Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Jarryd Hayne buggers off from NFL

Joshuatheeel

You might be right. I'm not convinced that getting Hayne back is the best way to go. The dominance/ego balance between he and other playmakers is something that needs considering . And the skills.

My main argument for getting Hayne back is that he's a once in a lifetime talent, so I would be give him every opportunity.

Yeah it's a big decision. Probably comes down how much he wants compared to what we can sign Norman for ( assuming Foran stays as he is under contract). If Norman can be signed for approx $600k (assuming his off field troubles) and Hayne wants $1 million ( obviously this is all guess work), do we have a better side by signing Norman and putting that $400 towards a pretty decent prop?

Big decision!!

Yeah it's a big decision. Probably comes down how much he wants compared to what we can sign Norman for ( assuming Foran stays as he is under contract). If Norman can be signed for approx $600k (assuming his off field troubles) and Hayne wants $1 million ( obviously this is all guess work), do we have a better side by signing Norman and putting that $400 towards a pretty decent prop?

Big decision!!
No one knows. Muddying the waters is the TPA stuff
My thinking for a while has been that Hayne is synonymous with the Eels and we could find at least as many tpas as other clubs. So for us he's cheap.

Snoochies

Hayne should have stayed with the 49ers because after this season I was looking forward to watching the 9ers pre season more than the NRL at the moment.

Hope he comes to Parra now.

phantom eel

If Norman can be signed for approx $600k (assuming his off field troubles) and Hayne wants $1 million ( obviously this is all guess work), do we have a better side by signing Norman and putting that $400 towards a pretty decent prop?

Big decision!!
That hypothetical's a no brainer... Norman + a decent prop for $1mil >>>> Hayne for $1mil.

Or put simply (in terms of squad balance), a(ny) $600K playmaker + a(ny) $400K prop >>>> a $1mil post-sabbatical Hayne.

Bigfella

2 points out of the above:

1. Looks like bart/phantom have a new personality? And

2. I reckon I like Morgs better than Noise likes Foran

Bigfella

That hypothetical's a no brainer... Norman + a decent prop for $1mil >>>> Hayne for $1mil.

Or put simply (in terms of squad balance), a(ny) $600K playmaker + a(ny) $400K prop >>>> a $1mil post-sabbatical Hayne.

Sounds like Justin poore and Chris sandow it is then.

Where would you like your wooden spoon delivered?

TheRam

I would move heaven and earth to keep/sign all 3 said players. We would have the best strike backs in the NRL if we could pull it off.

Hayne, Semi, Jennings, Norman and Foran. Obviously the trick to making this happens is letting go of the right players. We are strong in the backrow, that maybe where we should look at.

Also don't forget, Hayne will pay for himself with TPA's and the 5-10000k extra people through the gate and publicity he brings. We are in a unique position with Hayne and he would be relatively cheap for what he brings commercially and to the field.

To not try and sign him is insane and worse then amateurism. I would go as far as to suggest it could be view as an act of willful harm to our club.

After a season like this one, how could any responsible administration/coaching staff not see the golden opportunity that could be available to them if Hayne were to be recruited?

Talk about instant mega PR and fan excitement and appreciation. Hell even the NRL, if they were smart, should be jizzing in their pants after the crap headlines that the game has endured this season.

Hayne is a must, but so are both our halves. I would also see if I could get Segeyaro on the cheap due to him wanting to play with his partner in crime.

Also people should not under estimate the power it affords us in cheaper good recruitment options, with other players wanting to come here to play with these players. All of a sudden we will be seen as having the right stuff. This is huge in itself for a club.

Like I said having all three would be a sensational outcome for our club and bring massive upsides with very little down side at all.

Parra need to make it happen. Fellow forumites don't fall into Pou's mediocre mentality. We can never have enough star players. If players want to play for us, then make it happen.

Also is there anymore talk about our administration recruitment? Are we in for a shot at getting Bernie Gurr? He would be my Xmas present come early if it were ever to happen. I can't believe the calibre of such a man wants to come here and we haven't picked up the phone yet. Unless it already has happened and we just don't know it yet.

eel01s

I agree Ram but I don't see the Board (or what's left of it) making any decisions until the NRL hand down the final punishment.

phantom eel

Parra need to make it happen. Fellow forumites don't fall into Pou's mediocre mentality. We can never have enough star players. If players want to play for us, then make it happen.
Actualyy, having more than enough star players is what got us in this salary cap mess to start with....

ash411

We're also missing the most important ingredient here..

We don't know that Hayne even wants to come back to the NRL. Everyone is just assuming it. He hasn't said he wants to, and I imagine that he won't until after Rio.

For all we know he could return to the 49ers, or another NFL team, or he could cash in and play Union OS.

Nobody knows, hell he probably hasn't even decided that yet.

TheRam

Actualyy, having more than enough star players is what got us in this salary cap mess to start with....

Of course you would see it that way. The way I see it and most intelligent thoughtful people do is we had imbeciles running our club who had no right to run a girl scouts cookie sale, let alone a multi million dollar footy franchise.

Well run clubs mate, have oodles of stars. ;-)

TheRam

We're also missing the most important ingredient here..

We don't know that Hayne even wants to come back to the NRL. Everyone is just assuming it. He hasn't said he wants to, and I imagine that he won't until after Rio.

For all we know he could return to the 49ers, or another NFL team, or he could cash in and play Union OS.

Nobody knows, hell he probably hasn't even decided that yet.

I'm not assuming anything. What I and many others here are saying is if he wants to come back, it should be to us and we should make sure we make it happen.

As for going back to the NFL, now who's having a lend of themselves?

It's either League or Yawnion mate.

ash411

I'm not assuming anything. What I and many others here are saying is if he wants to come back, it should be to us and we should make sure we make it happen.

As for going back to the NFL, now who's having a lend of themselves?

It's either League or Yawnion mate.

I want him back at Parra, don't get me wrong.. It'd be great to see him playing for us again.

I'm just saying we don't actually know what he's going to do, we don't know what his status with the 49ers was when he left, we can speculate all we want, but we don't actually know.

I don't think going back to the NFL is likely, but it is still a possibility, so I mentioned it because it's another one of the things we don't know about.

I agree with you, I think it's most likely that he'll either return to the NRL or he'll have a go at union. The x factor is him. If he wants to return to the NRL, and he wants to play for us, and money doesn't matter to him, then we'll be able to make it happen.

Of course, if he decides he wants a payday, I don't think we have any chance. I think if money is what he decides he wants, he'll be playing union either in Europe, or in Japan, and he'll probably get BIG coin to do so.

But we don't know. That was my point.

EelsFan05

If anyone thinks he is coming back to the NRL for anything less then top dollar they are dreaming. Beavis was on Triple M not long after he left the 49ers and said, "we wont be taking a pay cut".

Well, he was getting paid a lot less in the NFL than he was in the NRL.........

Not if you include those merchandise numbers from the other month.

Well, given that there's bugger all chance of him going back to the NFL (he's not a free agent), that is not a variable in the equation. Regardless of whether he goes to Rugby, the NRL, or tennis (as seems increasingly likely), his merchandising deal with NFL products is unaffected.