Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

If you have Optus/Foxtell READ

Hurriflatch

MITS: Yeah, I thought it was a little strange the Melbourn'es hooker would have been interviewing Smithy

Hurriflatch said:
oh no, someone actually agrees with Smith you better not let Suity or Misty read that post

Don't tell me you believe parakeet's propaganda as well??
I like reading your stuff.
I thought you were smarter than that.

I was impressed...as always with Smith tonight, although a lot of it was the same old stuff.
If you read between the lines though, it sounds as though we may have a PROPER 5/8th this weekend, with Wagon actually playing lock ( no really playing lock), and Dykes, Morris and Thorman spending a bit of time on the field together.
He alluded to the fact we are going to have to score lots of points because we may not be able to stop them.

We'll see what happens from here on in. The proof will be in the pudding.
Smithy just put it in the oven.

Having said that, I am slightly more confident, having heard him speak tonight, that we may reach that top four spot after all.

The other interesting fact on tonights programme was the conclusion that 28 points will be semi finals contention. This means we can lose another 8 games, and still make it. I think we'll do better than that, so we MUST be semi-final bound.

Very nice to see some good comments here for a change. :D

A few things...

- of course no coach in the history of rugby league will cop out on injuries as an excuse - it is not the sole reason for some bad times, but it is without doubt a factor....do you think the quote "...but I think we are in a better position to handle it this season..." says 'Injuries played no role in our bad performances'? - NO, it means we were in a bad position with injuries and it cost us, but we have more depth now and expect to cope better.....BS has more balls than most here have given him credit for, he won't make excuses....but he acknowledged they are a factor for all teams - he highlited that we: 1) had no injuries in 2001 and were infact resting guys that season and 2) recruited to better cope with injuries

- I don't believe he danced around any Wagon issue....he never mentioned anything of Wagon being considered a ball player.

- BS has been saying the game changed and the team didn't suit the new style of footy for a LONG time (ie the big ugly guys comment). Why is this a revelation in this interview?

- "blokes don't know each other that well yet" was not an excuse offered by BS for poor defense - I believe Laurie Daley made that comment....and to be honest I agree with it to some extent. You put basically the same guys on the field for 10+ weeks on the trot and they learn to trust eachother in defense (see Penrith - Premiers 2003).

- I was also very pleased to hear his comments about Jamie. There are obviously no grudges.

Things I would have liked to hear more about:
- what youngies might be on the verge of 1st grade
- any comments about the lack of intensity we seem to have at times

I believe the problem with all the critisism on this forum is that Parra supporters don't really know what is going on in the club....all it has taken is one public interview for about 20 mins to convince several critics that BS acknowledges problems with the team, has a plan for the season, has a plan for the youngies and has a passion for making the team successful....maybe the club could look at making stuff more open to some extent, but there is only so much they can do without blurting out all our plans for 14 other NRL teams to hear.

Supporters have to sit back and have a bit of faith sometimes - acknowledge that they don't know ALL about the goings on at the club and ride out the tough times because they have faith that everyone involved wants our club to be successful.

PLEASE don't let the good feeling of this interview be cast aside IF Melbourne get over us this weekend - they are a good team and we have to turn up ready to play to beat them.

Suitman said:
Belly in Brisvegas said:
parra pete said:
How do you consider the EEls are struggling. They are four point from top spot and have lost two games by four points or less.
I hope you people remember all these stupid negative statements later in the year. And be warned. When I'm on top, there is no bigger loud mouth in NSW than me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

I hate to be a pessimist but I think we will get pumped this weekend...I hope I am proved wrong but that's what is in my water.

Don't forget, you are talking Brisbane water. ;-)

Where is the love???? :D

Hey Suity.....surely you have an announcement for me?????

parra pete

Strider. you, me and Holliwood Jesus are the voice of reason on this Forum.
Concentrate on the POSITIVES not NEGATIVES..
Suity, aren't you at the smow yet!!!!!
Go and build a snowman, throw some snow balls at your kids, and come back with a better attitude

Was it just me but, even though I agree with everyone that Smithy spoke well on the show (there are just some people that you could listen to all day and BS is one of them), but I sensed a change of his skin colour to shades of red from time to time which meant that he was either a) incensed that he has to answer the same questions or b) be under the pump.

I took it to be a bit of both...I think he knows he is under the pump and is more than aware of what is being said about us. The repetive questions won't dissipate quite easily either but Planeteels said it a while back that if you are part of the inner sanctum or attend training sessions you can get a better appreciation of why we do the thngs we do that appear ludicrous or out of left field.

Misty Bee

Yeah, Belly, I saw that.

Mark, your pie is getting cold. You were yabbering on all last 2 seasons about how Smith was not at fault, it was all injuries. Smith last nigt confirmed that it was his fault (ie style of play) that was the problem. He didn't get big and uglys to change the way we played, but, as he said, to help cover for injuries.

He basically agreed with most of us that our style of play was crap. He disagreed with you that injuroes were at fault. BTW, I have heard plenty of coaches blame injuries as an excuse. Saints in 1975 as an example? Mick Hagen every time Joey gets carted off?

Last year, he never admitted fault. That's what's different.

Mark, do you want fries with that?

Parra Peet said:
Strider. you, me and Holliwood Jesus are the voice of reason on this Forum.
Concentrate on the POSITIVES not NEGATIVES..
Suity, aren't you at the smow yet!!!!!
Go and build a snowman, throw some snow balls at your kids, and come back with a better attitude

Every time I see you post tripe like that I am reminded never to let my children play with lead based paint. :roll:

Smith made sense to his credit but I will only be impressed when we win more games and when we in the GF and when wagon is not 5/8. Untill then.....

bradeel

well said Strider. I think a little bit of patience is required sometimes and you've put the extent of that argument well.

and parra pete, i can assure and promise you that you, hollywood jesus and strider are not the only 3 people reading and contributing to these forums with a modicum of patience and support for the decisions that are made by Brian Smith and the club. I know of a number of people in both this forum and the old one hosted through rleague.com that used to spend countless hours defending Brian Smith from the knee-jerk maniacs who called for his head everytime one of the players dropped a pass. I respect the fact that you guys are the ones currently fighting the fight until you are blue in the face, but alot of us just drop off because the arguments about the same thing get very tiring and boring after a while.

Believe me, we are not all nutcases and we are not all here to read the negatives over and over. Anyway, at the very least it can be pretty entertaining to read the brawling i guess. :clap:

Misty Bee

bradeel said:
well said Strider. I think a little bit of patience is required sometimes and you've put the extent of that argument well.

and parra pete, i can assure and promise you that you, hollywood jesus and strider are not the only 3 people reading and contributing to these forums with a modicum of patience and support for the decisions that are made by Brian Smith and the club. I know of a number of people in both this forum and the old one hosted through rleague.com that used to spend countless hours defending Brian Smith from the knee-jerk maniacs who called for his head everytime one of the players dropped a pass. I respect the fact that you guys are the ones currently fighting the fight until you are blue in the face, but alot of us just drop off because the arguments about the same thing get very tiring and boring after a while.

Believe me, we are not all nutcases and we are not all here to read the negatives over and over. Anyway, at the very least it can be pretty entertaining to read the brawling i guess. :clap:

Nutcases????

I would remind you that we were all Brian Smith supporters in the early, prosperous years. Even when we choked v Norths in 1997 we stood behind him. When we choked big time in that devastating loss to Canterbury in 1998 we stood behind him. We did so during the choke v Melbourne in 1999, and the same in 2000. And after the loss in 2001. IN the last 2, when the output of the side he manages, has been substandard, has been the only time we have questioned his ability, and the possibility of replacing him.

And remember, Denis spent $9m making us premiership contenders, and in the last 2 season's, that has been frittered away.

We have all had 'a little bit of patience'. After 7 fruitless years, those of us passionate enough to desire our Eels to be 'up there' are not nutcases for seeking a better solution, unless, of course, you are happy to continue to lose.

I certainly think that those who are happy to se Parra losing/struggling are not in a mental state to judge those who want us to win!

Misty, you seem to have me confused with a fan boy, I at no point have ever said it wasn't his fault, I think I have said that a couple of times, but I have pointed out REASONS. Say it with me mate REASONS. I never ever used them as an excuse, I have said that I can not excuse some of the things we have done, but I had the same questions as most, and when given the opportunity asked them, I got my answers last year.

A reason allows you to address the problem and create a solution, I am a trouble-shooter by trade this is what I do, so I think that Reason is why we have the big mean ugly buggers.

Smith admitted there have been problems when in 2002 he got on the telly and said that the game and changed and we would have to change with it.

Maybe I hear things differently to you.

I am still a little disappointed no one has said anything about the game plan I suggested

Mark, do you want fries with that?

Nah thanks on a diet and have lost 22 kilos in the last 16 weeks.

Misty Bee

26kgs. Great effort. For that I applaud you :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

But I tell you what, every day for the past 12 months there has been a Smith lover bag myself and others for not being wrapt with our form, even after floggings that were of the utmost embarrassment. In fact the most negaitve aspet on these forums is not from those who see better coaching staff, but from the abuse and continued shite from those whome defend Smith. I even remember you giving me a spray - remember your 'polite letter' idea?

When Smith admitted fault last night, he rose in stature to CLOSE to where we was a few years ago. The man did more for unification of the supporter base in one lousy interview that you and others have done with 2 years of argument and verbal battery. Hell, I even copped a death threat over it, remember?

Face it, Mark, Smith blew the injury argument away. Injuries were not the reason nor the excuse. It was the argument to justify piss poor results. And as Brian Smith proved last night, the argument was WRONG! Me, Suity, Maroubra Eel and others kept telling you lot that last year. I guess it would be only fitting that you get the apologies out of the way now, although going by the conduct of the pro Smith lobby, I reckon we have as much chance of that as Daniel Wagon winning the Clive Churchill Medal at 5/8!

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Twizzle said:
Regarding his comment about Dykes defence, IMO there is only one bloke that can tackle like Joey, and that's Joey, (except perhaps Daniel Irvine).

i know this was said like, two pages ago, but Twizz, you are officially my favourite post-er now buddy!! :lol: :D

damn so much to cover.....will probably miss something I should say...........

- Changing Styles

I have said it before - it would have been dreadfully hard for Smith to change play styles in a shorter term than he has. Like he said in 2001 we had no forwards over 100kg. And the game didn't change til the back end of 2002, when the Roosters started winning and dominating play (approx Rd. 20 and onward). So there goes the 2002 trading window, as no one knew that different style of players would be needed for the 2003 competition. Come the 2003 trade window, he snapped up what he needed and hopefully we can see the results post-Rd. 20 this year.

So there was one trade window that he missed, and he missed it because everyone was still playing the 2001 style mid-season. So how has he missed chances to rebuild the team to the new style through his supposed doggedness to change his "failing" ways? This is a dubious criticism

- Injuries

What do you expect him to do? Blame it all on injuries? He did the smart thing and flicked the argument away. If he hadn't have you would have nailed him for being a crybaby who doesn't own up to his own failings. Last year Burt, Hindmarsh and Cayless played 21 out of a possible 72 games between them, but that's not going to have an affect is it? Let's not forget Brian's mention on being better able to handle sucha situation this year. Also adds weight to the pro-injury angle.

- Witt

You know what, I don't think I've ever done this before..........it's kinda like on Crackerjack with Len tipping his hat.....but...........

:clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:

Now might I add that this is the EXACT reason I have been giving for Witt not playing First Grade. We will reap the rewards of this in years to come, don't doubt that, and whether Smith is still Coach or not you will all owe him a great debt of gratitude.

- Penalties

Once again a very astute observation. Smith knows which things to pick to have a gripe about, and he is dead on the money with this one. While every fan loves a pressure relieving penalty, the game has become too fixated on zero tolerance in certain areas and the rise in penalties really removes a lot from the natural dynamic of the game at present.

Overall I was very impressed with this interview, and for those who watched it you should understand why I have been such a dogged supporter of his over the last few lean years. This bloke knows what he is doing, he knows the game of football, he is strong of character and extremely determined and focused on what he is doing.

Everyone needs to just calm down a bit, and get ready to show some patience. All we need to do is win 50% of our games and we will make the finals. We almost certainly will do better than that, and thus can optimistically look forward to a tussle for a Top 4 spot. Just eb calm and willing to hang in until the back end of the season, when the real contenders will start to stand up.

We need 1 win from the next 2 games to keep on track, so let's all get out and support them this weekend and see if we can keep ourselves ahead of the curve.

ooh forgot one thing

- Misty's "Why do we get hassled when all we are doing is criticising the team's form"

Sorry, but this is not what you are doing. It was a well pointed out fact that when we won a few games in a row (Souths/Manly) and were 4-2 that you were pretty silent. Thing is that we were playing crap in those two weeks as well, no better than other games just a bit luckier maybe. If you were criticising our Premiership credentials, you should have also spoken up here. But you were silent, showing that two points will shut you up quick smart. This means your "criticising our team's credentials" line isa load of crap, and that all you are after is a cheap win.

This shows you know very little about the way a season works, and have a very short memory (or a blackout post-1986). We were in a WORSE position than this early in 2001, yet looked what happened there!

So don't give us that same old fair criticism line again. You are only after the cheap thrill of a win, and have a tantrum every time we don't get one. Please!

Misty Bee said:
When Smith admitted fault last night, he rose in stature to CLOSE to where we was a few years ago. The man did more for unification of the supporter base in one lousy interview that you and others have done with 2 years of argument and verbal battery.

What has changed? Did BS have a sudden turn yesterday afternoon before the interview and go "damn it, its all my fault! - I'll tell everyone on TV tonight"

NOTHING has changed - except one thing - the Smith haters have finally heard something from the horses mouth and now alls happy and cheery....what does Brian have to go on TV each week and confess his sins or something to make you all happy?

BS did not admit it was all his fault last night, he admitted the game changed and Parra had to change with it - he's been admitting that for well over a year now - what's different?....He didn't dispell injuries as having no impact on our results - he acknowledged they have an affect, but didn't want it to be an excuse cos he has the balls to take alot of the heat (another thing alot of you never give him credit for).

This is the WHOLE thing that pisses me off about a big part of our supporter base. They have no frickin idea what is really going on, yet they crap on like they know what EVERYONE at the club thinks/does/eats/shits etc etc.....all they see is a premiership - anything less is unacceptable to them.

And one more thing Misty, don't go on your soap box acting like chocolate wouldn't melt in your mouth - you lay as much crap on people on this forum as anyone - but it seems you can't hack it when someone fires back at you!