Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Italian Connection comes under scrutiny

Dymock

I reckon the fuse they tried to light is a bit wet....

I don't agree. There are some concerning aspects to the nespaper reports on Spagnolo's business dealings and I don't think that people would have agreed to have in charge if they had known. The Parramatta Club needs to be completely above board. That is the only way that we can keep our supporter base and and attract new people to the club. Shady business deals and questionable behaviour will just turn people away.

My thoughts are that there has been a tax rort in Spagnolo's business dealings. That is the imputation that McClymont and Magnay are making.

At least our players are clean.

He's not going to do this but Spagnolo must resign.

My position is that Fitzy held us back. He brought to the club bad karma and the public / sponsors perception was poor.

A new board provided us with a professional, clean image. Osborne will do the same.

Mud sticks and Spag's gotta go IMO. Where there's smoke, there's fire.

Bring in Sid Kelly as Chairperson or even Lynn Wallace (provided he/she has no skeletons in his/her closet) so we can move on !

Do I need to say that Zapps should not be allowed within 100m of O'Connell Street ?

Jodeci

Great campaign by the Herald.

Were we not complaining about the Telegraph dragging our club through the thick mud???

I really dont see what Roy has done wrong.

If anything, he has helped us.

Would Tahu and Co stayed for less money? The Club would of for example offered Timana $200k for a Season.

Roy would of clearly made the point to Dennis and Tahu that just sign for the $200k so we can fit you under the cap and Roy (at the time no involved in the club as such only a sponsor) would of helped Timana make some investment decisions where Timana would of pocketed some extra cash purely on smart advice.

For what we know, even Hindy could of been another one who may have pocketed from a Smart Investment...

These things have been happening for years. If anything, all player managers need to be on alert.

Sparky 74

If that were the case of an Italian Connection at the EELS, Why haven't Parra buy some NRL titles LOL

They can say to the Broncos for example let us win the comp or you find a broncos head in your bed LOL

Police, Tax Office move in

Jacquelin Magnay and Kate McClymont | July 7, 2009

THE chairman of the Parramatta Eels, Roy Spagnolo, is being investigated by NSW police over alleged threats he made to former Eels chief executive Denis Fitzgerald. Mr Spagnolo has also come under the scrutiny of the Australian Taxation Office over his involvement in failed companies, leaving the Tax Office out of pocket by about $1 million.
Mr Fitzgerald filed a formal complaint at Gladesville police station on Sunday about a threat he said Mr Spagnolo had made in the Chairman's Club Lounge at CUA Stadium Penrith on Sunday evening.
The Herald revealed yesterday that Mr Fitzgerald said Mr Spagnolo told him: "I will bury you."
Yesterday Mr Spagnolo issued a statement saying he denied the allegation. "A conversation took place between Mr Fitzgerald and myself, however no threats were made, we shook hands at the end and moved on."
Gladesville police said they were investigating an alleged threat made against a Gladesville man and their inquiries were continuing.
Tax insiders say the pattern of Spagnolo-related companies using the same liquidator, in this case Peter Ngan, having a Spagnolo employee, Xavier Lo, control proxies at creditor meetings and having related entities as small creditors is similar to a "phoenix operation", and is a top priority for the Tax Office.
Unrelated to the Spagnolo companies, the Tax Office has specialist investigators specifically looking at phoenix operations as part of a $70 million four-year program.
"Phoenix arrangements - that is, attempts to evade tax through the deliberate, systematic and sometimes cyclical liquidation of related corporate trading entities - continue to be a focus," the Tax Office said.
"Where we have evidence of offences that may warrant prosecution, we will continue to work with the Australian Federal Police and the Commonwealth Director of Public Prosecutions."
The tax commissioner said between July 2008 and March 2009 $38.6 million in tax and penalties was raised from phoenix cases.
Meanwhile the NRL has started its own salary cap investigation into property transactions of Parramatta players after Mr Spagnolo revealed that he and his friend, the property developer Vince Lombardo, had guaranteed land deals with two players.
Mr Spagnolo said in a statement: "The Parramatta NRL Club is committed to working with the NRL in relation to any alleged salary cap breaches recently reported.
"The club is adamant no breach took place, however it will assist in ensuring this matter is investigated thoroughly."
http://www.smh.com.au/news/lhqnews/police-tax-office-move-in/2009/07/06/1246732285836.html

fish eel

Spagnolo should not resign.

That is an admission of guilt and a kneejerk response to stories which are nothing more than innuendo and unproven accusations - and a resignation is exactly the reaction sought by the media and whomever is feeding them the information.

What he should do is keep his head down, not provide a running commentary on whatever is reported (which only gives the stories more oxyegen) and ensure that the club openly co-operate with any investigations into the cap the NRL conduct.

We won't get done for Salary cap rorts because Roy wasn't apart of the club at that stage. He gave advise as a player manager not chairman. It's not hard to figure out and it's actually very smart of him.

As for Roy resigning, he should not. Unless he has broken the law.....

I like his can do attitude, he will be awesome for Parra.

SMH is trying very hard to make a story on this, They won't get anyweher with Salary cap rort accusation as for Roy and Tax evation we will see......

But anyone who wants Roy to resign now when nothing has been proved are stupid!!

Sangreal 86

My position is that Fitzy held us back. He brought to the club bad karma and the public / sponsors perception was poor.

A new board provided us with a professional, clean image. Osborne will do the same.

Mud sticks and Spag's gotta go IMO. Where there's smoke, there's fire.

Bring in Sid Kelly as Chairperson or even Lynn Wallace (provided he/she has no skeletons in his/her closet) so we can move on !

Do I need to say that Zapps should not be allowed within 100m of O'Connell Street ?

We have taken the Chairman off Vino and Grapa, absolutely no pasta or pizza, and if he talks to his Mother in Italian, he has an electric probe to the nether regions. Patting horses heads is totally forbidden, and the said horses heads should remain connected to the horses body.
There will be no family festivities with Italian smorgesboards, but we are introducing a new dish to the Tinga Palace, Number 86....Egg on face with sweet and sour sauce.

eels81236

We have taken the Chairman off Vino and Grapa, absolutely no pasta or pizza, and if he talks to his Mother in Italian, he has an electric probe to the nether regions. Patting horses heads is totally forbidden, and the said horses heads should remain connected to the horses body.
There will be no family festivities with Italian smorgesboards, but we are introducing a new dish to the Tinga Palace, Number 86....Egg on face with sweet and sour sauce.

Ironically, The could only get Capone for tax evasion.

Let's all hope that it's not the legends who are forced to eat this dish.

well apparently you don't HAVE to be a sponsor to be involved in salary cap breaches - it says ANYONE ..... tbh I think this is the type of stuff clubs like the roosters, manly, etc, who are well connected have done for years - and we all call them salary cap rorters - so I dunno, maybe we aren't as "clean" as we thought

as for roy and his tax stuff .... well tbh it seems very dodgy to me - but we'll see what the tax dept comes out with first ....... those defending him - in ALL honesty, if it was Fitzy or some old board member with this hanging over them, would you be all "oh it doesn't matter" - I don't think so, you'd want him fired asap

eels81236

well apparently you don't HAVE to be a sponsor to be involved in salary cap breaches - it says ANYONE ..... tbh I think this is the type of stuff clubs like the roosters, manly, etc, who are well connected have done for years - and we all call them salary cap rorters - so I dunno, maybe we aren't as "clean" as we thought

as for roy and his tax stuff .... well tbh it seems very dodgy to me - but we'll see what the tax dept comes out with first ....... those defending him - in ALL honesty, if it was Fitzy or some old board member with this hanging over them, would you be all "oh it doesn't matter" - I don't think so, you'd want him fired asap

:clap: