Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Its that time of year. Your top 17 for 2010 and general discussion for 2010

lol... ryan stig... fair dinkum.

ok ok, time for me to stop bagging teams and pick my own.

1. Gidley
2. McManus
3. Sau
4. MacDougall
5. Vuna
6. Mullen
7. Tim Smith (*sigh.. i wish)... Scott Dureau
8. Taufua
9. De Gois
10. Cross
11. Simpson
12. Taia
13. Hilder

14. Rogers
15. Tuimavave
16. Fa'aoso
17. Houston

that would be my team. i'm sick of benches built around would "could" happen in a footy match (i.e injury to the outside backs etc). i think this bench gives us maximum impact in the areas we need it, and i think the starting team is as strong and resilient as possible. House can slip into the back row from the bench and into prop *IF NECESSARY*. other than that, you've got dodge to come on and chance his arm.. as he does.. and you have 2 very good impact props in fa'aoso and evarn.

Misanthrope

You'd drop Gidley for Jnr Burger? WT

Whoa. I meant to shift him to the centres, put McDonnell on a wing, and give Jimmy or Vuna a go at fullback. Not full time - but I'd be curious to see how Kurt went in the centres.

Adsy

1. Gidley
2. McManus
3. Mata'utai
4. MacDogual
5. Uate
6. Mullen
7. Dureau
8. Cross
9. DeGois
10. Taufua
11. Housten
12. Taia
13. Hilder

14. Simpson
15. Rogers
16. Fa'aoso
17. Tolar

Left out - Vuna, Sau, Patterson, Ciraldo, Tuimavauve, Wicks & Tovo who should all get a run later on due to injuries, etc.

Karmawave

Might need to tweak your round 1 line ups.

Hilder and Simpson both facing 2 weeks on the sidelines suspended to start 2009 after being cited from the Bulldogs game.

Lovely start to the year that one. Mullen/Taia/De Gois all having major off season reconstructive surgeries, and Hilder/Simpson possibly out for the first 2 weeks.

Jono078

ARRRRRRRGHHHHHHHHHHHH please bring back Dureau if that is what it comes down to.
In the 3 games i've seen from him he's been classy in 2 and sh*t in 1.

He has 2 things Dureau doesn't. Speed and size.

Whether he can organize and kick as good as Dureau is another thing.

Adsy

Would trials not eliminate those suspensions?

FTR, Hilder's wasn't that bad. House trying to flip a guy on his back while he is in mid-air with a team mate holding his legs was fairly dumb.

Might need to tweak your round 1 line ups.

Hilder and Simpson both facing 2 weeks on the sidelines suspended to start 2009 after being cited from the Bulldogs game.

Lovely start to the year that one. Mullen/Taia/De Gois all having major off season reconstructive surgeries, and Hilder/Simpson possibly out for the first 2 weeks.
if it's only 2 weeks then we'll see them in round 1. NRL sanctioned trials count towards suspensions.

NS_Sherlock

Sau will come into his own at centre when we stop trying to use him as a fwd to make yards from our own line and set the backs up with a bit of outside space to run in.
I suspect it might be time for Pato to take a break for a while. I'd love to see him out there and in form but ....
It was so long ago that Ciraldo played that I can't recall what sort of form he is in. We had confidence to resign him so I think he'll get a go.
Has Tolar retained any sort of physique or match fitness or might he need a lot of work in the off-season if he is to feature at all?

Yosh

HERE I GO!!!

1. Kidley
2. Uate (New and improved playing up to potential version)
3. McManus (New and improved centre version)
4. Sau (New and improved version with new special abilities: mainly passing)
5. Vuna

6. Mullen
7. Dureau (New and improved version)

8. Tuimavave
9. De Gois
10. Cross (Upgraded less injury prone version)
11. Simmo (The version that played against the Panthers)
12. Patto
13. House (Upgraded no penalty version)

14. Hilder (Cover all positions across the field)
15. Taufua (Cover mostly backrow)
16. Faas (QLD rep version ^^)
17. Wicks (Even leaner version)

Reserves: Tolar, Rogers, Karawana, Wes, Pete Mata'uai

Not a bad team if they play how I wish they would ^^

Cheers,
Yosh

Spike

1 Gidley
2 McManus
3 MacDougall
4 Sau
5 Vuna
6 Mullen
7 Dureau
8 Taufua
9 De Gois
10 Tolar
11 Houston
12 Taia
13 Hilder

14 Rogers
15 Cross
16 Fa'aoso
17 Simpson

TooheysNew

HERE I GO!!!

1. Kidley
2. Uate (New and improved playing up to potential version)
3. McManus (New and improved centre version)
4. Sau (New and improved version with new special abilities: mainly passing)
5. Vuna

6. Mullen
7. Dureau (New and improved version)

8. Tuimavave
9. De Gois
10. Cross (Upgraded less injury prone version)
11. Simmo (The version that played against the Panthers)
12. Patto
13. House (Upgraded no penalty version)

14. Hilder (Cover all positions across the field)
15. Taufua (Cover mostly backrow)
16. Faas (QLD rep version ^^)
17. Wicks (Even leaner version)

Reserves: Tolar, Rogers, Karawana, Wes, Pete Mata'uai

Not a bad team if they play how I wish they would ^^

Cheers,
Yosh
You are a really odd kid.

roopy

It's hard to know where Stone sees the team going.
He was presented with the team and plays put in place by Smith, and he really couldn't make big changes in the month or so that he had to work with the team, but he can do what he likes in the off season.
I honestly can't see where he will go with the team. The only real decision he has made was to drop Uate for McDonnell, which wasn't exactly a positive step.

Alex28

I would be most interested to see how many tries were scored by the Bulldogs down Morris' side of the field in comparison to Macdougall's side of the field. It would not surprise me at all if they scored double the tries to what we scored.

And if people are happy and content with that, then great. Go on supporting your incredibly mediocre team. Other teams develop superstars. Other team go and poach the gun juniors of other teams.

What do we do? Re-sign Doogs.

Where the f*** is our Jennings? I don't want us just to be average...

See...the thing is that we stayed alive to make it to the finals due to defence rather than attack. We wont win a premiership on defence.