Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jack Bird

SharkShocked

A FURIOUS Cronulla coach Shane Flanagan has unloaded on Queensland media for “rubbish” speculation surrounding Jack Bird’s NRL future.
And the Sharks mentor took a return swipe at Brisbane counterpart Wayne Bennett, who got involved in the rumours of a potential contract backflip when speaking to the Courier Mail.

The suggestion Bird is considering backflipping on his lucrative Broncos deal to stay in the Shire have been doing the rounds for the past week.

His father Mick and Brisbane coach Bennett both hosed down the speculation on Wednesday, while also taking a dig at the 2016 premiers for their supposed treatment of the young Origin star.

Flanagan didn’t hold back when asked about the reports at his press conference on Thursday.

“I think it’s terrible, he’s shattered today, Jack,” Flanagan said.

“A young bloke to make a decision to move from a club that he made his debut (at), was rookie of the year, where he won a grand final ... it’s a tough decision.

“He went over it for three months and he decided to go to Brisbane, and we’re supporting him in that.

“There’s no one in this place that is trying to coerce or change Jack’s mind. We’re trying to help him through these tough times.

“At different stages, week to week, Jack has second thoughts. But that’s just a young bloke, and that’s just natural that we all have.

“He’ll be at Brisbane next year, no doubt about it.

“All the talk over the border that he’s backflipping in one column and then he’s unhappy in the next, I just don’t get it.

“Stop the rubbish from the other side of the border. He’ll be there next year.

“But he’s a special player and he’ll hold a special part of this club’s history, and we treat him like everyone else.

“That’s why he has some of these moments, but any young bloke would struggle with some of those decisions that he’s made, and that’s fine.

“We’ll be looking after him, treating his injuries and sending him up there as a grand final winning player.”

Flanagan was asked about Bennett’s recent comments surrounding Bird’s pending arrival at Red Hill, where the Broncos coach suggested the talented centre had been stifled by the Sharks’ game plan.

Bennett also took a shot at the “scaremongering” tactics of people south of the Tweed, referring to the backflip rumours.

Flanagan was blunt.

“Couldn’t give a damn what Wayne says, seriously,” he said.

“All the rubbish that he’s going to enjoy it more up there, all that stuff, I just don’t get it.

“He can do what he likes. It doesn’t interest me.

“Whatever he’s saying, I don’t read it, I don’t listen to it.”

The ugly episode provides an interesting sidenote to Friday night’s blockbuster clash between Brisbane and Cronulla at Suncorp Stadium.

While Bird will miss the game through a shoulder injury, Thursday’s press conferences ensure there will be plenty of feeling between the clubs.

SadShark

Macguire is the kaarnt.

Fifita, Gal, step on the kaarnt's neck in the play the ball, then grind studs through the larynx stepping "out of the way".

I think that's how the kaarnt usually does it to other players, no?

shadowboxer

I'm catching up with Jack's old man over the weekend so I will be finding out the facts rather than the fiction
ask him how many XXXX's he had before speaking to the journo from "Picture magazine" and if he went to the Lichaa school of diplomacy.
Talk about turning a match into a blowtorch on his boy.
On Bennett though, what a load of dribble, as someone else commented he must be under pressure to talk or even comment on it, he doesn't feel the need to speak normally but he must have had an inkling these RUMOURS were true.

Card Shark

Poor jack, it's terrible what's been happening to him!!

It's also terrible that he might have to dip into his multi-million $ contract & fly to Brisbane to support his footy team.

Bloody terrible!

sandshark

Poor jack, it's terrible what's been happening to him!!

It's also terrible that he might have to dip into his multi-million $ contract & fly to Brisbane to support his footy team.

Bloody terrible!
Poor lad! Hope it doesn't dip into the pocket too much.
I would hate for him to have to skip an hour of over-eating!
Maybe he could spend the weekend in the gym working on those chicken legs that are supposed to hold up all that gut of his!

sandshark

And why the hell does he need to be in Brisbane when not playing.
Is he that scared that Capewell will have a blast at centre and they'll forget about him?

snout

Once again.

I dont get the Bird hate.

The guy has smashed merkins whilst wearing our jumper.

He did the job whilst busted in the GF.

Hes had some ordinary moments this year but f**k me.....Townsend fifita holmes are some who are heading the list of non-impactors.

And Beale. Bird with one arm does more damage.

Im f**king rapt the bloke wants to be at suncorp with the team.
Theres NOTHING negative about that.
Staying in sydney to play x-box...yep.

He will be back and he will make a mark in september.

Without doubt.

Once again.

He did the job whilst busted in the which GF.

Hes had some ordinary moments this year but f**k me.....Townsend fifita holmes are some who are heading the list of non-impactors.

Without doubt.

I think his old man is the one who should shut the f**k up.
Including his son in his little dummy spit opinion.
Dumb merkin.

Willie Ray

"We'll be looking after him,treating his injuries and sending him up there as a grand final winning player."
There's a little shot in there just to remind Wayne who won the title last year.

Weaponhead

Once again.

He did the job whilst busted in the GF.

Without doubt.
Hating on players is what makes rugby league.

Bird is a total non event this year. 2 tries all season. Lots if errors to go with. Hype and output completely out of whack.

The Creepin Jesus and the Murdoch f**king rags are just playing their grubby games. Bennett in company with the Brissie lie sheets did a job on the Tits Ash Taylor before last weeks game and now he is trying the same old card trick this week.

I reckon Flanno should be going on about Alfie not getting a jersey considering he is on the field longer than most the Donkeys forwards and how he (Flanno) doesn't want to see the Donks piggy backed out of their own quarter during the early part of their games. It seems to happen most Lang Park games.

fizman

I HATE this situation and frankly this is playing straight into the Broncos hands.

If Flanno doesn't get control I think we will be ill disciplined and cop an absolute flogging up there.

Secondly, after listening to Flanno's interview I would say that the boys have been giving him an absolute gobful about going to Brisbane.

It is clear that he is not emotonally strong and is not coping with the digs which is why the Welfare Officers are involved.

I don't see this ending well for us which pisses me off because the two headed imbeciles are my most hated club.

Card Shark

Agree Fiz, it's making us look bad...that's the media manipulation.

There's no doubt he's copped plenty of digs about it.

Maybe it's a good thing he's going!

sandshark

He certainly has done nothing this year to warrant steady selection in Origin and Club Footy. Thought he'd snap out of it once he sorted his future but it hasn't changed one bit.
Someone said earlier that he is still living off a great debut, which is probably correct.

I just want to know why his Daddy thinks Bird is being mistreated, I know Flanno stated the guys were giving him stick for signing with Broncos earlier in the year but surely he can't be still hung up on that. There must be something else happening in the background.