Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Harold Matthews and SG Ball Discussion Thread

stretcher

Looks like a much easier draw then last year.
Halfback where did you get your draw from
yeah a much easier draw this year but as usual manly with all the narrabeen connection will get it to.I heard the queenslanders for the ball side have fitted in quite well and are going home for chrissy sean pickup looks like the cream of the three by all reports.

ranga

Looks like a much easier draw then last year.
Halfback where did you get your draw from
Dont know how you fathom this is a much easier draw last year, they had 2 sides they would find tough ,parra and dogs also lost to titans ,maybe they thought they would be easy. This year they have knights who are allways tough also wests who have a strong jl and knocked us out last year,also tigers who just beat norths 14 tries to 1 souths who are traditionally tough also sharks and dragons and an easy season doesnt look to be in there schedule , I just hope they look at the draw and dont believe any game they play in this comp is easy.

stretcher

Dont know how you fathom this is a much easier draw last year, they had 2 sides they would find tough ,parra and dogs also lost to titans ,maybe they thought they would be easy. This year they have knights who are allways tough also wests who have a strong jl and knocked us out last year,also tigers who just beat norths 14 tries to 1 souths who are traditionally tough also sharks and dragons and an easy season doesnt look to be in there schedule , I just hope they look at the draw and dont believe any game they play in this comp is easy.
your talking purely about matts we are talking overall both sides plus you have to take into account the poor quality of players and coaches they had last year this year much stronger in both departments and i dont think anyone was saying that there are easy games just saying easier than last year.....

ranga

your talking purely about matts we are talking overall both sides plus you have to take into account the poor quality of players and coaches they had last year this year much stronger in both departments and i dont think anyone was saying that there are easy games just saying easier than last year.....
when you are finished with your crystal ball can i get it because how the hell do you know this is an easier draw ,you must be busy on weekends to see every side in every jl in sydney ,yes penrith should be strong ,but as you said with last years side sometimes sh*t happens,lets wait and see.

stretcher

when you are finished with your crystal ball can i get it because how the hell do you know this is an easier draw ,you must be busy on weekends to see every side in every jl in sydney ,yes penrith should be strong ,but as you said with last years side sometimes sh*t happens,lets wait and see.
ive followed this years sgball age since they played 14s development squad and the other sides that they have played all the way through and trust me not playing parra and bulldogs with there 200k they spend on juniors is a blessing also i agree with you on sides like newcastle but last years dragons ball was a rare year most of there players have signed elsewhere and cronulla have nothing the academy beat them last year and they had balmain beat with 10mins to go so to finish yes i do have a vested interest in this side which is why i feel i can comment with confidence......

murraymob

the strength and weakness of the draw comes down to how good penrith are.
If the perform like last year the draw becomes hard.If they improve and stand up then life gets easier.In junior football clubs rise and fall year to year ..I expect penrith to have a better year with out a doubt

ranga

you confuse me one minute you are talking of both sides then in your next post you are only focused on ball side ,still cant see how any one can say who will be easy

stretcher

you confuse me one minute you are talking of both sides then in your next post you are only focused on ball side ,still cant see how any one can say who will be easy
Well for a start you said they lost to titans and the ball beat the titans the matts got beat and secondly if you read the post it says its an easier draw not an easy draw because anybody who knows rep footy there are no easy games my point is the teams who spend more money on junior imports will have more success penrith have bought noone for matts and reallky dont need to and only bought three from queensland and trialling a kiwi in comparison to parra and bulldogs who spend plenty and everyone who says mullholland did a better job when he was here are wrong he had very little budget to work with but was lucky with some quality sides and now he has an enormous budget to work with all of a sudden he is genious...unfortunately money controls success..

murraymob

Well for a start you said they lost to titans and the ball beat the titans the matts got beat and secondly if you read the post it says its an easier draw not an easy draw because anybody who knows rep footy there are no easy games my point is the teams who spend more money on junior imports will have more success penrith have bought noone for matts and reallky dont need to and only bought three from queensland and trialling a kiwi in comparison to parra and bulldogs who spend plenty and everyone who says mullholland did a better job when he was here are wrong he had very little budget to work with but was lucky with some quality sides and now he has an enormous budget to work with all of a sudden he is genious...unfortunately money controls success..

isnt the moral to your story Mulholland did well with what he had both with money and without.He was the reason for the juniors going well.The current mob have been here before and got the same reults

stretcher

isnt the moral to your story Mulholland did well with what he had both with money and without.He was the reason for the juniors going well.The current mob have been here before and got the same reults
No your wrong he was blessed with good teams and coaches and if you think he is responsible for the success why cant peter osullivan the melbourne genious c and d manager get results at the roosters now that he has been there two years ?answer zero talent and not the same storm unlimited budget he had......greg waddell was offered 150k plus when he was 17 from melbourne now you tell me could penrith afford to do that and is he worth that?thats why they leave penrith as i said money controls it now...

murraymob

Stretch didnt you say you where involved with one of the teams.Perhaps you should ask around you will see the high respect peter is held by within the club both football wise and community wise via panthers on the prowl.
The talent is there the results where not last year simple fact

stretcher

Stretch didnt you say you where involved with one of the teams.Perhaps you should ask around you will see the high respect peter is held by within the club both football wise and community wise via panthers on the prowl.
The talent is there the results where not last year simple fact
Well its obvious you have no idea about the nickname he has its the politition he never returns calls and is always gunna do this and that some sponsors were promised the world and didnt deliver but thats for another forum and panthers on the prowl was around long before he got to the club and he was given that job as well as other various job because he had nothing to do because the people who worked around him did it all for nothing but love and now they have all left because of him he used them and left.Bottom line he was a photo opitunist for the papers just like a politition...........the other nickname was mirrors because his favourite thing to say was i will look into that....

murraymob

Well its obvious you have no idea about the nickname he has its the politition he never returns calls and is always gunna do this and that some sponsors were promised the world and didnt deliver but thats for another forum and panthers on the prowl was around long before he got to the club and he was given that job as well as other various job because he had nothing to do because the people who worked around him did it all for nothing but love and now they have all left because of him he used them and left.Bottom line he was a photo opitunist for the papers just like a politition...........the other nickname was mirrors because his favourite thing to say was i will look into that....

and the new people should be called mandrake because they made all the kids talent like majic disappear

stretcher

and the new people should be called mandrake because they made all the kids talent like majic disappear
Most of the talent walked away from penrith chasing money and not a future or the promise of playing up an age which would of happened through the academy setup but no those guys are to good for academy even though didnt perform at the right age unlike the ten or so guys in the ball squad that stayed loyal and played academy last year and as ive said in previous quotes penrith dont have the budget that other clubs are showing there juniors they look after the guys who wanna play for penrith not accolades.......every guy from that academy setup have been looked after.....

stretcher

Stretcher in your opinion which players from the ball and hm in 2010 will go on and play in the NRL?
Pretty hard to pick one but if i had to it would be bryce cartwright from the matts and tom eisunhuth,john faimu,robbie mate,blake south and possibly vaipuna tiakilifi from the ball age but my pick for a nrl debut next year would be blake austin barring injury..whats your opinion?

murraymob

Pretty hard to pick one but if i had to it would be bryce cartwright from the matts and tom eisunhuth,john faimu,robbie mate,blake south and possibly vaipuna tiakilifi from the ball age but my pick for a nrl debut next year would be blake austin barring injury..whats your opinion?

None of the ball will see first grade in under 2 years .The only outsider from the current NRL squad who may break in is Evrett Vaurasi

ashton

Thanks Stretcher for your opinion. Sorry I don't live in the area so its a bit hard for me to give an opinion.

BTW what happen to Paul Maguire from Bathurst who was in the HM squad?

stretcher

None of the ball will see first grade in under 2 years .The only outsider from the current NRL squad who may break in is Evrett Vaurasi
I think you will find it was an opinion of who might play nrl not when they will play nrl and everett will have to make it to the fulltime squad soon cause time is running out will have to play better than last year otherwise windsor is looking good for 2011