Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Have the Tigers convinced Moltzen to stay? Release sought from his Saints contract

meltiger

The fact that Moltzen hasn't said diddly squat yet is a little perplexing.

Maybe not. He may be saying in private to one he'd prefer to play for the other but it's not in his best interest to come out and sledge one if in fact it's going to come down to mediation or even a court case.

Sledges one publicly, states doesn't want to play there getting the fans off side, then gets told he has to go there?

I reckon he'd be better off staying away from the journo's and let the clubs have their fight.

Pierced Soul

they try to keep Tim or sign Morts, i know what i would do.

:lol::lol:

Parra were stupid enough to re-sign mortimer you're stuck with him!!!

Be nice if our "leadership" came out and sorted the problem rather than letting it drag through the emdia, although it does make the off season more interetsing

Orford in 2010 & reports saying maybe Quinn in 2011. You have let Vidot go to sign Quinn, FFS :crazy:

I doubt the raiders are able to laugh at anyones recruitment.

Vidot leaving had nothing to do with footy. And after hearing why he's leaving, I'm glad we got rid of him.

I won't be over the moon if Quinn comes, and yep Orford was a massive blunder.

But watching TWO clubs fight over Tim Moltzen - LOL.

Jono1987

As a Dragons supporter I was looking forward to Moltzen coming. However should the Tigers compensate my club appropriately, I have no issue with Moltzen staying with the Tigers. The situation is nonetheless farcical.

God-King Dean

Never particularly rated Moltzen - always thought he was overhyped, just because he played well for 5 games at the start 0f 2009 (or was it '10?). People thought he should Origin. :lol:

Good utility value though, but that's about all I see in him.

If he goes to Saints, happy to be proved wrong. If he goes to Tigers, happy to be proved right. Not fussed either way.

Just hope Dragons stand firm on this, as Tigers are clearly in the wrong.

ozjet1

if wests never realised him, contract with saints is null and void. his manager should take the heat for this. shouldve only courted him with rival clubs when the official release was granted. if they said he could talk with other clubs, shouldnt the realise have come through with it?

and whats this i hear about souths hovering around lui? f**kin merkins. they need some sort of halfback, but this bloke isnt good for the brand - of Souths and the NRL. id give him a wide berth personally, but the heat will be on Crowe and Richardson to be competitive next season.

God-King Dean

Not if he never got the release.

They gave him permission to look elsewhere.

Signed with Saints. Tigers said nothing.

Lui bashes his missus. They say something.

Very dodgy.

Either way, they're only hurting themselves, whether it be losing Moltzen, paying off Dragons, or other clubs being unwilling to negotiate with them.

M2D2

They gave him permission to look elsewhere.

Signed with Saints. Tigers said nothing.

Lui bashes his missus. They say something.

Very dodgy.

Either way, they're only hurting themselves, whether it be losing Moltzen, paying off Dragons, or other clubs being unwilling to negotiate with them.
Tigers complained a lot and whined like you wouldnt believe Rabbs and Gus were talking and bitching about it the entire game. If he never got the release, tigers wont have to pay for anything.
Because the contract with the dragons holds as much weight as paper airplane.
Dodgy as f**k. But thats the tigers for you. Run by people with the downs.

hybrid_tiger

Never particularly rated Moltzen - always thought he was overhyped, just because he played well for 5 games at the start 0f 2009 (or was it '10?). People thought he should Origin. :lol:

Good utility value though, but that's about all I see in him.

If he goes to Saints, happy to be proved wrong. If he goes to Tigers, happy to be proved right. Not fussed either way.

Just hope Dragons stand firm on this, as Tigers are clearly in the wrong.

You're right mate, he is nothing special at all. We have our elite players signed up: Moltzen is not one of them.

franklin2323

Tigers complained a lot and whined like you wouldnt believe Rabbs and Gus were talking and bitching about it the entire game. If he never got the release, tigers wont have to pay for anything.
Because the contract with the dragons holds as much weight as paper airplane.
Dodgy as f**k. But thats the tigers for you. Run by people with the downs.

So why after the Lui incident does this come to light?? Both teams got knocked out 2 weeks before the GF. Plenty of time in there to sort it out.

M2D2

did i imply that this was handled correctly?
Tigers complained to the heavens and said they didnt grant a release yet and hated the timing of the signing when this first hit the news on the week of the tigers v dragons game.
Obviously there is either still no release. or the tigers are lying and grasping at straws.

Vidot leaving had nothing to do with footy. And after hearing why he's leaving, I'm glad we got rid of him.

I won't be over the moon if Quinn comes, and yep Orford was a massive blunder.

But watching TWO clubs fight over Tim Moltzen - LOL.

If you think we are "fighting" to get him, you're wrong IMO.

He signed a contract with us and we expect him to fulfill it. The WT are the ones who are fighting tooth and nail to get him back. I think we'll let him go, if and only if, we are compensated accordingly.

Pierced Soul

if wests never realised him, contract with saints is null and void. his manager should take the heat for this. shouldve only courted him with rival clubs when the official release was granted. if they said he could talk with other clubs, shouldnt the realise have come through with it?

if moltzen himself has instructed his manager (very likely) or signed the contract himself then isnt he the one who should be held accountable?

betcats

If you think we are "fighting" to get him, you're wrong IMO.

He signed a contract with us and we expect him to fulfill it. The WT are the ones who are fighting tooth and nail to get him back. I think we'll let him go, if and only if, we are compensated accordingly.

From what the Tigers are saying the contract he signed with the Dragons is worth nothing.

if moltzen himself has instructed his manager (very likely) or signed the contract himself then isnt he the one who should be held accountable?

Not if the club gave his manager a verbal assurance a release would be granted. Then each party (Moltzen, mananger & WT board) would be apportioned a percentage of the blame.

From what the Tigers are saying the contract he signed with the Dragons is worth nothing.

There is one point that has been discussed numerous times, which it appears you have missed.

His manager was given a verbal assurance, from the club a release would be granted. We then signed him on this undertaking (release was forthcoming).

Cleaning up this mess/paying compensation is not our concern. It will fall back on the manager, TM & WT board if an agreement is reached.

We are in a win/win situation. We get the player we signed or we receive compensation (for missing out on a player we signed, therefore stopping recruitment to fill the void Moltzen fills for our club)

www.smh.com.au/.../no-issue-with-moltzens-release-from-tigers-says-agent- 20110711-1haue.html

No issue with Moltzen's release from Tigers, says agent
Glenn Jackson
July 12, 2011

TIM MOLTZEN is likely to secure a controversial release from Wests Tigers today, four days after his signing was trumpeted by St George Illawarra - a move sparking a war of words between the 22-year-old's current club and his future one.

Moltzen's manager, Martin Tauber, will meet with Tigers chief executive Stephen Humphreys today over the utility back's future. He has already secured a verbal agreement from Humphreys that Moltzen will be released from the final year of his Tigers contract, enabling him to officially join the Dragons and potentially be a replacement for Darius Boyd at fullback.

Tauber spoke with Dragons chief executive Peter Doust and next year's coach Steve Price yesterday and assured them the Tigers would not stop the move. ''They're not going to stand in his way,'' Tauber said.

franklin2323

did i imply that this was handled correctly?
Tigers complained to the heavens and said they didnt grant a release yet and hated the timing of the signing when this first hit the news on the week of the tigers v dragons game.
Obviously there is either still no release. or the tigers are lying and grasping at straws.

NO you didn't it wasn't but true. The manager looks after Marshall as well. Moltzen is housemates with Marshall. Benji seems to think he got a release so someone has been told he has. Whether it's 'offical' we don't know but only Humphries is saying he doesn't.