Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Opinion Is Ricky Stuart the most overrated coach ever?

Rosetta

Raiders had ample opportunity to win the match today, once Penrith got 2 tries in front they shut up shop with about 25 to go and didn't even try to score another point whilst Canberra blew chance after chance and frustrated themselves into another loss.

Stuart's tirade was just bizarre, there's been at least 2 poorer refereed matches this weekend and dozens more so far this season.

insert.pause

even his tantrums don't make any sense, admits they beat themselves through "trying to hard" and then blames the refs for losing.

Put Tim Mannah beside him and it's 2013 all over again. Very similar to his time at the Sharks as well.

Thankfully the Raiders management decided he was the man to take them forward and poach him from us. Great job, enjoy.

In saying that I am thankful for his clean out of the club and the fact he managed to sign the likes of Peats and Norman to add to some very exciting youngsters and some blokes that wanted to prove a point. I do feel that he may not have played a considerable part in their recruitment outside of wanting them however.

God-King Dean

Read this in the Greenhouse.

I'll tell you a story about Ricky Stuart.

When I was about 19 or 20 me and a mate were playing pool at the Dickson tradies when Ricky Stuart and John Cartright came over and challenged to a game of doubles pool for the table. He had Jamie soward and a few others in his entourage.

Stuart farted during the game and blamed me. His entourage thought is was hilarious. Me and my mate won the game, however, Cartwright and Stuart bullied us into giving up the table so he and his entourage could use it. He grabbed the cue from my mates hand and set up for a new game.

Not much of a story really, but this is the character of the bloke who is charge of us. I reckon he would have been around 40 at the time.

I'm not sure if it's a true story, or a metaphor. Either way, it sums him up.

nick87

:lol: Best story ever! :lol:

Sticky dropping bomb and laying the blame on others, good stuff

God-King Dean

lol, I love how has a spin on every single loss.

Apparently he's protecting his players by having a whinge.

The journalists were laughing at him after he stormed off.

Diesel

I'm sure he must've been drinking throughout the game with that press conference, it was just rambling.

nick87

I blame it on my 6 month
he's constantly dropping bombs anyways, what difference does it make if he cops the blame for 13 a day or 9?

Sensai Cobra

Stuart's tirade was just bizarre, there's been at least 2 poorer refereed matches this weekend and dozens more so far this season.

Agree on this, the blokes an absolute joke.

The sad thing is there's a whole new bunch of poor Canberra fans who are falling for this shit.

That presser was simply was breathtaking.

Stuart's behaviour during the press conference was a study in mental fragility. First year psychology students could assess the footage and diagnosis his underlying problems. As a player and during the early stages of his coaching career he was typically cocky and abrasive but years of failure as a coach has brought him to the precipice of a breakdown. Look at the press conference again and you'll notice that his voice is wavering, he is lost for words on a number of occasions and at other times he displays hostility towards the journalists without reason. He looks as if he's in the final throes of denial and he's finally be coming around to the realisation that he's not a good coach. Given Stuart's competitive nature it would be a very sobering epiphany for him.

That's my pseudo-analysis for you.