Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

James Roberts

the_saints

He wants the best possible offer which is understandable .. Prime position at full back jack bird is out of the question.. decided to stay with the shire deadbeats anyway we shouldn't play 3rd wheel to this Jerry can

Seriously fk this James Roberts bloke piss off to the petrol sniffers or go to Rort hill ...

I suspect that the James Roberts well may have been poisoned by other people (no names).

But... this all smells like typical Mundineish Narcissism to me. We obviously didn't erect a big enough statue to honour what in Antony's mind is the worlds greatest athlete, and, we didn't get down and pray. The reason for this insult, was clearly racially motivated.

I'm just thinking that perhaps JR has been radicalised? ;-)

younan21

James Roberts has just followed Brisbane Broncos on Instagram which means he will be a Bronco in 2016. #NRL #worstkeptsecret

Rugby league news just posted that on twitter

GC Dragon

He should follow Souths and the Dragons as well ...Then he could read ALL the bullshit being written about him .

TruSaint

He should follow Souths and the Dragons as well ...Then he could read ALL the bullshit being written about him .

Dragons still very keen.
Just dont know if he wants to go to France yet. Coach Laurent Frayssinous is trying hard to secure a deal. More to come... Stand by..

whilst it would be great to pick up Roberts, won't lose any sleep if we don't sign him.

He has a troubled past and seems to be using us to ratchet up his price. We are clearly not hi first choice.

Our overall depth is excellent, expect us to play finals footy and if we get our share of the 50/50 calls to press deep in to the finals series

Blood Shot Eyes

Dragons still very keen.
Just dont know if he wants to go to France yet. Coach Laurent Frayssinous is trying hard to secure a deal. More to come... Stand by..

Mate as much as I would like to have Roberts with us I'm almost certain he will be with The Brisbane Donkeys ....put it this way I would like to be assured of winning lotto that he will end up there.

I still don't understand why the Dragons aren't the favorites to sign Roberts.

We have the opportunity to create the extra salary cap space needed by letting Matta 'Utia move to the Titans.

We can at least match any 3rd party deal by involving WIN TV / Gorden.

We can give Roberts the prized fullback spot which he craves and if it proves not to be a success, we can move Dugan back to fullback and Roberts to center – the position he is very familiar with.

We have a very strong roster for the 2016 season and look to be a top 4 Club with Roberts on board.

We are centered in a great beach-side location with a good Club culture.

We have Super Coach Mary and Super CEO Doust here to ensure all goes smooth.

How could Roberts pass up such an opportunity?

Why would he decline?

The Nick

What on earth do you base this on? James Roberts has no known media talents and from all reports is a f*ck up off the field, why on earth would WIN TV want to invest in him via a TPA?

Media gigs are rarest and most sort after jobs in the NRL FFS.

What on earth do you base this on? James Roberts has no known media talents and from all reports is a f*ck up off the field, why on earth would WIN TV want to invest in him via a TPA?

Look outside the square. WIn TV / Gordon have many connections who may want to contribute to the Dragons success.

Tell me, do you know who are the 3rd party sponsors for key Broncos, Roosters, Rabitoh's and Bulldogs players? From memory a few Bronco players were involved with an insurance company. And I have not noticed any Souths players promoting Russell Crow movies or Packer casinos ......

Lethal25

I think Possm is saying do whatever needs to be done, it's whats happened at other clubs. Look at Fittler, Johns and even Finch as prime examples, none of those guys shoot the lights out in the media do they.

dragonreddy

We have the opportunity to create the extra salary cap space needed by letting Matta 'Utia move to the Titans.

We can give Roberts the prized fullback spot which he craves and if it proves not to be a success, we can move Dugan back to fullback and Roberts to center – the position he is very familiar with.

We have a very strong roster for the 2016 season and look to be a top 4 Club with Roberts on board.

We are centered in a great beach-side location with a good Club culture.

We have Super Coach Mary and Super CEO Doust here to ensure all goes smooth.

How could Roberts pass up such an opportunity?

Why would he decline?

He hasn't officially declined yet .

I think SOUTHS will get him,he would be back in familiar territory and with a premiership winning coach , also Greg Inglis as a mentor ,he's only a kid(22 yrs old) still so has plenty of time to earn the fullback role.

He said he wanted to go where the best chance existed to play origin ,Inglis's experience in origin has to be a drawcard for him to feed off his experience.

I would also guess his partner will have a big say in his future and with her having their fist child you would imagine being close to family and friends would be important, happy wife happy life.

As far as the 3rd party deals go ,surely Packer and Crowe can cobble together a deal through their contacts that aren't directly involved with the club,chump change for Packer and co.