Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

How To Fix the NRL 101

bileduct

Lol. You are one dumb merkin aren't ya? Cull a few Sydney teams that are too close together before we do that. Lol. Dumb dumb.
I dunno about that. The NSWRL was obviously the superior competition otherwise we'd be talking about culling some of those Brisbane teams, hey?

It would bring back all the people who walked away from the game when their teams were punted, and the Broncos can go and dominate the QLD Cup and push up their crowds.

Everyone wins.

bluey

Bluey, i like the idea of 20 teams playing each other 'once' every year at home, then next year away, so it is home then away over every two year period. I could live with that. And it shortens the season to 19 games as your own team is the 20th.

MrAnonymous, if their is nothing wrong with the game, why do the NRL keep changing the forking rules every year.

Look, here is another major, major problem that someone has lost their job over. Marketing, strategy.
I mean look at the start of this year, what a dogs breakfast. Who planned that, the muppets.
I have never seen a bigger dogs breakfast start to the year.
You want to grow the code, expand and get rid of Monday night and Thursday night footy, except on holiday's. Is that really too hard to plan.

Second, Media, how much longer is the game going to have to suffer some of the rubbish these reporters write.
I mean Kent, come-on. Here is some of the headlines just today.
"Flannagon and the Pumpkin Heads." ? Really, that will get the kids reading. (Kent)

"Poor Crowds Still Plague big matches." ? really, wasn';t it rain that plague games, and didn't someone just finish saying that the Bunnies Dragons crowd was best in years. So why is he allowed to publish this crap.

"3 Million bid to get Benji back to league". ? Why, why pay for someone who is struggling and has been for years now, let rugby have him. And stop reporting rugby stories.

"Why Rugby should poach Inglis Next". (Eddie Jones) how much longer do we need to be reading these muppets from rugby and their scrupluous poaching habits.
Our media should be writing stories about poaching Rugby players, players who we can look at and try to poach, and showing them nobody talks about rugby except when league players are mentioned.
Why dont our reporters sink the boot back into the Bandana boys code. he cant seem to keep his nose outta our business.

The media for league needs a cleanout.
They cant change their bad habits, we need new reporters with no habits,. Even hire some good American reporters without agenda.s,

Great Post

pHyR3

I stopped reading after OP said Gallop negotiated the last tv deal, gallop not going after the most money is what cost the game over the last 5 years.

One of the biggest problems in the game is the telegraph and their negative agenda driven press that prevents the game ever getting enough clear air to assert itself. The NRL is starting to do some great things and it just gets buried under this constant negative attitude on the surface that permeates throughout the public.

why would you think the NRL tv deal is worth more than $1.2 billion a year? AFL got $1.25 billion. :roll:

If you can't see that Gallop SOLD OUT THE NRL to channel 9 then you're the one with nfi. Why do you think Broncos are on every friday night? or the season kicked off on a thursday at 8:10pm? or we get DELAYED broadcasts every sunday arvo? cause gallop sold out the code for moolah.

why would you think the NRL tv deal is worth more than $1.2 billion a year? AFL got $1.25 billion. :roll:

If you can't see that Gallop SOLD OUT THE NRL to channel 9 then you're the one with nfi.
Why do you think Broncos are on every friday night? or the season kicked off on a thursday at 8:10pm? or we get DELAYED broadcasts every sunday arvo? cause gallop sold out the code for moolah.

you do know Gallop was sacked before the TV rights deal and lucky for us played no part in it?

and you are telling people they have nfi :?

oh and read this http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/nr...e-in-the-country/story-fndujljl-1226455300011

undertaker

If you can't see that Gallop SOLD OUT THE NRL to channel 9 then you're the one with nfi. Why do you think Broncos are on every friday night? or the season kicked off on a thursday at 8:10pm? or we get DELAYED broadcasts every sunday arvo? cause gallop sold out the code for moolah.

You're right about Gallop, but as El Diablo said, wrong about the current tv deal being the problem. It was the PREVIOUS tv deal (2007-12) that screwed us financially and was grossly undersold to Ch9 and Fox Sports because those broadcasters were simply allowed to extend their existing deals by 6 years without any fair bidding/negotiation process. Also, the radio rights deal was a joke, giving 2GB exclusivity and hence blackouts in so many timeslots. Im glad that problem was cleared up this time around and great to have Triple M on board.

The fact the first and last rights won't exist in the next tv rights negotiations in 2017 will definitely make things very interesting

pHyR3

you do know Gallop was sacked before the TV rights deal and lucky for us played no part in it?

and you are telling people they have nfi :?

oh and read this http://www.news.com.au/sport/nrl/nr...e-in-the-country/story-fndujljl-1226455300011

RIIIGHHTT cause that media deal was done in like a couple of weeks yea? didnt take numerous months or anything before being announced by the media. :roll::roll:

Gallop stands down in june, media deal announced by media in august. If you think they organised an entire 1.2 billion dollar deal, wrote up contracts, negotiations etc. in 2months you're a dumb merkin as well.

pHyR3

You're right about Gallop, but as El Diablo said, wrong about the current tv deal being the problem. It was the PREVIOUS tv deal (2007-12) that screwed us financially and was grossly undersold to Ch9 and Fox Sports because those broadcasters were simply allowed to extend their existing deals by 6 years without any fair bidding/negotiation process. Also, the radio rights deal was a joke, giving 2GB exclusivity and hence blackouts in so many timeslots. Im glad that problem was cleared up this time around and great to have Triple M on board.

The fact the first and last rights won't exist in the next tv rights negotiations in 2017 will definitely make things very interesting

yea that's true, it was both media deals. But the point is we don't have any power as the NRL, it's all been given to ch 9 and the next media deal should focus on getting that back so we can schedule in favour of crowds and also try simulcasting every game live. That creates competition and both channels will market the hell out of the NRL

RIIIGHHTT cause that media deal was done in like a couple of weeks yea? didnt take numerous months or anything before being announced by the media. :roll::roll:

Gallop stands down in june, media deal announced by media in august. If you think they organised an entire 1.2 billion dollar deal, wrote up contracts, negotiations etc. in 2months you're a dumb merkin as well.

it all happened in one night you f**king idiot

Hello, I'm The Doctor

LOL yes lets suspend our competition for 5 weeks....seriously of all the moronic ideas, this one takes the cake. You realise most people only have a passing interest towards Internationals, we don't need 5 weeks of them in the middle of our season!

I disagree...

Sure these internationals might only draw small interest (Tonga-Samoa last year), but everyone loves Origin, even people that dont follow NRL in general. Origin would keep the game on the front page of the papers every day and by the time its all done, everyone will miss their team so much we will se a huge spike in attendance as if we had just come of an offseason...

I would say this would do more to spruke interest.

Hello, I'm The Doctor

There were reports the previous February that he had been taken off the unit negotiating the deal.

It ended up being headed by a Commisioner (off the top of my head i cant remeber with one) and backed by Shane Matiske, the rest were contracters (eg. Graeme Samuel, before he became a board members)

There were reports the previous February that he had been taken off the unit negotiating the deal.

It ended up being headed by a Commisioner (off the top of my head i cant remeber with one) and backed by Shane Matiske, the rest were contracters (eg. Graeme Samuel, before he became a board members)

ignore him

they guy has nfi

insert.pause

Graham Samuel was hired by the ARLC to negotiate the deal alongside Mattiske, gallop had no involvement.

insert.pause

Shocking comprehension skills.

lockyno1

and i assume most people only have a passing interest in state of origin too, right? :roll::roll:

Big difference 90% of fans come from the 2 origin states, and it has been built up like nothing before and financially it is the gold nugget for Rugby League. You cannot stop he comp for 5 weeks, it is beyond ridiculous! Fans hated when the game was stopped for ONE weekend when Origins were on the weekend, they will absolutely HATE 5 weeks!

georgesnmith

stop the NRL for 3 weeks. Origin on for 3 consecutive wednesdays. all focus is on origin. then go back to the nrl.

nrl crowds plummet during origin they need to sort it out.

some teams benefit more than others who have a heavy origin commitment.

lockyno1

stop the NRL for 3 weeks. Origin on for 3 consecutive wednesdays. all focus is on origin. then go back to the nrl.

Stopping it for 3 weeks won't help that mate, crowds are ordinary anyway, whether it be in origin or not in Origin

insert.pause

Origin is getting more and more physically and mentally demanding each year, its a big ask to have player back up in three consecutive weeks.

LineBall

Stopping it for 3 weeks won't help that mate, crowds are ordinary anyway, whether it be in origin or not in Origin

I think stopping it for 3 weeks - mid season would help crowds. I know I definitely lose interest in the NRL comp between origin matches, particularly since I follow the Broncos and get frustrated watching them run around without their best players for several weeks.