Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jake Arthur

T-Boon

Getting back to Jake Arthurs the positives (top 5):
1. He was standing in the right spot almost all the time for a half back;
2. He was moving when he caught the ball (in under 8s for example players usually are standing still - he never ONCE did that);
3. Every time there was a reverse inside handoff pass (what do they call these?) he nailed it;
4. He kicked when it was time to kick and was 100% successful getting a kick of some sort away.
5. His dad brought the oranges for half time (or made sure someone else did).

People like you accepted plodders like Alvaro and Mannah. I remember back then me and Ram along with gleeneel called them powder puffs and even back then saying we need hard nosed forwards.
It's nice to see BA has a similar view and pissed these cushions off. He also understands the key to power and aggression in NRL.

You'd make a good touch footy scout. f**king rabbit
Yep. Got rid of them overnight. Didn’t even need to worry about building a good squad or even think about that pesky salary cap. Great work BA!

The point is that we will always produce average players, but supporters like Hindy and me will never get to excited about that other then just supporting them as Parra players and having a soft spot because of that.

We on the other hand will blow a gasket over a real elite level player as do other players in the NRL that will want to play along side them thus making it much easier to assemble a quality roster.

Elite is the goal, not a production line of average merkins that will guarantee you a perpetual cycle of mediocrity.

And if you want to keep producing elite level players, then you need to have the best scouts bringing them to the club either from your catchment area or from anywhere else. The key is the people we have in place to do this job.

Period!
You’ve changed your tune since we started. You now accept that we will produce plenty of average players. Before you were demanding that they are elite.

I don’t get excited about average players. I just understand that they are a necessary part of any squad. Turn every junior into a superstar and you’ll gift 90% of them to other clubs.

Getting back to Jake Arthurs the positives (top 5):
1. He was standing in the right spot almost all the time for a half back;
2. He was moving when he caught the ball (in under 8s for example players usually are standing still - he never ONCE did that);
3. Every time there was a reverse inside handoff pass (what do they call these?) he nailed it;
4. He kicked when it was time to kick and was 100% successful getting a kick of some sort away.
5. His dad brought the oranges for half time (or made sure someone else did).
6. He isn’t @T-Boon

TheRam

You’ve changed your tune since we started. You now accept that we will produce plenty of average players. Before you were demanding that they are elite.

I don’t get excited about average players. I just understand that they are a necessary part of any squad. Turn every junior into a superstar and you’ll gift 90% of them to other clubs.

Haven't changed any tune. read it properly.

TheRam

FFS Guts! Hyperbole much. Get a grip man.

We have a fairly elite spine at the moment, so I don't know what the hell you are on about. We have managed to keep all our good players of late. We are a good club and only getting better fool.
I agree with your second sentence, especially where you called me a fool. But we still don't have the recruitment/retention power of the Chooks or even Souths. And our spine might have potential but there's no way a spine can be described as elite with less than 300 games between them.

I just watched the replay. @TheRam I would like to hear your thoughts.

For mine.

Hollis was everywhere. Tackling and running. His movement is excellent and runs hard. Once he puts on a little more muscle and strength he will be a very good prop. I like the way he tackle. This big arms wrap the ball up well....

Papali'i looked the most seasoned and match hardened.

Lussick has excellent acceleration from dummy half. He can offer more then I thought.

Arthur - Not slow. He glides well on his feet and ran down Ramsey. Looked more composed then Moses ever has.

Now here is what I also felt.

Penisini could be very good. The way he moves and takes off and sees space. Not the biggest but already looked far more explosive then Opacic. He might be in the NRL come mid season.

The other guy I liked was Naiduku. An unpolished gem. You could see the enthusiasm. Strong and hungry. Could have a very big future. Put him in the black book.

Arthur's,Penisini,Naiuku and Hollis all impressed me. I reckon all 4 will play NRL in their careers. Russell didn't get much of a chance so I didn't take much note. The other wingers did nothing to impress me. Haze looked ok I guess.

Hipgrave looked like a huge plodder. Hollis looked twice as good.

T-Boon

We finished 3rd last year and we did it with our number 7 playing within himself. You can't do that if you haven't go an elite spine mate.

I don't see it that way, we finished 3rd by doing just enough in most game and we got a jump on everyone straight after the covid break that set us up.

There is no way our 9,7,1 is elite. Gutherson is maybe 5th best fullback, Moses middle of the pack 7thish. Mahoney is not top 10 for dummy halves.

Delboy

I agree with your second sentence, especially where you called me a fool. But we still don't have the recruitment/retention power of the Chooks or even Souths. And our spine might have potential but there's no way a spine can be described as elite with less than 300 games between them.
Those clubs are no better than us, but they have Uncle Nick and Russell Crowe, let’s be honest those 2 patriarchs have moved those clubs beyond their real level. The NRL world would look different without their influence in front and behind the scenes for clubs that were ordinary before their arrival .

Parramatta is the largest growing area I feel in Australia. Anyone who doesn't see it in person or how it has changed in the last 20yrs wouldn't understand the development of the area. Now full of sky scrapers and soon to be light rail. Not to mention a metro direct line to the CBD. A new beaut stadium. Amazing restaurants.
We are the envy of the NRL. And the thing that the NRL needs to survive is a strong Parramatta,Brisbane,Penrith,Newcastle,Canberra. These clubs along with the geographical side moving forward offer the most to the game.

I don't see it that way, we finished 3rd by doing just enough in most game and we got a jump on everyone straight after the covid break that set us up.

There is no way our 9,7,1 is elite. Gutherson is maybe 5th best fullback, Moses middle of the pack 7thish. Mahoney is not top 10 for dummy halves.

Agree.... But I reckon potentialy our spine is elite if the two young guys build and if Moses remains form.

T-Boon

Parramatta is the largest growing area I feel in Australia. Anyone who doesn't see it in person or how it has changed in the last 20yrs wouldn't understand the development of the area. Now full of sky scrapers and soon to be light rail. Not to mention a metro direct line to the CBD. A new beaut stadium. Amazing restaurants.
We are the envy of the NRL. And the thing that the NRL needs to survive is a strong Parramatta,Brisbane,Penrith,Newcastle,Canberra. These clubs along with the geographical side moving forward offer the most to the game.

I get Parra, Bris and Newc and maybe Canb ...but why Penrith?
Penrith is a sub-suburb.

You’ve just agreed with the point that I made to Hindy.

Some of. Correct. Not all of.

If you develop players you will be better off than trying to acquire them. Even the best clubs have average first graders and back ups. If we don’t have any of those it will completely f**k up our ability to recruit anyone.
Most of the Roosters backups and solid first graders they developed themselves. Most of their stars played first grade somewhere else first (Tedesco, Keary, Cronk, JWH, Crichton, Jennings, Maloney, SBW).