Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Is Price looking better

bottle

Mate of mine has told me he lives next door to special forces guy who Price has invited to play a roll in motivating and mentoring the players and Price himself.
He took the players to the 3 day boot camp and will give the players a motivational talk on Friday.We can see the players are working hard for each other and are an improvement in defence and attitude to last year so it has made a difference having someone in his position instilling the discipline needed.
Price himself is in regular contact with this guy seeking tips etc.

See this is the sort of thing a decent coach would do to motivate his players.
Price would never do some..
Wait, wot. This is about Price?

Carry on.

Minh

Mate of mine has told me he lives next door to special forces guy who Price has invited to play a roll in motivating and mentoring the players and Price himself.
He took the players to the 3 day boot camp and will give the players a motivational talk on Friday.We can see the players are working hard for each other and are an improvement in defence and attitude to last year so it has made a difference having someone in his position instilling the discipline needed.
Price himself is in regular contact with this guy seeking tips etc.

With due respect jenninga as I respect your opinions but in a couple of games especially the Broncos game we were woeful in defense on the tryline although we have improved on that although leaking 18 points in the final 15 minutes of the Melbourne game was also a worry.

The pleasing thing about us this year has been the improved attack, I believe our D needs to be better if we are any chance of featuring in September/October footy.

Father Ted

See this is the sort of thing a decent coach would do to motivate his players.
Price would never do some..
Wait, wot. This is about Price?

Carry on.

Price is trying to improve himself I have no doubt of that . But picking Green to mark Jennings has me wondering?

With due respect jenninga as I respect your opinions but in a couple of games especially the Broncos game we were woeful in defense on the tryline although we have improved on that although leaking 18 points in the final 15 minutes of the Melbourne game was also a worry.

The pleasing thing about us this year has been the improved attack, I believe our D needs to be better if we are any chance of featuring in September/October footy.

Mary is accountable for the teams attack and Price is accountable (amongst other things) for the teams defence.

GT0007

No arguement that our defense needs to improve but we leaked 12 points against Melb with 15 players and 12 on the field for the last 90 seconds. Most teams would've leaked 2 tries against Melb at home in those circumstances. I DON'T COUNT THE LAST TRY AS IT WAS NOT DURING THE 80MINS. Against the warriors it improved slightly as well but not enough, most of it is basic stuff so I don't know what Craig Young is doing with them? Maybe time to find a defensive coach that was renouned for his defense??????

emack

We are starting to sound like the referees excuses, one ref then two, then two in the video review box and still the excuses and bone headed mistakes continue..........In this thread I've heard Mary is in charge of offense and Craig Young is in charge of defense.........two questions: 1.WTF does Price do and 2. Wouldn't it be cheaper (and so much simpler) to get a decent head coach who could do it all and actually be a leader??????? Just a thought...............

Minh

No arguement that our defense needs to improve but we leaked 12 points against Melb with 15 players and 12 on the field for the last 90 seconds. Most teams would've leaked 2 tries against Melb at home in those circumstances. I DON'T COUNT THE LAST TRY AS IT WAS NOT DURING THE 80MINS. Against the warriors it improved slightly as well but not enough, most of it is basic stuff so I don't know what Craig Young is doing with them? Maybe time to find a defensive coach that was renouned for his defense??????

True, and we have a big test against the Chooks. An acid test if you like.:D

jenninga

Agree with a couple of games our defence could have been better,and any team can concede back to back tries these days,but on a whole our workrate is an improvement this year.
It is still early so hopefully we will keep mproving.

jenninga

We are starting to sound like the referees excuses, one ref then two, then two in the video review box and still the excuses and bone headed mistakes continue..........In this thread I've heard Mary is in charge of offense and Craig Young is in charge of defense.........two questions: 1.WTF does Price do and 2. Wouldn't it be cheaper (and so much simpler) to get a decent head coach who could do it all and actually be a leader??????? Just a thought...............

Every team has COACHING STAFF.

GT0007

WTF..............what other head coach in the NRL can't manage the entire game plan?????

Makes it difficult when you already have 2 players out of the game, it may be the case we had to make the last interchange as the player was a liability at the time or the last interchange may have been Thompson in which case it wasn't a choice

GT0007

True, and we have a big test against the Chooks. An acid test if you like.:D

I think if Price plays anyone other than Thompson in the centres this week we will be in trouble but if I was Price I would name Green regardless and spring a last minute change as I'm sure nearly their entire game plan will be aimed at him and otherwise at our poor marker defense. At least we should win the penalty count!

See u all at the game!

dragonreddy

Agree with a couple of games our defence could have been better,and any team can concede back to back tries these days,but on a whole our workrate is an improvement this year.
It is still early so hopefully we will keep mproving.

Agree with what you say, but as yet we have only had victories against the more questionable teams, Melbourne we shouldve won but they are no where near where they have been in the last couple of seasons ,Tigers ,team was crook from the boil story, the Warriors and Sharks both got their own sets of dramas and are not great ,so it will be interesting to see how we go in the upcoming run of games, lets hope you are right about the improving.

Dezziedc

Agree with what you say, but as yet we have only had victories against the more questionable teams, Melbourne we shouldve won but they are no where near where they have been in the last couple of seasons ,Tigers ,team was crook from the boil story, the Warriors and Sharks both got their own sets of dramas and are not great ,so it will be interesting to see how we go in the upcoming run of games, lets hope you are right about the improving.

To be fair, Manly and the Dogs are the only 2 teams currently in the 8 that were expected to be in the 8. All the other teams I would have thought would have been in the bottom 8. Definitely the Eels, Tigers, Titans, Dragons have no right to be in the top 8 given last season. Broncos are always an unknown and the Panthers have bought well and are putting up a good showing so far.

I know it's sacrilege but I have tipped against the Dragons this weekend. Solely because I don't think we are up to the quality of footy that we all know the Roosters can play - even if they haven't been winning consistently this year. This is a marquee game and I think they will rise to the occasion more than we will. I believe, like many on here do, that we still have some work to do to bring us up to a standard to rival the better teams - especially in the forwards. We have shown some improvement but it is the first year of what I see as a rebuild and I would expect that we will probably struggle against some of the better teams.

I would love to be proven wrong this weekend though...

bottle

Price is trying to improve himself I have no doubt of that . But picking Green to mark Jennings has me wondering?

Hasn't happened yet FT so we can hold fire.
We won't know for sure until game day.

emack said:
Before you place too much stock in that look at who is making that statement.
It's a standard line getting flogged, a common strategy for that poster.
As with ANY head coach Price has a team of assistants that he delegates responsibilities too. Same under Bennett, Browny, Arthur under Toovey last year eg, so on and so forth.
Don't read too much into it.

R&WTILLIDIE

Price still doesn't convince me. He persisted in having Stanley at dummy half. The whole world could see it was a mistake. He only realised this 2 weeks ago.

The whole world thinks Green is shithouse and shouldn't play against the Roosters except Price.

Either he can see something in Green that we can't when he plays or he has rocks in his head...I'm thinking the latter.

getsmarty

Price still doesn't convince me. He persisted in having Stanley at dummy half. The whole world could see it was a mistake. He only realised this 2 weeks ago.

The whole world thinks Green is shithouse and shouldn't play against the Roosters except Price.

Either he can see something in Green that we can't when he plays or he has rocks in his head...I'm thinking the latter.

Exactly...and this goes with his other stupid experiments in years gone by. WE NEED TO RECRUIT a PROPER COACH WITH THE RUNS ON THE BOARD.

bottle

It isn't game day yet. We don't know who will be playing in the centres.
Sheesh, you guys need some blood pressure pills and a big dose of Valium. Settle, all will be revealed.