Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Dave Taylor overrated ?

Dave "Peaheart" Taylor only delivers when he doesn't have to run at forwards. Blind Freddy could see this.

Noa

Ive never seen someone so big pull up so much when he's about to be hit

jonno_knights

A weapon close to the line in club footy, other than that doesnt offer a great deal.

Kasiano is/will be a much better player in the category of "big guy with skill".

Danish

How is he 30kgs overweight? Have you seen the guy in person? His thighs are as thick as most peoples torsos.

If he's playing at 122kgs as reported, then he could lose 5-7kgs at most. He would literally not be able to get down to 92kgs unless he lost most of his muscle mass.

He is a centre who eats too much so has to play in the forwards. Could easily be under 110kg if he weren't carrying so much fat around the guts and trunk in general.

Yes he would also lose some muscle to do so but I don't see how that would be detrimental to the type of game he plays, which is absolutely not a "power" game and every bit a hole running, soft hands, skillful style of play

Bretto

Yeah, I guess I agree Danish. He could definitely lose some muscle from his legs, and some flab from around the guts. It's clear he eats whatever he wants, whenever he wants in his diet from the look of him.

Frailty

Bukuya over Taylor....surely you jest.

I wouldn't trade Bukuya for Taylor...

He is better value, and aside from being dangerous on the fringes, he will get in the centre of the field and do the hard yakka effectively too.

If he was fair dinkum, he'd be a stronger mal. That would be scary, but it appears he has inherited numerous lazy genes.

Imagine someone with the ticker like Toovey in taylor's body.

Who is Dave Taylor? You must mean Big Dave Taylor. (Why the f**k does everyone have to call him this?)

And yes, he's very much overrated, lazy footballer.

Hooch

He is a centre who eats too much so has to play in the forwards. Could easily be under 110kg if he weren't carrying so much fat around the guts and trunk in general.

Yes he would also lose some muscle to do so but I don't see how that would be detrimental to the type of game he plays, which is absolutely not a "power" game and every bit a hole running, soft hands, skillful style of play

Horseshit.

You'd be mad to try and strip muscle and size off him, you'd turn him into a very average backrower-centre.

He's not that overweight either, he is just a big, wide unit. Granted he wouldn't have the skinfolds of an AFL player but he's not carrying a George Rose like gut.

As for Taylor, like everyone else, he's lazy and lacks heart.

Put him in the middle and let him sink or swim. His career will peter out in his current role within a few years anyway once he slows up a touch.

People say he carves up for souths, but it's generally against sh*t teams

He won't do anything this Friday v Brisbane, just watch

Cat of a man too, always looking to fight someone like barba, Bowen etc but literally shat his pants when Luke odonnell (who would still be giving away 15kgs) tried to go toe to toe with him

Lucky Roy

...but literally shat his pants when Luke odonnell...
Literally you say? Did he really? As in running down his legs, Nate Myles style? That's a brave, internetty sort of thing to say. I'm not sure what time training is on tomorrow or for the rest of the week but I'm sure if you check with Souths, they'll be able to tell you exactly when you'll be able to duck over to Redfern and tell him yourself. Literally.

Who is anyone who hasn't played first grade to say a player is overrated? Unless you have played at the top level you know f### all about why a player is and isn't in form. I know I don't.

Dave Taylor is as gifted a forward as has ever played the game. This whole SOO thing with him is simply the media talking him up and him not aiming up. So what happens next? He is labelled overrated blah blah blah. No. He is an extraordinary talent but his heart is missing right now. He has a confidence problem IMO. He will be the biggest waste of talent in decades if he does not find his ticker soon.

Johns Magic

Literally you say? Did he really? As in running down his legs, Nate Myles style? That's a brave, internetty sort of thing to say. I'm not sure what time training is on tomorrow or for the rest of the week but I'm sure if you check with Souths, they'll be able to tell you exactly when you'll be able to duck over to Redfern and tell him yourself. Literally.

Danish

Horseshit.

You'd be mad to try and strip muscle and size off him, you'd turn him into a very average backrower-centre.

He's not that overweight either, he is just a big, wide unit. Granted he wouldn't have the skinfolds of an AFL player but he's not carrying a George Rose like gut.

As for Taylor, like everyone else, he's lazy and lacks heart.

Put him in the middle and let him sink or swim. His career will peter out in his current role within a few years anyway once he slows up a touch.

Few if any outside backs have the hands and short kicking game that he does. Phil graham is the only one in recent years I can think of with as great a kicking brain. As for his play making ability, well he is in the Inglis class IMO for actually knowing how to put his outside man away (unlike most centres who are mostly quite selfish with the pill).

I'm hardly talking about him trying to get down to greyhound weight anyway. Anything under 110kg would make a massive difference to his endurance, agility and pace (2 of which re already pretty decent to begin with). Would help him be able to be strong in defence instead of being a liability.

He doesn't have the courage for the middle of the field. Much easier to change his body than his mind IMO.

God-King Dean

It wouldn't be an unfair fight.

Taylor would be wearing studs & by the time someone got to the heart of Redfern, you wouldn't have any shoes.

RHCP

I don't rate him as a 'freakish' talent. I'm sure there's plenty of second rowers running around in the NRL with a half decent grubber - it's just they recognise they are f**king second rowers and that isn't their job. If he wanted to be the best forward in the game rather than the best five-eighth in the game, he could be one of the best players in the game. Hopefully one day a coach can get him to want it bad enough.

You have to be tough to play in the NRL. For an NRL forward, he doesn't mix it up in the middle very often which is true, but almost every edge forward targets the little blokes.

Nemesis

People say he carves up for souths, but it's generally against sh*t teams

He won't do anything this Friday v Brisbane, just watch

Cat of a man too, always looking to fight someone like barba, Bowen etc but literally shat his pants when Luke odonnell (who would still be giving away 15kgs) tried to go toe to toe with him
You mean shit teams like the Raiders who flogged your Tigpies or other shit teams he's scored against, like the Bulldogs, Cowboys or Warriors?
... and speaking of felines Mr pot, your lot have the biggest cattery in the NRL.