Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How To Fix the NRL 101

MrAnonymous

so how do you plan to reach 400k members and 20k averages in 4-5 years? do you think doing nothing will achieve it?

i dont.

I Really couldn't give a f**k. The game has been around long enough, it will survive just leave it alone, its already been f**ked enough.

oikee

Bluey, i like the idea of 20 teams playing each other 'once' every year at home, then next year away, so it is home then away over every two year period. I could live with that. And it shortens the season to 19 games as your own team is the 20th.

MrAnonymous, if their is nothing wrong with the game, why do the NRL keep changing the forking rules every year.

Look, here is another major, major problem that someone has lost their job over. Marketing, strategy.
I mean look at the start of this year, what a dogs breakfast. Who planned that, the muppets.
I have never seen a bigger dogs breakfast start to the year.
You want to grow the code, expand and get rid of Monday night and Thursday night footy, except on holiday's. Is that really too hard to plan.

Second, Media, how much longer is the game going to have to suffer some of the rubbish these reporters write.
I mean Kent, come-on. Here is some of the headlines just today.
"Flannagon and the Pumpkin Heads." ? Really, that will get the kids reading. (Kent)

"Poor Crowds Still Plague big matches." ? really, wasn';t it rain that plague games, and didn't someone just finish saying that the Bunnies Dragons crowd was best in years. So why is he allowed to publish this crap.

"3 Million bid to get Benji back to league". ? Why, why pay for someone who is struggling and has been for years now, let rugby have him. And stop reporting rugby stories.

"Why Rugby should poach Inglis Next". (Eddie Jones) how much longer do we need to be reading these muppets from rugby and their scrupluous poaching habits.
Our media should be writing stories about poaching Rugby players, players who we can look at and try to poach, and showing them nobody talks about rugby except when league players are mentioned.
Why dont our reporters sink the boot back into the Bandana boys code. he cant seem to keep his nose outta our business.

The media for league needs a cleanout.
They cant change their bad habits, we need new reporters with no habits,. Even hire some good American reporters without agenda.s,

MrAnonymous

MrAnonymous, if their is nothing wrong with the game, why do the NRL keep changing the forking rules every year.

Because every merkin is soft. The think of the children mentality these days is f**king ridiculous. The media doesn't help constant dribble they print and you dumb f**ks read the shit and believe.

pHyR3

I Really couldn't give a f**k. The game has been around long enough, it will survive just leave it alone, its already been f**ked enough.

righto mate, im pretty sure that's exactly how the EPL, NBA, MLB, NFL and AFL all got to where they are.

"aw yea, just leave it alone mate! she'll be right"

amazing forward thinking strategies right here. :lol::lol::lol:

insert.pause

I stopped reading after OP said Gallop negotiated the last tv deal, gallop not going after the most money is what cost the game over the last 5 years.

One of the biggest problems in the game is the telegraph and their negative agenda driven press that prevents the game ever getting enough clear air to assert itself. The NRL is starting to do some great things and it just gets buried under this constant negative attitude on the surface that permeates throughout the public.

Springs

isn't that exactly what they did with the wrestle ink? but nothing happened and the game got slow and boring. (well in my opinion anyway)

No. The wrestle became prevalent after the dominant and surrender calls came in. Suddenly a 4-man gang tackle twisting and turning was 'dominant' but a little bloke legs tackling a big bloke was seen as wrong because it gives them a quick play-the-ball. And so the whole game became twisted towards slowing down the ruck.

oikee

One of the biggest problems in the game is the telegraph and their negative agenda driven press that prevents the game ever getting enough clear air to assert itself. The NRL is starting to do some great things and it just gets buried under this constant negative attitude on the surface that permeates throughout the public.[/QUOTE]

You got a mind machine, preciously what i was trying to say.

I stopped reading after OP said Gallop negotiated the last tv deal, gallop not going after the most money is what cost the game over the last 5 years.

One of the biggest problems in the game is the telegraph and their negative agenda driven press that prevents the game ever getting enough clear air to assert itself. The NRL is starting to do some great things and it just gets buried under this constant negative attitude on the surface that permeates throughout the public.

yup

OP clearly has nfi

sounds exactly like a DT journo or some nuffy from here http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/threa...oderator-approved-rules-in-op.1033254/page-26

Coleworld

The media for league needs a cleanout.
They cant change their bad habits, we need new reporters with no habits,. Even hire some good American reporters without agenda.s,

I completely agree with this sentiment as the Daily Telegraph and other media outlets have made their bread and butter rubbishing Rugby League with negative press when the code should be championed for the good things it actually does.

I am really hoping that the NRL's new media unit gets up to scratch and erases these agenda journos who have campaigned to ruin the perception of the game killing chances of bringing neutral fans.

Channel Nine's coverage definitely needs an overhaul. I understand the League wanting the highest amount as we were under sold last time around but the next TV deal needs more stricter stipulations.

eozsmiles

I half agree with this because it is more complex than just pointing the finger at them.

People love the DT s**t, they thrive on it and it fills pages and pages on this site. It is the most quoted/linked source for this site I reckon. When positive things happen in our game, they sometimes don't even get a thread posted about them, and when they do they are scarcely frequented. The media know this. They see what we talk about and how we talk. They write troll stories and we talk about them for days, weeks, months.

People also talk about the media as though they have a responsibility to the game - they don't.

Getting good press is easy - don't f**k up. The problem for the game as far as the DT goes is that there is always division, tribalism, grey areas, change, and some sort of scandal. And the NRL, at this point, seem to do very little to promote the game or control the message via their own media production. The clubs don't help either by slapping media bans on every second week.

We can look at the Fifita saga as a gilt edged example of the game creating a nice little scandal for the DT.....

The bloke signs the deal of a lifetime mid-season, annoying fans (phase 1)
He shoots his mouth off, annoying fans (phase 2)
Deal falls over, Dogs say they were disappointed in him but split amicable (phase 3)
Fifita complains to NRL over deal changing mid stream, story leaked to media (phase 4)

All parties - NRL, Dogs, Fifita/management - have handed this scandal to the DT on a platter. Some of them spoke without thinking, some couldn't keep their mouths shut, and some might have done dodgy deals and fibbed. They all f***ed up somewhere.

If people weren't carrying on like spoilt brats, being clandestine in business deals, and feeding the DT all the info.....there is no s**t-stirring story. But now that there is a story, and we've all had a say in the forums, the next chapter will definitely get aired.

Everybody knows that bad news gets more hits than good news. Doesn't matter if it's the front page or the back.

Dave_

13 teams.

26 round season. Everyone plays each other twice and has two byes.

Kick out the Warriors, Knights and all of the QLD scum.

Bring back Balmain, Norths, Illawarra.

Call it the NSWRL.

Solved.

Lol. You are one dumb merkin aren't ya? Cull a few Sydney teams that are too close together before we do that. Lol. Dumb dumb.

The Eagle

IMO State of Origin should run just after the grand final as follows

3 days after the grand final they go into camp

On the Wednesday is game one
Friday is game two
Sunday is game three

They want to make it gladitorial? What better way than totally clusterf**king the players after the season in a 3 game showdown

The Engineers Room

I never supported the faster play the ball edict. They went the wrong way. I knew it would lead to more wrestling and I think it greatly contributed to Alex McKinnon's injury. Please allow the defenders more time.

bfoord

13 teams.

26 round season. Everyone plays each other twice and has two byes.

Kick out the Warriors, Knights and all of the QLD scum.

Bring back Balmain, Norths, Illawarra.

Call it the NSWRL.

Solved.

You do realize the Raiders are not based in NSW don't you... so if you want to call it the NSWRL again and actually you'd have to kick the Raiders out too.

But do that and good luck trying to get a billion dollar TVs deal again.

It will be interesting watching the teams trying to survive playing in front of 10 people. They have enough trouble getting crowds in NSW now with 9 teams, adding more teams to NSW will only lower crowds... you certainly are an ideas man. Although I'm sure the NRL want NSW crowds to get bigger, not smaller

TheVelourFog

Apart from the terrible CH9 coverage/commentary, there are only three things I would change (will leave the solutions to others)

1. Absolutely need standalone Origin. Sick of teams losing their best players in the middle of the season. Cannot be a fair and unbalanced comp while this continues.

2. Follows on....teams need to play each other team home and away, like a proper major sporting league does.

3. Prevent players that are off-contract at the end of the season from talking to clubs outside a designated "transfer window"

insert.pause

I half agree with this because it is more complex than just pointing the finger at them.

People love the DT s**t, they thrive on it and it fills pages and pages on this site. It is the most quoted/linked source for this site I reckon. When positive things happen in our game, they sometimes don't even get a thread posted about them, and when they do they are scarcely frequented. The media know this. They see what we talk about and how we talk. They write troll stories and we talk about them for days, weeks, months.

People also talk about the media as though they have a responsibility to the game - they don't.

Getting good press is easy - don't f**k up. The problem for the game as far as the DT goes is that there is always division, tribalism, grey areas, change, and some sort of scandal. And the NRL, at this point, seem to do very little to promote the game or control the message via their own media production. The clubs don't help either by slapping media bans on every second week.

We can look at the Fifita saga as a gilt edged example of the game creating a nice little scandal for the DT.....

The bloke signs the deal of a lifetime mid-season, annoying fans (phase 1)
He shoots his mouth off, annoying fans (phase 2)
Deal falls over, Dogs say they were disappointed in him but split amicable (phase 3)
Fifita complains to NRL over deal changing mid stream, story leaked to media (phase 4)

All parties - NRL, Dogs, Fifita/management - have handed this scandal to the DT on a platter. Some of them spoke without thinking, some couldn't keep their mouths shut, and some might have done dodgy deals and fibbed. They all f***ed up somewhere.

If people weren't carrying on like spoilt brats, being clandestine in business deals, and feeding the DT all the info.....there is no s**t-stirring story. But now that there is a story, and we've all had a say in the forums, the next chapter will definitely get aired.

Everybody knows that bad news gets more hits than good news. Doesn't matter if it's the front page or the back.
Rugby League has always been a soap opera, my frustration is with the non-subtle personal digs at the NRL administration fueled completely out of a sense of entitlement for the game as previous owners, they are a bitter organisation that can't stand the game seamlessly moving on and flourishing without them.

Flapper

I personally don't think it's broken, but if they do try and fix something like stand alone origin they need to have it on 3 consecutive weekends, say Saturday night, with Test matches between the other nations on the Sundays. That is the only way it can work.

bileduct

You do realize the Raiders are not based in NSW don't you... so if you want to call it the NSWRL again and actually you'd have to kick the Raiders out too.
Don't be silly. Everyone knows that Queanbyan is the real home of the Raiders.