 than Mortimer (which is complete crap) but they never give any examples. In Humble's first game he was solid, did nothing spectacular and held on to the ball instead of throwing it inside and ended up tackled over the sideline. Other moments I remember are two back-up tries in the Sharks and Warriors games and a wayward pass over the touch-in-goal line (which I would hardly call a 'percentage' play).
I think he's a solid young player and should be in the top 17 next year but I haven't really seen all this brilliance that you guys make him out to have. I know some of you have seen him play reserve grade and if you've seen his brilliance there then I understand, but as of now he is yet to show it in first grade.
You can defend and justify Morts continued persistence in first grade all you like, but Humble still trumps him over raw ball playing skill. Throughout 2009 and 2010 there was nothing that showed me that Morts is capable of consistently taking up a ball playing role.
You can talk of first grade impact and compare them, albeit unfairly and stupidly so, but the fact stands that we now need more skilled ball players, not fringe first grade support players like Morts. Our ad lib style that made our halves irrelevant in 2009 is gone, our kings of offloads, Caylo and Mateo, are gone and subsequently, Morts value as a support player, is gooooooooooooooooooooooooooone.
6. Humble
7. Orford/Robson

Live with it mate.

boxhead

Both of you guys are assuming the coach will punt him, saying "Live with it" when in all actuality it is most likely the head coach will stick with Mortimer. So "live with it" - what a stupid line to use.

I vividly remember all of 2009, and I also vividly remember lots of tries that Mortimer set up himself, especially through his short-kicking game. Why that was non-existent this year is beyond me.

He had better improve next year or he is a goner.

Wise Old Eel

Both of you guys are assuming the coach will punt him, saying "Live with it" when in all actuality it is most likely the head coach will stick with Mortimer. So "live with it" - what a stupid line to use.

I vividly remember all of 2009, and I also vividly remember lots of tries that Mortimer set up himself, especially through his short-kicking game. Why that was non-existent this year is beyond me.

He had better improve next year or he is a goner.

Boxhead, I also believe the coach will stick with Mortimer - but for different reasons. There are people who have stuck their neck out by announcing Mortimer as "the future of Parramatta". A lot of time, money & strategic publicity has been put into this kid. Not only do they want a return on their "investment" (which is understandable) but they do not want to have to admit they were wrong in their eagerness to put so much faith in him.

I sincerely hope, for Mortimer's sake, the gamble (which is really what it is) pays off but from what I have witnessed so far, I think it is a long shot at best. Time will tell.

If I were the coach, I would be starting with 7. Robson (assuming Orford is not signed) and 6. Humble - leaving Mortimer & Murray as the 6 & 7 for Wentworthville, doing their best to put pressure on the NRL halves.

WOE

Springs

Yeah, see, just more Mortimer bashing. Still no examples of what Humble has actually done to prove himself a better player than Mortimer. Just more, 'Oh, Mortimer actually played crap in 2009, even though all evidence is to the contrary'. He played great 2009, he played crap 2010, but in 2009 he wasn't irrelevant.
I respect your opinion that Humble is the better player, but you have yet to back it up with any facts, just Mortimer bashing. And there is no need for silly insults, we're only debating football.