Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Hindy's blog

Answering the critics

I don’t really know how to describe the events of the last couple of weeks but here is my point of view on them starting with the cricket.

Contrary to media reports there were three of us at the cricket. I attended the one day match with Nathan Cayless and Luke Burt. We were in a corporate box and very well behaved. The rest of the team was not there from midday sinking cans as was reported.

What happened with Haynesy was quite scary. You think about it and there is a huge difference in the outcome compared to if he had of actually been shot. To think that if Jarryd was unlucky he could be dead is a scary thought.

As for this weeks ‘scandal’ we had a quick meeting at training yesterday regarding the e-mails sent to Ray Hadley and are now aware that people will dob us in for going out. We are aware athletes have to be role models but we are also people who want to be able to go out and it appears as if that is less possible these days.

While the club is not happy about the reported events they also recognise the boys do go out occasionally. Apparently we have been tagged the new party boys of the NRL. I think that tag will go away pretty quickly or as soon as someone else gets in trouble, although I don’t wish that on anyone.

Okay, enough on the media attention, time to focus on better things.

The Robbo show was great. Archie loved it and even hopped in the dodgem cars with me. He scored a Thomas the Tank Engine showbag and is currently enjoying all things Thomas – he absolutely loves trains!

He also won some nice prizes playing the clowns. The Potato race was taken out by the same guy who won it last year – he must have the right technique going and it’s a good way to earn $1000 cash in four minutes!

Bonnie has her touch footy grand final this Thursday at Kellyville and I will be out there to lend my support, albeit quietly as I am not a sideline coach!

I’m actually pretty nervous about the first round match against the Bulldogs this weekend. Probably because it is the first round and we all aren’t sure of our fitness. My knee is fine though and for the first time in a while I will be playing injury free.

I understand why we are short priced favourites. The Bulldogs lost Mase, Ogre and Brent Sherwin in the off-season but we will be missing Timmy Smith, Jarryd Hayne and Chad Robinson so that balances things out a bit.

Hopefully we can get a big crowd out there like last year’s semi final when we drew 50,000. To play in front of a crowd like that again would be awesome.

Hindy

The softening of league

I’m glad I only have five years maximum left in my playing career because the way the game is headed we are going to be playing bloody Oztag by then.

The sensationalism going on in the media doesn’t help either. I am sick of hearing the terms ‘prowler’, ‘ripper’ and ‘grapple’. What’s next to be added to the vernacular? The ‘torturer’?

Don’t get me wrong I feel sorry for Wingy – but players get injured all the time and Rugby League is a full contact sport.

A full contact sport which has been played the same way for the last 100 years and it’s been popular so let’s stop softening it.

The tackle which popped Craig’s shoulder was one which I have attempted to dish out hundreds of times. If the player is struggling you go in and target the ribs. It’s also a tackle I have been on the receiving end of hundreds of times. It is a part of the game and is not dirty.

While we’re on injuries if I was Ben Ross I reckon I would still be snoring. That hit was sickening.

We had a good win on the weekend. The first half was far from ideal but the way we came back in the second half showed a lot of resolve and was on the back of some Brett Finch brilliance. Maybe Finchy smells Origin around the corner?

I also enjoyed playing fullback and cleaning up a couple of grubbers, although I think it was a case of right place at the right time.

Joel Reddy had one hell of a shiner from the game. I don’t know where he got it but he had to have it cut a few times to relieve the pressure. I also don’t know about comparisons between ‘Rocket’ and I looks wise. The haircut was similar to mine before I shaved it, but that’s it!

Unfortunately it looks like Krisnan Inu could be out for 6-8 weeks after having ankle surgery yesterday to repair ligament damage.

That opens the door for Jarrod Hayne to get back into the team and I expect nothing less than a couple of 100 metre tries!

Speaking of Haynesy, we did an Alpha shoot during the week. So look for us on the cover soon.

My week hasn’t been the best either. I’ve spent a few days in bed with the flu. I haven’t had it for ages and it really knocked me around but I should be right for the game against the Warriors this weekend.

While they are a tough proposition at home, our job has been made easier thanks to the losses of Wade McKinnon and Steve Price who are always two of their best players.

I am a bit disappointed I have to be over there on Easter. Archie is at the age where he is starting to look forward to an Easter egg hunt, almost as much as playing with his trains, but I’ll make sure I take him to the Easter Show when I get back.

Hindy

Hellsy

My week hasn’t been the best either. I’ve spent a few days in bed with the flu. I haven’t had it for ages and it really knocked me around but I should be right for the game against the Warriors this weekend.
Guess he didn't get better in time then

Telling it like it is

It’s been an emotional time lately, both personally and professionally, and thanks to everyone for all the messages and well wishes over the past couple of weeks.
I suppose everyone wants to know about Timmy Smith and truth be told I think he has done the right thing. Tim has made a massive decision to do what is best for him even though it involves walking away from the game he loves. Rugby League is his passion and his life and it wasn’t an easy decision for him to make.
While none of us knew this decision was coming a few of the senior guys knew about his Bipolar disorder – myself included. We were entrusted to keep it to ourselves and we did.
Tim addressed the team before his media conference and although I didn’t see the press conference they were both emotional events.
Having said that I think the media has been too harsh on Tim ever since he came back. In short he copped too much flak.
The halfback isn’t the only player on the team. There are 16 other players on that field and we are all responsible for wins and losses. I don’t know why people wanted to bag Timmy, whether it was for past indiscretions or not. Even if it was I don’t think it was right.
As it stands now will step up and do the job for us at halfback and he is very capable. Also, for what it’s worth, I fully endorse him for the NSW number 7 and don’t think selectors can look past a guy who is in form and has won NSW games before.
Did anyone see his hula dance on The Footy Show last week? Funny stuff.
When it comes to Origin I am my hardest marker and the comments from Trevor Gillmeister last week were by no means off the mark. I haven’t played my best footy in Origin. I tend to play a different role than what I do in club footy. In club footy I get the ball a lot more and take the hit ups when I like.
In Origin I see my role as similar to Dallas Johnson for Queensland where we make a lot of tackles and take the hit ups no one else wants to take. I think that comes from having six star forwards in the starting pack. Having said that I go out there every game and do my best to get my team the win, whether it be Parramatta, NSW or Australia.
While we haven’t been setting the world on fire in first grade our under 20s are going great guns and are undefeated after the first five rounds.
This week Kris Keating will be making his debut and, while he has been a standout in the Toyota Cup, it’s a huge ask. The speed difference between the under 20s and first grade is huge, but I expect him to play well.
Over the last few weeks we have had a mixed bag. The game against the Knights is one we should have put away long before extra time. I can’t believe how calm Cayless looked when kicking his field goal. That’s Cayless and my brother Ian who have kicked them in the last two seasons, but you won’t see me taking a shot.
We then lost two on the trot to North Queensland and the Gold Coast and while the Titans game was close, we were disappointing in the game against the Cowboys.
We didn’t follow the coaches’ game plan and we also took the Cowboys a bit lightly and paid for it with a heavy loss.
I can cop all that. What I can’t stand is checking with the video referee at scrums to see if there was or wasn’t a strip. We do all the work in the off season to get fitter for the 10 man interchange and then they slow the play down with this. It’s ridiculous. There was nothing wrong with the ref making a decision on his own.
Maybe we should bring Billy Harrigan back from Gladiators to make a decision on the spot. I’m all for that style of refereeing.
Speaking of Gladiators, Archie loves it and gets really hypo, jumping around on a Sunday night just before bedtime. While Archie jumps around Buster does commando rolls as he is learning to crawl.
This weekend I am looking forward to the battle of the Westies versus the Silvertails. It’s always a big game and with both sides needing a win and needing to improve on having lapses it should be a corker. Plus Manly fans don’t like leaving Brookvale so I am expecting a huge crowd full of Parra supporters.
Outside of footy us Parra boys are taking part in some fantasy NRL. My team is going pretty well and I don’t even have myself in the squad. I cost too much!
From the Eels I have Luke Burt (who is my captain), Feleti Mateo and Wella Hauraki but the latter is about to get the axe.
This weekend is Golden Slipper time and I’ll be backing either All American or She’s Meaner.
Hindy

Even the best laid plans...

I would have loved to have written this blog after a big stirring victory. Unfortunately our opponents, Manly, were the ones who overcame the odds to beat us in a thriller.
It’s fair to say we shouldn’t have let the game slip away and we have to seriously improve our game after the bye.
Having said that there were some encouraging signs at the weekend.We lifted our game as a team and there were some better individual performances. I thought Jarryd Hayne looked a lot better with the ball then he has in a while and I put my hand up for the NSW halfback job. Just kidding, that’s still there for Finchy in my opinion!
I was happy with my grubber for a try though and, contrary to popular opinion, I actually was aiming for the posts.
What was especially frustrating was our inability to put a side with only one man on the bench away.
Manly lost Steve ‘Beaver’ Menzies, Luke Williamson and Michael Bani and after those injuries we should have got home.
The Bani injury was a strange one. He looked like he was going to get up and play the ball, then he needed the Medicab to get off the field, while we were all left wishing the ref would have blown halftime rather than staying out in the driving rain for 12 seconds of play.
I actually don’t mind playing in the rain too much and I wish the fields would get muddy like they did when I was a kid growing up. It would be a lot of fun to play in those conditions again.
The way we lost the game, right at the death was hard to take. I don’t think any of us thought after six rounds we would be 2-4 and struggling, particularly after we came back from 20-0 down against a tough Bulldogs side in round one.
I think we haven’t played as well as a team as we could have and may have been guilty of thinking someone else would do something brilliant. I know we are missing Krisnan Inu and his ability to create something out of nothing, but it’s no excuse.
After the bye we will be taking on Penrith in what will be a typically tough clash against our western Sydney rivals. Making it tougher is their impressive record over us out at Penrith and their win over Cronulla on the weekend.
Michael Hagan hasn’t given us a break this week and nor should he. After six rounds no one should be tired and given our form I think it’s fair enough that we have kept training.
We do have the weekend off though and I’m looking forward to spending a bit of time with Bonnie. The kids are going to see their aunty and their grandparents so it will give us a chance to relax.
Archie is still right into Thomas the Tank Engine and I’m enjoying playing with his train set. I still swear they were cheaper when I was a kid!
I ended up going out to Rosehill with Luke Burt last week. Burty backed Sebring in the Slipper – so good work from him. I got off All American and ended up backing Portillo. This week I am looking at Kingda Ka in the Derby and have been given a tip for Casino Prince in the Doncaster.
There has been plenty of footy news doing the rounds this week and I reckon the Sharks have done well picking up Anthony Tupou. Tupes is a great hole runner, which they don’t have in their back row despite having a lot of quality with Paul Gallen. I also think it won’t be long before Greg Bird is a full time five eighth. So it helps them out in that respect.
Speaking of Birdy there is plenty of conjecture about the halves spots in the Australian team and I’m going to stick my neck out on who should get them.
At present I would give Braith Anasta the number six jersey because he is playing unbelievable footy. I’ve also seen more of his games than Greg’s. However if Darren Lockyer is fully fit and plays well in his return game then you would have to consider the Broncos, Maroons and Australian captain.
I’m also going to say I would pick Johnathan Thurston at halfback. I know Scott Prince is playing tremendous at the moment, but I don’t think Thurston has done anything to be unseated from his spot.

Hindy

To be honest, I reckon his articles are good enough to gain some column space in one of the major daily's.

apparently he has a writer who puts em together tho - hindy sends him ideas and the dude writes em up .... well i'm sure i read that somewhere

An insight into the Country camp

I think I’ve been asked how I’m feeling at least 1000 times this week and to tell you the truth I am disappointed but also excited.
Yes, losing my spot in the Kangaroos’ team is a huge disappointment, but it’s not the end of the world. I am aiming to keep my spot in the NSW side and win back my spot in the test team for the World Cup.
Having thought about it, if I can do that and Australia wins the World Cup then I think it would be a fitting end to my representative career. I played my first rep games in the 2000 World Cup and to go out of rep football on top after a World Cup victory would be ideal.
There has been plenty of talk about my non-selection in the Australian team through the media and, despite what a few may believe, I don’t think it has anything to do with how we are going at club level. I believe if you are good enough then you get picked, regardless of how your team is going but I know things may not always work like that.
On the positive side I am now getting to do something I haven’t yet in my career and that is represent Country and level up appearances with my brother Ian. It’s always good to level things with your brother!
So far I have found the camp a lot of fun and Craig Fitzgibbon (who has some average tats and shaves his head once a week to look sharp) has apparently dubbed our pack the old forwards club.
For his part Fitzy is looking well and could probably go around for another year and a half.
I find myself rooming with Andrew ‘Bobcat’ Ryan once again and he still has a nasty penchant for checking his near-naked self out in the mirror. I guess some things never change.
The team has been bonding well and a lot of that has to do with our very chirpy halfback. Finchy genuinely a funny bloke, but he almost didn’t make it to the hotel after I left him snoring on the bus. Fortunately, or unfortunately depending on how you look at it, the driver noticed our sleepy halfback before he took off.
There are a few Eels players in the squads with City having three and us two. I’m not too bothered about playing against any of my fellow Eels. I probably won’t see Haynesy till the end of the match as he is on the wing, but Feleti Mateo and Chad Robinson may be a handful.
I think they are both very good selections and one thing is for sure I will not be attempting to run straight at Robbo - he hits hard. As long as I can tackle Feleti and shut him down I’ll be happy.
Realistically I think there are six back rowers in this game competing for two places in the NSW team. One would think the three guys in the Australian side, Paul Gallen, Ryan Hoffman and Greg Bird, will be picked with a couple of places left for either myself, Bobcat, Feleti, Fitzy, Mark Minichiello or Anthony Laffranchi.
I can’t afford to think about that too much though. I just want to go out there and perform well, get the win for Country and then prepare myself for the Panthers on Saturday night.
The game against Penrith is shaping up as a must win game for us. We should be fresh off the bye and even though the five of us engaged on Friday night have missed Eels training we have been kept in the loop and once Finchy and Feleti are told how to play I am sure they will execute.
The Penrith pack is impressive and aside from Petero Civoniceva doing the job like he always does I know we are going to have to keep an eye out for Frank Pritchard who has been putting on plenty of big hits recently. Luckily for me I tend to play on the other side of the ruck.
I enjoyed the long weekend and getting to relax with Bonnie although Buster was back with us on Saturday. Archie came back from Robertson on Sunday night and loved it.
I spent a bit of time messing around in the garden and got a fair bit done although it doesn’t look like it.
No tips this week as yet, although I did back No Wine No Song (I wish I’d backed it at 17/1 a few weeks ago when I backed out at the last minute) and Casino Prince on the weekend.
I’m looking forward to pressing my rep claims this weekend in both games.

Hindy

Targeting the top 8

Things are looking up at the moment as I went through last weekend undefeated after two games. I was pumped up to make my Country debut and, while I didn’t get as much game time as I would have liked, I enjoyed representing Country.
I also realise in rep games that no one really gets the same game time as they usually do in club games so I am fine with that.
It was certainly a highlight to pull on the Country jersey. Growing up in Robertson we hated City and Queensland, they were on a par and I think that’s how the majority of Country fans are.
The result on Friday night was difficult to take. Eighty minutes passed and then to have no result after busting our guts out there was flattening. All the boys were just standing around feeling a bit empty.
I’ve had that feeling once before when a State of Origin series ended in 1-1 tie. It wasn’t good then and it was no better last Friday night. I think the NRL and ARL need to consider Golden Point. Not just for the players but also for the fans who seemed a bit miffed with the ending.
We did come close to the win though when Toddy Carney unleashed one hell of a dropkick and despite the new reputation of Parramatta forwards for slotting field goals I don’t think any of us would have come close from there.
Craig Fitzgibbon playing front row wasn’t as huge a deal as it was made out to be. It was a good gesture from Craig but he was our biggest forward out there. He is deceptive and bigger than most people think.
I also thought Jarryd Hayne had a blinder and carried his new found confidence into our game on Saturday night where he continued to play well. I can’t speak for Haynesy but he has not had an easy start to the year and I am sure being shot at would throw anybody.
This weekend we have the Dragons at ‘home’, home being ANZ Stadium this weekend. It’s not a move I am an overwhelming fan of but I also understand why it was done. Hopefully we can get a huge crowd there and get a good atmosphere.
A below average crowd at Parramatta Stadium looks fine but if that happens at ANZ it can be deflating because of the size of the stands and it then takes away from the game in my opinion.
I would also like to encourage Eels fans to get out there and show us your support as we look for six points straight and a spot in the top eight. The Dragons are a dangerous side who can really dominate a game; they are a bit like us this year in terms of being inconsistent.
The Centenary test is on tomorrow night and I also hope people get out and support the boys. I would have liked to have been chosen, especially when Michael Crocker was called in, but I wasn’t and he has been playing well for the Storm.
In news just in Cooper Cronk is also in the squad as a potential replacement for Johnathan Thurston (who is carrying an ankle injury). I’m sure a lot of people will feel Scott Prince has been further ripped off with this latest selection. While he has been great this season Cooper hasn’t done anything wrong and did the job for Australia last year.
Just as an aside I would probably back Carl Webb should he and Willie Mason ever have their boxing bout. Willie has a huge reach and while Carl would have to fight in close I believe his power and experience would get him over the line.
I took Bonnie, Buster and Archie to Sydney Aquarium last Sunday and we all had a good time, I forgot how big some of those sharks are and Archie was amazed while Buster slept. Next stop is Taronga Zoo.
Hindy