Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

I have been a Sharks fan for

I have been cursed for

Kramer

Spending the first decade of my life living in a small country town meant I could pretty much pick any team I wanted to go for. Dad was a Saints fan, Mum Balmain, most of my relatives for Souths. All of the young people in the area started following the Roosters because one of the local lads had just made the grade and was getting some 1st grade time. Me, I saw a game between the Sharks and the Magpies sometime in 1977 and was absolutely mesmorised by Steve Rogers. I have been a Sharks fan ever since.

Breadman

About 20 years. I'm Eastern Suburbs born and bred but never liked the Roosters and was hoping one day to be Andrew Ettingshausen.
I even tried going for the Roosters against the Sharks very early on
because I figured thats who I really should be going for but it just didn't work.

30 - 39 for this old bloke.

Probably about 1970ish.

Still here. Still hoping. One day. One day it will happen.

Aah Quigs me old mate. The 20 minute softening up period. Love it myself. Both watching it and being a part of it.

Love the car Quigs - NOT:lol:

jedman1

----
i think about 30 yrs. was playing junior footy and Steve Rogers was my hero. used to play for gladesville and right after full time would change out of our strip staight back into my nulla uniform to watch the rest of the games. wish i still had my old retro jersey with the number 3 on it. those were the days when the players and coach could do no wrong and i idolised them no matter what. now im just frustrated.lol.

Kiwishark

Great stories, what it's all about.

Myself, I think it's 11 of my 18 years. My brother had a bet on the Sharks for the prem in 95 i think it was (we all know what happened there) and we were up against Manly. I wanted to support the team he was supporting, so I began backing the Sharks that day. First memory I have is Nathan Long's blonde locks bashing around against Manly. Later I found out he's actually a Panthers supporter. Didn't want to change my mind, I had decided that I liked my team. Didn't switch to the Warriors as many did, cos they were truly woeful. Followed them from then, but I got my real hook in 2002, Sharks v Knights at Toyota and that Try fest. 64-14 i believe, the Peach was on fire that day... Since then I've become another who lives through the team and it's performances

You hardened vets should have a chat to the players imo. Not sure how many of the payers really understand the history of the club, especially from the fans point of view, the most important. Give them some inspiration.

zeppelin

Any of you old buggers on here go to the 73 or 78 grand final? People forget that we've played in 3 (one being a replay) and have only lost two of them!! I pull that line out when people give me sh*t about the sharks.

I find it very depressing that the sharks have not made a grand final in all the years i have been on this planet (and no, super league hardly counts).

SadShark

Since 73 Grand Final - age 5 years old. It's been too tough lately to cop another miserable finish to a season, with no hope in sight of a title. None whatsoever.

The Sharks are the most dissatisfying thing in my life. Not too bad after all eh?

0-top5.jpg

Was on the Hill at the 73 and the 78 GF's missed the replay of 78, couldnt get the time off work and had moved out of Sydney that year.

Was at the Super Duper GF in Brissie too.

Arrhhh well "such is life"

Forty f**k-can years and the tunnel with the light at the end of it still looks abit like the bastard that runs under the english channel.

Frenzy. said:

Remember it well. Was the year the rot really got set in IMO. Won the club's first Minor Premiership. I was on Beer Hill and the team did a lap of honour. I remember thinking at the time WTF is with this? Do they think the job is done now? There were more unhatched chickens counted in that week between the last round and the semis than I have ever seen.

History records we went bang, bang OUT.

:(

I believe it was 1988. The last game of the year we beat the Dragons 18-17. After being down 17-2 at half time. Worrying signs. We did a lap of honour.

Gus Gould used our "lap of honour" to motivate his Bulldogs players. We were thumped in the first semi final.

Agro

Im a ctually doing a speech on being a sharks supporter tonight.

Anyone know how many times we have made the finals???

Also, has anyone got any links to any funny articles regarding the sharks inabilities to win that elusive premiership.

I could write a speech myself, butr would rather have it done for me.

Agro said:
Im a ctually doing a speech on being a sharks supporter tonight.

Anyone know how many times we have made the finals???

Also, has anyone got any links to any funny articles regarding the sharks inabilities to win that elusive premiership.

I could write a speech myself, butr would rather have it done for me.
I hope to christ it isn't some sort of motivational speech to a suicide awarness group.

Agro

Nah, it's a speech to people with aids. Im showing them how tough life really can be.

Agro

Can somone provide answers (or reasonable guesses) to the following questions.

Since 1967 the Sharks have:
Had how many coaches?
Played how many games?
Seen how many different players take the field?
Had how many fans through the home gates?

Sheros los Deros said:
I believe it was 1988. The last game of the year we beat the Dragons 18-17. After being down 17-2 at half time. Worrying signs. We did a lap of honour.

Gus Gould used our "lap of honour" to motivate his Bulldogs players. We were thumped in the first semi final.

Yes, I believe you (and Macca) are correct in hindsight. It was '88.

Even back then, some 18 years ago I stood and watched a team that was saying to me, we've done enough now.

The malady lingers on.